Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

News and Events
Oregon Transportation Commission goes through major transition with resignation of chair Gail Achterman

Gail Achterman, who has served as chair of the Oregon Transportation Commission (OTC) since 2007 and was first appointed to the Commission by Governor Kitzhaber in 2000, announced her resignation for health reasons in late August.

Gail Achterman
In announcing her resignation to ODOT staff, Director Matt Garrett praised Achterman for her lasting impact on ODOT and the state’s transportation system. "There are truly no words that can describe the impact Gail has had on this agency, the transportation commission, Oregon and the national transportation debate. Her intelligence, dedication and sacrifice is only surpassed by her humanity and caring for her fellow Oregonians," wrote Garrett.
The OTC chair position will be filled by appointment of the Governor.
New members replace retired commissioners
Mike Nelson of Baker City and Alan Brown of Newport, two former state legislators, also recently retired from the commission. Their positions were filled by Mark Frohnmayer, who heads Arcimoto, an electric vehicle manufacturer in Eugene, and Tammy Baney, a Deschutes County Commissioner. Baney and Frohnmayer had their first meeting with the OTC in July.

Tammy Baney

Mark Frohnmayer