Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

state_seal_color_174x126.jpg
The Psychiatric Security Review Board was originally established in 1977 to supervise those individuals who successfully asserted the insanity defense to a criminal charge. Recognizing that individuals diagnosed with a persistent mental illness have different rehabilitative needs than convicted defendants, this State has invested in a robust mental health system specifically designed for this population. With public safety as its primary focus, the Board has an exceptional record of reintegrating clients into the community with a 6 year average 0.46% adult recidivism rate. In recent years, the Board's responsibilities have expanded to supervise youth and certain civil commitments who are placed under its supervision.
 
PSRB Factsheet:
 
Click here for a .pdf of our agency's fact sheet.
 
FAQs:
 
Are people who have been found GEI ever sentenced to the Oregon State Hospital?
 
No. There is no minimum time a person must stay at the hospital nor do all GEI defendants have to go to the hospital.
 
How is the length of time at the Oregon State Hospital established?
 
The period of time individual PSRB clients stay at OSH is based on a clinical assessment of the individual’s mental status and progress in treatment at the hospital and a risk assessment as to their dangerousness as well as the availability of the appropriate resources in the community.  If it is determined that a person can be safely managed and treated in a community setting, the PSRB attempts to find an appropriate placement.
 
Is the state trying to move PSRB clients out of the state hospital and into the community and what kind of impact will that have on public safety?
 
Because of additional funding from the Oregon Legislature since 2005, an increased number of PSRB clients have been moved into a variety of new community placements, including Secure Residential Treatment Facilities (SRTFs).  Since more of these facilities have opened, there has not been any increase in the recidivism rate.
 
Is it safe to move people who have committed violent crimes into the community? 
 
State law prohibits the Board from putting anyone on Conditional Release who is determined to be presently dangerous to others. Additionally, before individuals are released, they go through a comprehensive screening process that includes four levels of review. 
 
Conditional Release is not a new policy.  Most states in the US have some type of conditional release program.  The PSRB has supervised clients in the community on conditional release since its inception in 1978.  Over the past 15 years, 1643 conditional releases have been granted to individuals who have transitioned into community placements throughout the state of Oregon.  Some of these clients remain under supervision for decades or even life.
 
Who is notified when someone is being considered for conditional release?
 
By law, the district attorney from the committing county is notified, as well as the victim(s), if they requested such notification. The Attorney General’s office, the client’s attorney and the client’s case manager are also notified. Once a person leaves the state hospital on a conditional release, the PSRB also notifies law enforcement. With some exceptions, Fair Housing and Disability Laws prevent the Board from sharing information about patients with neighbors or members of the public.
 
What is an early discharge?
 
Discharge means a person is not on any PSRB supervision. ORS 161.346(a) and ORS 161.351(1) requires that the PSRB discharge a person from its jurisdiction if it finds that, by a preponderance of the evidence, at a full and fair hearing, a patient no longer has a mental illness  - even if the person is at high risk to reoffend. Additionally, the Oregon State Hospital is mandated by ORS 161.341(a) to request an early discharge hearing if the hospital does not believe a patient has a mental illness. Note that pursuant to ORS 161.295(2) and Oregon appellate court case law, personality disorder, sexual conduct disorders and voluntary substance-related intoxication are not mental illnesses.
 
Victims and the District Attorney of the GEI county are notified of all PSRB hearings. The District Attorney or the Assistant Attorney General representing the State has the right to request its own independent psychiatric examination and to present the results to the Board if they so choose. See ORS 161.341(2).
 
The current statutory structure does not allow PSRB to keep jurisdiction of persons without a mental illness - even if they are at risk to reoffend. We also cannot transfer jurisdiction to Department of Corrections (DOC) or Community Corrections because there is no current statutory authority to do so.
 
Since 2011, the Legislature has made improvements to the judicial system by creating a certified evaluator requirement for all GEI cases. This requirement was implemented to improve the quality of forensic evaluations and minimize the risk that a defendant is inappropriately found guilty except for insanity and placed under the PSRB. Additionally, hospital staff and PSRB regularly travel to every county and region in Oregon educating attorneys, judges and law enforcement about the GEI laws.
 
For more information contact the PSRB (503) 229-5596.
 
Crisis Lines:
 
Are you in Crisis? Help is available. Call:
 
 
National Suicide Prevention LifeLine 1-800-273-TALK (1-800-273-8255).
 
 
Resources for GEI/REI hearings
 
To view our 2017 PSRB Handbook, please click here.
 
To view our Handbook for Attorneys & Judges, please click here.
 
To view our Conditional Release Guide, please click here.
 
For a directory of statewide A&D Resources, please click here.
 
For information on bed availability by county, please see:
 
 Upcoming Conferences and Trainings:
 

PSRB Trainings

Does your agency want training on the PSRB or mental health law? We have staff available to educate organizations and the public on this unique program. Contact psrb@oregon.gov

 

PSRB will now be offering Quarterly PSRB 101 Training for new case managers and staff who work with GEI patients both at OSH and in the community. Participants may attend the PSRB 101 Training in-person at the PSRB Office in Portland* or via Video Teleconference.  2017 Trainings will be offered on:
 

September 21, 2017 -- 1:00 PM - 3:00 PM

October 16, 2017 -- 10:00 AM - 12:00 PM 

 

If you would like to register for one of these trainings, please email your preferred date and whether you'll be attending in-person or via video teleconference to: ashley.wilsey@oregon.gov  
 
*We offer parking validation only to those who park at the Star Park Alder Street Garage (just across the street from our office). Unfortunately, we are unable to offer parking validation for any other locations.

 Upcoming Meetings:

 
Administrative Meetings:
 
     DATES/TIMES
September 20, 2017 -- 10 A.M. (Adult Panel)
 
December 6, 2017 (Adult Panel) 
 
December 8, 2017 -- 10 A.M. (Juvenile Panel)
     LOCATION

Psychiatric Security Review Board 
Conference Room
610 SW Alder, Suite 420
503-229-5596
Call to be admitted if building doors are secured.
 
 
 Upcoming Hearings:
 
August 16, 2017 (Adult) at OSH
August 23, 2017 (Adult) at PSRB office in Portland
August 30, 2017 (Adult) at OSH
September 13, 2017 (Adult) at OSH
September 20, 2017 (Adult) at PSRB office in Portland
September 25, 2017 (Juvenile) at PSRB office in Portland
September 27, 2017 (Adult) at PSRB office in Portland
October 4, 2017 (Adult) at OSH
October 18, 2017 (Adult) at OSH
October 25, 2017 (Adult) at PSRB office in Portland
October 30, 2017 (Juvenile) at PSRB office in Portland