Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

CDL/CLP Medical Examination & Physical Qualifications
Requirements

To qualify for a Commercial Driver License or Commercial Learner Permit you must undergo a Department of Transportation medical examination performed in accordance with 49 CFR §391.41 and 49 CFR §391.43. The medical examination may only be performed by a medical examiner listed on the National Registry of Certified Medical Examiners.

The Medical Examiner will provide you with a Medical Examiner's Certificate.

  • If your exam was performed on or after April 20, 2016, make sure Form MCSA-5876 is printed on the certificate.
  • If your exam was performed on or after October 27, 2016, make sure Form MCSA-5876, an OMB number and a form expiration date of August 31, 2018 are printed on the certificate.

An MEC is valid for no more than two years. Some medical conditions may require you to have a physical examination more frequently and others may disqualify you from driving a commercial motor vehicle.

You must provide a copy of your MEC to DMV before original issuance of a CDL or CLP. You must keep a valid certificate on file with DMV to maintain valid commercial driving privileges. You must submit a copy of a new MEC to DMV before the previous certificate expires. You are responsible for knowing when your MEC will expire. It may take up to 10 business days for your MEC information to be entered onto your driving record.

The copy of the MEC must be complete and legible. It is very important that you follow the instructions for submitting your certificate.

Email to DSMEC@odot.state.or.us.

Please add your name and driver license number to the email.

Fax to 503-945-5329.

Please include a copy of the front of your driver license or write your name and license number legibly somewhere on the fax.

Mail to:

DMV Driver Safety - CDL Medical Certification
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314

Please include a copy of the front of your driver license or write your name and license number legibly on a separate piece of paper enclosed in the mailing.

In person at a DMV office.

You are no longer required, under ORS 807.100, to carry your MEC as proof of CDL medical qualification. Be aware that it could take up to 10 days for DMV to update the Medical Examiner's Certificate information on your driver record. Federal law allows you to carry the Medical Examiner's Certificate for up to 15 days as proof of CDL/CLP medical qualification.  If you have received a federal medical variance from FMCSA, a state waiver from Oregon DMV and/or a SPE, you must continue to have in your possession the original or copy of that medical variance documentation at all times when on-duty.

Physical Qualifications

Physical qualifications are listed in 49 CFR §391.41.

If you do not meet the vision, hearing, seizure or diabetes physical qualification standards or have a loss or impairment of limbs (arms, hands, fingers, legs or feet) and want to operate an interstate commercial motor vehicle (CMV), you may be able to satisfy alternative physical qualifications or qualify for an exemption. Ask your examiner to complete your Medical Examiner's Certificate as described on our web page, Information for CDL, CLP and CMV Medical Examiners, and contact the Oregon State office of FMCSA at (503) 399-5775 for additional details.  Information is also available on the FMCSA web site.

If you cannot meet the federal medical qualifications for CMV operation, you may qualify for an Oregon Waiver of Physical Disqualification. This waiver, available from DMV, would permit operation of a CMV used in Oregon intrastate commerce or in excepted interstate commerce only. Ask your examiner to complete your Medical Examiner's Certificate as described on our web page, Information for CDL, CLP and CMV Medical Examiners, and call (503) 945-0891 for specific details.

Related Information

Additional information that may be relevant includes: