Oct. 29, 2013
For more information: Karen Morrison, (503) 986-3006
As you prepare for your winter recreation activities, be sure to buy and display your Sno-Park permit.
Oregon’s Sno-Park program helps provide snow removal at about 100 winter recreation parking areas (Sno-Parks) across the state. Sno-Parks are in most of Oregon’s mountain passes and in most ski, snowmobile, and snow play areas. A list of areas designated as a Sno-Park is available at www.trickcheck.com
under “Travel Center”.
If you park in a Sno-Park from Nov. 1 through April 30, you need a valid Sno-Park permit displayed in your vehicle near the lower left corner of the windshield. Parking in a Sno-Park without a permit may result in a fine.
ODOT offers three types of permits:
• a $25 seasonal permit;
• a $9 three-day permit good for three consecutive days; and
• a $4 daily permit.
Permits are sold at all DMV offices and by permit vendors at winter resorts, sporting goods stores and other retail outlets. Permit vendors may charge an additional service fee. A list of permit vendors is available at www.tripcheck.com
under “Travel Center”. To become a Sno-Park permit vendor contact DMV, Vehicle Mail at 503-945-7949.
The seasonal permit is also available by mail from DMV. Send a written request with your return address, phone number and a check or money order to DMV, Vehicle Mail No. 1, 1905 Lana Avenue, Salem, Oregon 97314.
New this year, the one-day and three-day permits have been redesigned. Both permits can be purchased ahead of time and validated by the user by entering the correct date the permit is used.
Sno-Park permits issued by California and Idaho are honored in Oregon and Oregon permits are honored in those states.
Starting this winter, Washington will no longer honor an Oregon Sno-Park permit. As a result, Oregon will not be able to honor a Washington Sno-Park permit.
## ODOT ##