Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

CDL and CLP Endorsements & Restrictions
Overview

This page lists the Commercial Driver License (CDL) and Commercial Learner Permit (CLP) endorsements and restrictions with related qualifications to add endorsements or remove restrictions.

Use any of the links below to go directly to any section:

Hazardous Materials Endorsement (HAZMAT)

A Hazardous Materials Endorsement (HAZMAT) authorizes the operation of any vehicle carrying hazardous materials.

To Qualify/Apply
You must apply in person at a DMV office, and you must:

Note: You are required to pass the Hazardous Materials Endorsement Test every time you renew your license.

Transportation Security Administration (TSA) Criminal Background Check
On May 5, 2003, the U.S. Department of Transportation, Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration (FMCSA) and TSA published regulations under the USA PATRIOT Act of 2001 requiring all commercial motor vehicle operators to submit fingerprints and pass a TSA criminal background check to obtain a security clearance from TSA before issuance of a CDL that includes a HAZMAT endorsement:

  • Applicants for a HAZMAT endorsement (including some applicants exchanging an out-of-state license that contains a HAZMAT endorsement) will be required to obtain a security clearance from TSA before issuance of a HAZMAT endorsement. 
  • HAZMAT endorsement holders must obtain a security clearance every five years to retain their HAZMAT endorsement.

The criminal background check can take 60 days or more to complete.

Applicants that currently have a HAZMAT endorsement in another state and wish to obtain an Oregon CDL with HAZMAT endorsement must obtain another background check unless DMV can verify that a HAZMAT security clearance was granted within the previous four years, nine months. If you have already completed a background check in the previous state, DMV will verify the date of the check with TSA.  If DMV cannot verify the background check results, DMV cannot issue a CDL with HAZMAT endorsement or issue a temporary permit.

Applicants issued a CDL without a HAZMAT endorsement may be eligible for a no-fee replacement to add the HAZMAT endorsement upon receipt of a favorable background check if the original CDL issuance date and the date the applicant starts the background check are within 30 days of each other.

In Oregon, HAZMAT background checks must be initiated online with TSA or by calling (855) 347-8371.

Note: If you already have a HAZMAT endorsement, do not initiate a background check until notified by DMV that you need to do so.

If you have already submitted an application, fingerprints and the fee for the security check, please direct questions about whether you passed the security check to the Transportation Security Administration, Department of Homeland Security. For further information about the program please visit www.tsa.gov/for-industry/hazmat-endorsement. To check the status of your case please visit https://universalenroll.dhs.gov.

For a copy of your criminal history record please visit www.tsa.gov/FOIA for instructions.

You may contact TSA at the phone number or web address below for additional information:
Universal Enrollment Services: (855) 347-8371
General questions- Email HME.Question@tsa.dhs.gov
About Hazardous Material
The classification of hazardous material is very broad. It includes many items that do not present any immediate toxic or explosive effect. Food coloring, cottonseed, and bleach are common items that are classified as hazardous materials.

More Information on HAZMAT Endorsements
HAZMAT Endorsement phone inquiries: (503) 945-5000.

Passenger Endorsement

A passenger endorsement authorizes the operation of a vehicle that is not a school bus, but is designed to seat 16 or more persons, including the driver.

To Qualify/Apply
You must apply in person at a DMV office, and you must:

  • Meet the qualifications for, or have a CDL;
  • Pass a Passenger Endorsement Knowledge Test;
  • Pass a vision screening;
  • Obtain and hold a CLP with a passenger endorsement for at least 14 days before the passenger skills test;
  • Pass CDL skills test in a vehicle designed to carry 16 or more passengers, including the driver (if you pass a test in a vehicle that has a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) of 26,000 pounds or less, you will be restricted to operation of passenger vehicles that have a GVWR of no more than 26,000 pounds); and
  • Pay the applicable testing and issuance fees (see note on test fees).
Passenger Endorsement Restriction

Passenger endorsement restrictions restrict the operation of passenger vehicles to the same or lower class of passenger vehicle as that used for the drive test.

An "M" restriction means you may operate Class B (GVWR or GVW > 26,000 pounds) and Class C (GVWR and GVW < 26,000 pounds) passenger vehicles only.

An "N" restriction means you may operate Class C (GVWR and GVW < 26,000 pounds) passenger vehicles only.

Note: DMV is unaware of any Class A passenger vehicles currently operated within the State of Oregon and all passenger endorsements are currently restricted.

