An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
Paddlecraft (SUPs, rafts, drift boats, kayaks, canoes, etc.) 10 feet long and longer will need to purchase and be able to digitally display (or have a print copy), one permit per boat, when in use.
The Marine Board offers two permit purchasing options through our Boat Oregon Store:
*The Marine Board permits are available as a PDF that can be downloaded or printed. These can be saved on your mobile device. The ODFW permits are available for printing or as electronic permits in the MyODFW app on your mobile device.
Online - You can purchase a 7-day, one OR two-year permit from the Boat Oregon Store. The annual permits are valid for a calendar year and expire on December 31st of the year purchased.
*Be sure to purchase your permits early in the year to get your maximum use and to download the PDF and print the permit or have it ready to display on your mobile device for marine law enforcement.
*Note: ODFW charges an additional $2 transaction fee and OSMB's eCommerce portal provider will be charging an additional $1.50 portal provider fee. If purchasing multiple permits in the Boat Oregon Store, order the total quantity in one transaction to avoid any additional portal provider fees.
We advise boaters to buy from either the Marine Board's Boat Oregon Store, ODFW Electronic Licensing System or app.
The 7 day permits are available in quantities up to 500, on one certificate. The certificate generated will show how many permits were purchased with the start date and expiration date. The permits are valid for the 7 days starting the date of purchase from the Boat Oregon Store.
Yes, but they're very limited and specific.
If you're a Boat Rental Business:
If you rent boats
(motorized or paddlecraft), you are required to register as a Boat Rental
Business, and then order your WAPs using the WAP Discounted Permits link in the Boat Oregon store.
If you're an Outfitter Guide:
The discounted permit is
simply a printed 1-page document for the outfitter guide or rental business to keep with other business records.
All rented boats or boats used for outfitter guiding activities must
labeled with the business name in order to be compliant.
ODFW license agents, and ODFW offices.
ODFW license agents, and;
Go to myodfw.com
Remember which agency you purchased the permit from. ODFW and OSMB will have different and unique identifying numbers for law enforcement checking for compliance..
Revenue will be used to support boating facility grants for state, local governments, park organizations and tribal governments for the acquisition of property, leases, or easements in order for the public to access waterways and construction and maintenance of boating access facilities. Funds will also be available for public bodies and nonprofit entities to develop safety education courses and to purchase boating equipment to reduce barriers for underserved communities who wish to offer recreational boating through other local programs.
View the story map with examples of boating access projects.
Learn about the great boating facility projects underway with your permit dollars to improve access.
1) One-week permit. This permit is good for 7 days in a row and costs $5 from the Boat Oregon Store. The 7-day permit is also available through the Oregon Department of Fish and Wildlife.
2) One calendar year permit for $17 (expires on December 31 of the year purchased).
3) Two calendar year permit for $30 (expires on December 31 of the year after the sale).
Need help getting started using the Boat Oregon Store?
There is a $1.50 portal provider fee for online transactions. If you're purchasing more than one Waterway Access Permit, make sure to add all to your cart before checkout to avoid extra charges. You will go to a secure checkout page: https://securecheckout-uat.cdc.nicusa.com/.
Equipment to carryAll about life jacketsPrepping your paddlecraftTips for Safe Paddling
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how