ALL LICENSEES - Please read the following information carefully:
You may view and print a page reflecting your license status here: https://online.oregondentistry.org/#/verifylicense. Please check the verification site to view your license! Our system should display your license status as “Active". Your license number, date of issue, and expiration date should appear on our verification site. If you notice any problems with the way that your license appears on our verification site, please contact the OBD at firstname.lastname@example.org so we can address the issue. You may begin practicing immediately once your license appears on this site.
You can print a copy of your license, and/or update your contact information, by creating an account through our new Licensee Portal. Please click here for information about the new Portal, and instructions for setting up your account. https://www.oregon.gov/dentistry/Pages/New-Licensing-System.aspx . Please note that the OBD no longer prints and mails hard copies of licenses – this portal is the only way to obtain a copy of your license. Please make sure to remember your registration credentials for this portal, as you will utilize it throughout your career in Oregon to renew your license every two years. This portal is also how you will need to keep your contact information with the OBD up-to-date. Please remember your account information; you will need to be able to access the Portal throughout your career in Oregon for license renewals, etc. For that reason, we recommend registering using an email address that you will be able to reliably access throughout your dental career. Please make sure your contact information is current; ORS 679.120(4) and 680.074(4) requires that licensees notify the Board within 30 days of any change of address.
Please note that the Dental Practice Act requires you to post a copy of your license in every clinic/office in which you practice. The license must be posted in an area where it is clearly visible to patients, in accordance with the provisions in the Dental Practice Act.
If you applied for a sedation permit (such as nitrous oxide), please check and make sure that the sedation permit appears on your license. If it doesn't, and you know you have already submitted your application, please be advised that these applications frequently take longer to process, and your application may currently be under review by our Dental Investigators and/or the Chair of the Anesthesia Committee. If your application is not approved, you will be contacted with instructions as to how to correct any deficiencies in your application. You may not administer sedation until the permit is added.
DENTISTS - Please read the following information carefully:
2. In accordance with OAR 818-021-0060(5), all dentists licensed by the Oregon Board of Dentistry will complete a one-hour pain management course (HERE) specific to Oregon provided by the Pain Management Commission of the Oregon Health Authority. All applicants or licensees shall complete this requirement by January 1, 2010 or within 24 months of the first renewal of the your dental license. (On July 1, 2022, the course will be required at each renewal).
If you have completed a specialist training program and would like to advertise in the State of Oregon as a specialist, please ensure you are familiar with the OBD's rules regarding advertising and specialties as outlined in OAR 818-015-0007. They can be viewed here: https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/view.action?ruleNumber=818-015-0007. If you would like to be certified by the State of Oregon as a specialist, the form is found here: https://www.oregon.gov/dentistry/Documents/Form_Cert_As_Specialist.pdf. Please note that it is a violation of the Dental Practice Act to claim a specialty unless the Board has approved your specialist application.