Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Become an OSP Trooper

Photo_Recruiting web page.jpg

Thank you for your interest in the Oregon State Police

We are hiring for certified and entry-level Recruit Troopers! Entry Level Testing (ELT) to complete the required Recruit Trooper Hiring Step 2 will be held in the below-listed areas. You will be given a specific location once you sign up for your test date. These are projected dates, please check back frequently for any changes.

Considering applying? Checkout: "Why Oregon, Why OSP"


Applications received during this recruitment are for a projected start date in early 2025.

Entry Level Testing will be offered on the following dates at the following locations:

  • July 27, 2024: Salem (NW Region)
  • August 10, 2024: Salem (NW Region)

You must attend one of these ELT sessions to continue in this recruitment process.

See information about the Physical Fitness Test here:  OSP Physical Fitness Testing 

To schedule your desired ELT date, please email

When we are not accepting applications and you would like to learn more about career opportunities with OSP, you can call one of our recruiters or review our website to familiarize yourself with the hiring process. 

To search all open recruitments at OSP go to WorkdayJobs and sort by "Oregon State Department of Police" using the company dropdown.

Minimum Qualifications
  • ​Be a United States Citizen by birth or Naturalized United States Citizen
  • Possess a high school diploma or equivalent.
  • At least 21 years old within six months of application and must be at least 21 years old by date of hire.
  • Possess and maintain a valid license to operate a motor vehicle.
  • Applicants must be in good health and good moral character: moral character is defined as possessing the attributes of empathy, courage, fortitude, honesty, loyalty and additional virtues deemed to be morally good.
  • Meet all applicable medical and physical requirements.
  • Meet all applicable background, credit, and criminal history checks.
    • The criminal history check will include, but will be limited to, a review of your conviction arrest records for any violation of OAR 259-008-0010 (4)​ which would make you not eligible to be a certified police officer by Oregon Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST).
  • See our Tattoo, Body Modification, and Jewelry Policy

Trooper Hiring Steps

The hiring process for recruits is extensive. The time from application to appointment can exceed several months. There are seven steps in the hiring process. Read and review all steps and become familiar with the different tests and systems you’ll need to access before you begin. You can find all of the steps outlined here.

Automatic Disqualifiers

​An application will not be processed for any of the below listed reasons.

  • A felony conviction under state or federal law.
  • A misdemeanor conviction relating to domestic violence, sex crimes, fraud, or moral turpitude.
  • Other misdemeanor conviction within the last five years.
  • Conviction for minor in possession of an alcoholic beverage within the last 12 months.
  • Conviction for minor in possession of Marijuana within the last 12 months.        
  • Conviction for a traffic crime or a DUII diversion within the last five years.
  • Criminal (Felony/Misdemeanor) operator’s license suspension within the last five years.        
  • Three or more moving traffic violation convictions within the last two years.
  • Careless driving conviction within the last 12 months.
  • Conviction for an open container of an alcoholic beverage within the last 12 months.         
  • Conviction of a Class A traffic violation within the last 12 months.
  • Five or more traffic violation convictions, including suspensions, within the last three years.         
  • Operator’s license suspension within the last three years.
  • Possession, sale, distribution, manufacture, or use of an illegal drug within the last 10 years.         
  • Personal use of marijuana within the last 12 months with the exception of Cannabidiol (CBD) for purchase through the retail market.
  • Discharge from any branch of the Armed Forces classified as Other Than Honorable, Bad Conduct, or Dishonorable.
  • Currently No Valid Operator’s License.
  • Operator’s License Currently Expired.   
  • Operator’s License Currently Suspended.
  • Convicted Arrest Record in violation of OAR 259-008-0010 (4) Not Eligible to be Certified Police Officer by DPSST.

Each applicant must be of good moral fitness (moral character).  The following are indications of a lack of good moral fitness.

  • Illegal conduct involving moral turpitude.
  • Conduct involving dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation.
  • Intentional deception or fraud or attempted deception, or fraud in any application, examination, or other document.
  • Conduct that is prejudicial to the administration of justice.
  • Acts or conduct which would cause a reasonable person to have substantial doubts about the individual's honesty, fairness, respect for the rights of others, or for the laws of the state and/or the nation.
  • Conduct that adversely reflects on the individual's fitness to perform as a law enforcement officer.

Monthly Base Salary (updated Dec. 1, 2023)
Participating Members*
PERS-Eligible​Pay Steps​​​When
​Second​​6 months
​Third​1 year
​Fourth​2 years
​Fifth​3 years
​Sixth​4 years​​
​5 years
​​6 years

*Recruit Troopers become PERS eligible after 6 months of employment.

Benefits and Additional Pay Opportunities
  • ​A comprehensive competitive benefit package link to: new employees’ page/compensation and benefits in this packet.
  • Pay adjusted based upon experience.
  • Additional applicable incentives:
    • 3% Associates Degree or Intermediate DPSST certification
    • 6% Bachelor's Degree or Advanced DPSST certification
    • Possible 5% differential for foreign language proficiency
    • 4% ACTAR Certification
    • 2% TCI (Technical Collision Investigator)
    • 2.5% OSP SWAT Member (1.5% increase after 5 consecutive years of service on the team)
    • 2% MRT
    • 2% CID or F&W SIU
  • We provide all duty related equipment.
  • 12 sick days and 3 personal days per year.
  • A leave bank is established in lieu of traditional holiday leave. Each employee earns 8 hours of leave per full calendar month of paid employment with a maximum accrual of 96 hours.
  • Vacation accrual.

​​Years of Service​

​Hours Per Month

​Days Per Year




















Location and Duty Assignments
  • Openings in most offices in the state. 
  • You will know where you are assigned prior to recruit school.
  • Statewide opportunities available based upon specialized skills and training within the Patrol, Criminal, and Fish and Wildlife Divisions. ​

Additional Lateral Information
Lateral Steps
  • Lateral applicants will be required to attend Oregon State Police's Pre and Post Academies, averaging six weeks in length each. 
  • Qualified out of state lateral applicants who meet Oregon standards set by DPSST will not be required to attend the Basic Police Academy, but will be required to attend a 2 week PCOD academy through DPSST within a year of appointment.
  • Pay adjusted based upon experience. ​
  • Eligible for promotion to sergeant after two years of services with the State Police and a total of five years of law enforcement experience.

  • Full retirement available as early as age 50 with 25 years of service, or at age 55 with as little as 5 years of service with PERS.
  • Oregon PERS is transferable if you are a current member.



​​​​​​Oregon State Police- Sworn Recruiting 
3565 Trelstad Ave. SE
Salem, OR 97317

Richardson, Phil 2 August 2017.jpg

Trooper Phil Richardson 
Phone: 503-583-5196​

Crutchfield, Tiffany (3).JPG

Sr. Trooper Tiffany Crutchfield 

Phone: 971-301-3528

​​Richmond, Melody 4 August 2017.jpg

Sergeant​ Melody Richmond 

​​​Phone: 541-243-3459 ​​

8:00 AM - 5:00 PM, Monday - Friday