Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

DPSST Statutes (ORS) and Rules (OAR)



DPSST Statutes (ORS) and Rules (OAR)

The Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) and the Board on Public Safety Standards and Training (Board), adopt administrative rules that set the minimum standards for training and the certification or licensure of criminal justice public safety professionals, fire service professionals, private security providers, private investigators, and polygraph examiners. These rules help DPPST carry out statutory requirements and act in accordance with the Agency's mission, to promote excellence in public safety.

For all of the Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) adopted by DPSST and the Board please visit the Oregon Secretary of State.

For all of the Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) that govern the Board's certification and licensure programs please visit the Oregon State LegislatureORS Chapter 181A includes criminal justice public safety professionals, fire service professionals, and private security providers. ORS Chapter 703 includes polygraph examiners and private investigators.

Proposed Rule Changes

DPSST filed Notices of Proposed Rulemaking for the following administrative rules. Proposed rulemaking includes rule changes that are under consideration, but not yet adopted. All agency rulemaking notices are published by the Secretary of State in the Oregon Bulletin

DPSST welcomes comments on proposed rules. Written comments may be submitted by e-mail or mail to the following:
Mail: DPSST Rules Coordinator, 4190 Aumsville Hwy SE, Salem, OR 97317

The Rulemaking Document provided with each rule change below provides a copy of the Notice of Proposed Rulemaking showing the rule text revisions (additions shown with underlined text and deletions shown with strikethrough text).

​This proposed rule change finalizes the fee increases for the Private Security Provider Certification and Licensure Program. The new fee schedule will be effective November 1, 2022.

​Amending: OAR 259-060-0500

​Last Day to Comment: October 21, 2022​

​This proposed rule change finalizes the fee increases for two administrative fees. The fee for a late renewal application will increase by $5, from $25 to $30. The fee for a duplicate or replacement license will increase by $4, from $20 to $24. The new administrative fees will be effective November 1, 2022. (The $550 investigator license fee DOES NOT change.)

Amending: OAR 259-061-0010

​Last Day to Comment: October 21, 2022​

This proposed rule change adds an equity training category to the certification maintenance requirements that apply to all law enforcement officers (including police officers, corrections officers, parole and probation officers, and regulatory specialists). Law enforcement officers will be required to complete a minimum of three hours of equity training in each maintenance cycle. The equity training must include at least one of the four training concepts identified within the rule. The three hours of equity training will be part of the 84 total hours of training that are required every three years.​

​Amending: OAR 259-008-0065​

​Last Day to Comment: September 21, 2022​

This proposed rule change sets January 1, 2024, as the date for law enforcement agencies employing police officers to adopt best practice policies for interacting with persons who have experienced trauma. Through HB 2575, the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST), in consultation with the Department of Justice (DOJ), is directed to develop best practices for law enforcement agencies when interacting with persons who have experienced trauma. The best practices must offer alternative options for law enforcement agencies of varying size and resource capacity. DPSST is currently working with DOJ to develop the best practices. The best practices will be available to law enforcement agencies by January 1, 2023. Law enforcement agencies employing police officers will be required to adopt policies for their agency by January 1, 2024.​​

​Adopting: OAR 259-008-0510

​Last Day to Comment: September 21, 2022​

​During the COVID-19 pandemic, DPSST initiated a process for certified unarmed private security instructors and alarm monitor private security instructors to deliver the basic and refresher courses remotely. This proposed rule change formalizes the process for remote training in administrative rules.

​Amending: OAR 259-060-0136

​Last Day to Comment: September 21, 2022​

​This proposed rule change considers repeal of the rule. 

​Repealing: OAR 259-008-0069

​Last Day to Comment: September 21, 2022


Temporary Rules

DPSST filed Temporary Administrative Orders for the following temporary administrative rules. The Rulemaking Document provided with each rule change below provides a copy of the Temporary Administrative Order showing the rule text revisions (additions shown with underlined text and deletions shown with strikethrough text). 


Recent Permanent Rule Changes

DPSST filed Permanent Administrative Orders for the following administrative rules. The Rulemaking Document provided with each rule change below provides a copy of the Permanent Administrative Order showing the rule text revisions (additions shown with underlined text and deletions shown with strikethrough text). Each permanent rule change is available through the Secretary of State beginning on the effective date of the rule change. The list includes Orders filed within the past 180 days.

​This rule change updates the DPSST certification requirements for the NFPA Fire Investigator certification by adopting the most recent 2022 Edition of the NFPA Standard 1033. OAR 259-009-0005 is amended to update the definition for NFPA Fire Investigator. OAR 259-009-0062 is amended to adopt the 2022 Edition of the NFPA 1033 Standard for Professional Qualifications for Fire Investigator. The rule changes outline training, task book and testing requirements. There are multiple tracks to obtain this certification that recognize completion of national training and certification programs. OAR 259-009-0065 is amended to implement new maintenance recertification requirements for the NFPA Fire Investigator certification.

​Amending: OAR 259-009-0005, 259-009-0062 & 259-009-0065

​Effective: August 1, 2022​

​This rule change amends the reapplication process that follows a discretionary denial or revocation of certification by adding additional statements in section (10) to capture the existing review process relating to convictions and the new recommendations that apply to falsification.

​Amending: OAR 259-009-0125

​Effective: August 1, 2022

​Senate Bill 116 makes it unlawful for a private security provider or an entity that employs private security providers to possess or use in the scope of employment equipment, vehicles, uniforms or titles that imply that the provider or entity is affiliated with a public or private safety agency as defined in ORS 181A.355. The law was intended to address situations where the appearance of private security uniforms and vehicles make it difficult to differentiate between members of law enforcement and providers of private security services. OAR 259-060-0012 is adopted to communicate legislative intent and DPSST interpretation and application of the law.

​Adopting OAR 259-060-0012 and Amending 259-060-0450

​Effective: June 1, 2022​

​This rule change corrects the rule to include other grounds for denial or revocation of certification such as discharge for cause and falsification, not just the criminal history.

​Amending: OAR 259-009-0059

​Effective: May 1, 2022

DPSST Rules Coordinator

Jennifer Howald
503-551-3258
DPSST, 4190 Aumsville Hwy SE, Salem, OR 97317

How to Request Notice of DPSST Rule Changes

There are two ways to request notice of DPSST's rule changes. Both options allow you to request notices for all rule changes or to request notices just for the certification or licensure program you are interested in.
1. Signup for GovDelivery e-mail notifications. 
2. Write or e-mail the DPSST Rules Coordinator to submit your request.