To change an "N" restriction to an "M" restriction, the applicant must:

  • Pass pre-trip vehicle inspection, basic control skills and drive tests in a commercial motor vehicle with a GVWR of greater than 26,000 pounds and designed to carry 16 or more passengers, including the driver; and
  • Pay the applicable testing and issuance fees (see note on test fees).
School Bus Endorsement

A school bus endorsement authorizes the operation of any vehicle used to transport pre-primary, primary, or secondary school students from home to school, from school to home, or to and from school-sponsored events. A school bus endorsement is not needed when the operator is a school bus manufacturer, school bus dealer or school bus mechanic and the vehicle is not being used to transport students. School bus does not include a bus used as a common carrier.

To Qualify/Apply
You must apply in person at a DMV office, and you must:

  • Meet the qualifications for, or have a CDL or CLP with passenger endorsement;
  • Pass a School Bus Endorsement Knowledge Test;
  • Pass a vision screening;
  • Obtain and hold a CLP with a passenger endorsement for at least 14 days before the passenger skills test;
  • Pass CDL skills test in a school bus of the same vehicle group as the school bus applicant will drive (skills tests in a school bus that is designed for 16 or more persons including the driver, also satisfies the drive test requirement for a passenger endorsement); and
  • Pay the applicable testing and issuance fees (see note on test fees).
Doubles/Triples Endorsement

A doubles/triples endorsement authorizes the operation of any vehicle pulling double or triple trailers.

To Qualify/Apply
You must apply in person at a DMV office, and you must:

Tank Endorsement

A tank vehicle endorsement authorizes the operation of a commercial motor vehicle that meets the definition of a tank vehicle in federal regulations.

To Qualify/Apply:
You must apply in person at a DMV office, and you must:

  • Meet the qualifications for or have a CLP;
  • Pass the Tanker Endorsement Knowledge Test;
  • Pass a vision screening;
  • Obtain and hold a CLP with a tank endorsement for at least 14 days before the CDL skills test if you take the tests in a tank vehicle (if you already have a CDL and are only adding a tank endorsement you do not need a CLP); and
  • Pay the applicable testing and issuance fees (see note on test fees).
Air Brake Restriction Removal

An Air Brake Restriction restricts operation to any vehicle not equipped with air brakes. To operate a commercial motor vehicle that is equipped with air brakes, you must have the Air Brake Restriction removed.

To Qualify/Apply:
You must apply in person at a DMV office, and you must:

  • Pass the Air Brakes Knowledge Test;
  • Pass a vision screening;
  • Obtain and hold a CLP, without an air brake restriction, for at least 14 days before the skills test;
  • Pass the CDL skills tests in a commercial motor vehicle equipped with air brakes; and
  • Pay the applicable testing and issuance fees (see note on test fees).

Note: You do not need a CDL to operate a vehicle equipped with air brakes unless the vehicle otherwise meets the definition of a commercial motor vehicle.

No Tractor Trailer Restriction Removal

A No Tractor Trailer Restriction restricts the operation of a Class A CMV to any vehicle not equipped with a fifth wheel coupling. To operate a commercial motor vehicle that is equipped with a fifth wheel coupling, you must have the No Tractor Trailer Restriction removed.

To Qualify/Apply:
You must apply in person at a DMV office, and you must:

  • Pass a vision screening;
  • Obtain and hold a Class A CLP for at least 14 days before the CDL skills test; 
  • Pass the CDL skills tests in a commercial motor vehicle equipped with a fifth wheel coupling; and
  • Pay the applicable testing and issuance fees (see note on test fees).
No Full Air Brake CMV Restriction Removal

A No Full Air Brake CMV Restriction restricts operation to any vehicle not equipped with full air brakes (operated solely by air pressure). To operate a commercial motor vehicle that is equipped with full air brakes, you must have the No Full Air Brake Restriction removed.

To Qualify/Apply:
You must apply in person at a DMV office, and you must:

  • Pass a vision screening;
  • Obtain and hold a CLP, without an air brake restriction, for at least 14 days before the CDL skills test; 
  • Pass the CDL skills tests in a commercial motor vehicle equipped with full air brakes; and
  • Pay the applicable testing and issuance fees (see note on test fees).
Automatic Transmission CMV Restriction Removal

An Automatic Transmission CMV Restriction restricts the operation to any vehicle not equipped with a manual transmission. To operate a commercial motor vehicle equipped with a manual transmission, you must have the Automatic Transmission CMV Restriction removed.

To Qualify/Apply:
You must apply in person at a DMV office, and you must:

  • Pass a vision screening;
  • Obtain and hold a CLP for at least 14 days before the CDL skills test; 
  • Pass the CDL skills tests in a commercial motor vehicle equipped with a manual transmission; and
  • Pay the applicable testing and issuance fees (see note on test fees).
Related Information

Additional information that may be relevant includes: