License Renewals Extended
In light of COVID-19 and the impact it is having on occupational therapy practitioners, the Occupational Therapy Licensing Board has now implemented temporary rules extending license renewals.
All license currently set to lapse on 5/31/2020 will automatically extend to 6/30/2020. This is now reflected Online License Search: https://otlb.onlineservice.oregon.gov/webs/otlb/register/#
The $50 late fee that goes into effect from May 2-May 31 has been waived.
Renewal Period Dates:
- March 1st – May 1st June 30 - without a late fee.
- May 2nd – May 31st - with a late fee of $50. The late fee is now waived.
- July 1, 2020 – your current license lapses.
You cannot practice in Oregon on or after that date if you do not renew.
The Board encourages licensees to renew as soon it is practical. Please visit the License Portal at https://otlb.onlineservice.oregon.gov/webs/otlb/service/#/login to renew or print out a copy of your license at any time. See instructions below.
Continuing Education: If you are NBCOT certified your CE automatically meets the CE requirement in Oregon. 339-020-0010 (2). If you are not certified, you must have 30 points of CE within the last two years. CE can go back as far as 3/1/18 provided it wasn't used toward your 2018 renewal.
In light of the current COVID-19 outbreak, and the impact on many in-person continuing education opportunities, the Board wants to highlight that there is no limit to the number of online classes that can count towards licensure renewal requirements.
We cannot approve your renewal and issue your new license until you complete the legislatively mandated Oregon Health Authority Workforce Survey. The survey is located within the renewal process. It is step 6 out of 7.
Your online renewal is now available and payable by check or credit card. Before you renew you will need to activate your account in the new OTLB system.
To activate your account: (you only need to do this once).
1. Click on the License Portal link:
2. Click “Activate Now" at the bottom of the screen.
3. Enter the Email Address that you have on file with the board, your Birth Date and your Oregon License number. If you do not have your license number you can find it on the Licensee Look Up on the home page of the OTLB website.
4. Check your email inbox to retrieve your temporary password. (If you do not receive it after 5 minutes, please check your spam folder).
5. Return to the Licensee Portal login page and login with your temporary password.
6. Remember to record your login for future renewals and to make any updates.
IF YOU DO NOT WISH TO RENEW, please let board staff know in writing (e-mail is fine). We will stop sending reminders to you.
OT's: $150 expires May 31, 2022
OTA's: $100 expires May 31, 2022
License fees are non-refundable.
CE: You must report that you have the required 30 CE points, OR you are currently NBCOT certified. You can check your certification at www.NBCOT.org.
Pain Management: The one-time legislative requirement of 7 CE points on pain management is due within 2 years of getting your license For more information, go to the Pain Commission website:
Pain Management CE Requirement:
If your Pain Management is due you'll need to click on Pain Management tab on the Left side of the screen and enter the courses as follows:
- Enter the Pain Management Module by clicking on the OHA Pain Management Module button at the top and enter the date you took the course.
- Enter the 6 additional hours on Pain by clicking"Other" at the top. Enter the course(s) name, date it was taken, the number of hours and who it was given by. You must enter at least 6 hours to complete the requirement.
After you have entered the courses, click on "License Renewal" on the left hand side of the screen. Press "Start" to proceed to renew your license.
Questions? Don't hesitate to contact us! Nancy Schuberg Nancy.Schuberg@state.or.us , 971-673-0198 or Rachel Cillo Rachel.Cillo@state.or.us 971-673-0202.
As the Licensee Portal is new to board staff, email is preferable to a phone call. We will do our best to get back to you ASAP. Thank you for your patience!
Wallet Card and Wall Certificate: Once your renewal is processed, Board staff will mail you a new license certificate. The License Portal also allows you the option to print off a license. However, please note your renewed license, good through May 31, 2022, will not be available to print until you have completed all steps of your renewal and it has been approved by Board staff.
OHA workforce Survey:
You are required to complete the legislatively mandated OHA workforce questionnaire. Your license will not be renewed until you have completed the questionnaire.