Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »


Criminal Justice Commission Members

The Commission consists of nine members, seven of whom are voting members appointed by the Governor. The remaining two members are nonvoting members appointed by the President of the Senate and the Speaker of the House.

Paul Solomon (Chair) - Executive Director, Sponsors Inc.

Paul Solomon is the Executive Director at Sponsor, an Oregon based non-profit organization dedicated to serving individuals with conviction histories. Paul has worked at Sponsors for over 20 years and has served as Executive Director since 2011.   Sponsors is recognized nationally, regionally and throughout Oregon as a model for prisoner reentry services. The agency operates 20 buildings on 6 sites with over 240 beds of transitional and long-term housing and ancillary programs for justice involved individuals.  Paul manages a staff of approximately 50 employees and a $5.5 million annual operating budget.

Paul serves as the chair of Lane County’s Public Safety Coordinating Council and Lane County’s Reentry Task Force. He co-chairs the Governor’s Racial Justice Council on Criminal Justice Reform and Police Accountability and serves on the Governor’s Reentry Council; the board of Dave’s Killer Bread Foundation; the University of Oregon’s Institutional Review Board; and many other public safety related boards and committees.

Paul is a national expert on the development of housing for people with conviction histories and the delivery of evidence-based reentry interventions.  Paul holds a Bachelors of Science degree from the University of Oregon and is a trained Inside-Out Prison Exchange instructor.

Rob Bovett (Vice Chair) - Senior Assistant County Counsel, Washington County

Rob Bovett has served as a county lawyer in Oregon for 30 years, currently with Washington County, but previously with the Association of Oregon Counties and Lincoln County, including service as the elected Lincoln County District Attorney.  His prior legal experience includes service with legislative counsel and as a judicial clerk. Areas of particular focus include drug policy, constitutional law, criminal law and procedure, election law, home rule and municipal law, and legislative drafting. His career has focused heavily on creating and implementing diversionary programs in the criminal justice system for people suffering from substance abuse or behavioral health issues.

Jessica Beach - Yamhill County Department of Community Justice Director

Jessica Beach received a double Bachelor of Arts degree in Psychology and Criminal Justice and a Master's Degree in Correctional Administration from Western Oregon University. She began her career with the Marion County Sheriff's Office as a Deputy Parole and Probation Officer working primarily with sex offender and high risk special needs caseloads. In 2017, Jessica became the Director of Yamhill County Department of Community Justice, overseeing an Adult Parole and Probation Department, Juvenile Probation Department, 24-bed youth Detention Facility and Pretrial Justice Program as well as Parks and Work Crew Divisions.

Jessica is pleased to have been given a tremendous opportunity to participate in the Evidence Based Decision Making Initiative (EBDMI) technical assistance grant through the National Institute of Corrections (NIC) when Yamhill County was selected as one of seven sites nationwide, commencing local work in Pretrial Justice and SMART Sentencing alternatives.

Jessica is currently the Secretary for the Oregon Association of Community Corrections Directors (OACCD) and the Northwest Regional Director representing eight states on the National Association of Pretrial Services Agencies (NAPSA) Board. She also represents Oregon on the National Institute of Corrections (NIC) Pretrial Executive Network.

Jeff Auxier - Columbia County District Attorney

Jeff Auxier brings over 15 years of prosecutorial experience to Columbia County. Jeff enrolled in Willamette University College of Law in 2003, in pursuit of a career advocating for crime victims as a prosecutor. Never straying from that path, Jeff worked as an intern in the Marion County District Attorney’s Office in Salem for two years before passing the bar and joining the Marion County Domestic Violence Unit as a full-time Deputy District Attorney in 2006.
Two years later, Jeff joined the Multnomah County District Attorney’s Office, where he worked as a Deputy District Attorney from 2008 to 2017. During his time in Portland, Jeff’s caseload included armed robbery, sexual assault, and murder cases as a member of the office’s gang unit. He finished his career in Portland as the prosecutor assigned to EMGET, the East Multnomah County Gang Enforcement Team.
Even while prosecuting cases in Portland, Jeff was becoming deeply involved in the Columbia County community. He moved out of Portland and bought a home outside of Scappoose in 2013, where he still resides with his wife and two boys. For four years, he quickly became involved in his new community, serving on the boards of SAFE of Columbia County, Columbia County Legal Aid, and the Jail Operations Citizens Advisory Committee.
Jeff was appointed to the vacant District Attorney position in Columbia County in 2017 and was elected to the position the following year. Since becoming DA, he has served as Chair of the Columbia County Local Public Safety Coordinating Committee and was selected by his fellow elected District Attorneys to serve on the State of Oregon Criminal Justice Commission and the Board of Directors of the State of Oregon Department of Public Safety, Standards, and Training.

Tim Freeman

Coming Soon

Floyd Prozanski - Senator, North Douglas and South Lane Counties

Floyd was first elected to the Oregon Legislature in 1994. He served in the House of Representatives between 1995-2000 and 2003. Floyd was appointed to represent Oregon Senate District 4 in 2003. He was elected in 2004 to complete the current term and reelected in 2006.

Floyd graduated from Texas A&M University and later earned a law degree from the South Texas College of Law. An avid cyclist and home-brewer, he lives in Eugene with his wife. When the Legislature is not in session, Floyd works as a municipal prosecutor and serves on various boards and commissions.

Rick Lewis

Coming Soon

Commission Meeting Records