Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Public Safety Task Force

House Bill 3194 created the Task Force on Public Safety consisting of 13 members, appointed by the Governor, the President of the Senate, the Speaker of the House of Representatives and the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court. The membership must include a county commissioner, a district attorney, a criminal defense attorney, a community corrections director, a representative of a community based crime victims organization and members of law enforcement. The Task Force is responsible for overseeing the implementation of 3194 according to the goals of Justice Reinvestment; to reduce recidivism, decrease prison use, protect the public and hold offenders accountable. The Task Force is also responsible for reporting to the legislature. The Criminal Justice Commission provides staff support to the Task Force.


Senator Floyd Prozanski, Chair, Senate District 4 

Senator Denyc Boles, Senate District 10 

Representative Tawna Sanchez, House District 43 

Representative Ron Noble, House District 24

Steve Berger, Director, Washington County Community Corrections 

Lane Borg, Executive Director, Office of Public Defense Services 

Hon. John Collins, Circuit Court Judge (25th Judicial District, Yamhill County

Melissa Erlbaum, Executive Director, Clackamas Women's Services

Paige Clarkson, Marion County District Attorney 

Patty Dorroh, Harney County Commissioner

Joe Kast, Marion County Sheriff  

Curtis Whipple, Rogue River Police Chief

Hon. Debra Vogt, Circuit Court Judge (2nd Judicial District, Lane County)


Bridget Budbill – Criminal Justice Commission – (503) 373-7511 or