Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

CDL/CLP Medical Examination & Physical Qualifications


You are required to have a Medical Examiner’s Certificate on file with DMV in order to get a commercial driver license  or commercial learner permit:

  • You must get a Medical Examiner's Certificate from an examiner listed in the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners;
  • You must submit a copy of a new Medical Examiner’s Certificate to DMV before the previous certificate expires.
  • The copy of the certificate must be complete and readable.
  • You are responsible for knowing when your Medical Examiner’s Certificate will expire.
  • It may take up to 10 business days for your Medical Examiner’s Certificate to be added to your driving record.
  • Federal law requires you to carry the Medical Examiner's Certificate for up to 15 days as proof of commercial driver license or commercial learner permit medical qualification. This allows time for your medical examiner's certificate to be entered on your driving record.

Note: If the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Administration has given you a Skills Performance Evaluation Certificate and/or a medical exemption or Oregon DMV has given you a state waiver, you must carry the original or copy of that medical variance documentation at all times when on-duty.




    Oregon DMV - Driver Safety
    1905 Lana Ave NE
    Salem, OR 97314

Fax:  503-945-5329

In person: DMV Office Locations

The Medical Examiner will provide you with a Medical Examiner's Certificate.
  • Make sure Form MCSA-5876, an OMB number and a form expiration date of November 30, 2021 (or later) are printed on the certificate.
A Medical Examiner’s Certificate is valid for no more than two years.
  • ​Some medical conditions may require you to have a physical exam more often and others may disqualify you from driving a commercial motor vehicle.

List of physical qualifications 49 CFR 391.41

Federal Exemption Program

If you certify that you drive a commercial motor vehicle in interstate commerce and do not meet the federal physical qualifications, you may qualify for an exemption:

  • Hearing;
  • Seizure; or
  • Skills Performance Evaluation (SPE) for loss or impairment of limbs (arms, hands, fingers, legs or feet).

For Federal Exemption information:

Oregon Waiver of Physical Disqualification

If you cannot meet the federal medical qualifications for commercial motor vehicle operation, you may qualify for an Oregon Waiver of Physical Disqualification.

  • This waiver is available from DMV.
  • ​It permits operation of a commercial motor vehicle used in Oregon intrastate commerce or in excepted interstate commerce or excepted interstate commer​​ce only.

For State waiver information call Oregon DMV at 503-945-5083.​