Skip to main content

Competency Certification

This program defines competencies, provides education and recognizes commitment and scope of practice among fire and life safety professionals in Oregon. The competency recognition program is a joint effort between the Office of State Fire Marshal and the Oregon Fire Marshals Association.
The competency recognition program focuses on fire and life safety training and technical certifications. These certifications include Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) Fire Inspector Task Books, which are based on the National Fire Protection Association’s (NFPA) 1031 Professional Standards for Fire Inspectors, as well as International Code Council (ICC) certifications.  
There are currently four levels of competency recognition certificates available for fire service personnel responsible for enforcing the Fire Code in Oregon. 

  • Level 1: Company Inspector.  Performs basic fire safety inspections in one and two story Group B and Group M
                  occupancies with no high-piled or rack storage.
  • Level 2: Fire and Life Safety Specialist I.  Performs basic fire safety inspections in all types of occupancies. 
  • Level 3: Fire and Life Safety Specialist II.  Performs fire safety inspections with moderate technical challenges. 
  • Level 4: Fire Marshal.  Performs fire safety inspections with advanced technical challenges.  

Oregon Administrative Rule Chapter 837.039.0210 establishes a standardization of certification and training requirements for fire officials responsible for administration enforcement of the fire code. 

       Please visit our Professional Development page for available OSFM Training Opportunities

Competency Certification Information  
Competency Certification Brochure 
Recognition Application  
Renewal Process for Maintaining a Competency Recognition Certificate  


Fire and Life Safety
3565 Trelstad Ave SE
Salem, OR 97317
Phone: 503-934-8256​​

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how