Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Management Commission

The Reserve's immediate governing body is the South Slough Reserve Management Commission whose members are appointed by the Governor of Oregon.


Vicki Walker, Commission Chair (Department of State Lands)

Vicki Walker is the Director of the Oregon Department of State Lands. By state statute, the Director serves as the permanent chair of the Management Commission. The Commission serves as the Reserve's immediate governing body and establishes operating policies and administrative rules for the Reserve. As per state statute, the following eight members of the Commission are appointed by the Governor and serve as representatives of specific institutions, agencies, and other constituencies. The Management Commission reviews Reserve activities and proposed initiatives at meetings that are held three times a year and are open to the public. 

Laurabeth Barton  (Oregon Indian Tribes)

Laurabeth Barton serves as the Coquille Indian Tribal Council Representative and she represents the Coquille Tribe Indians on the South Slough NERR Management Commission. 

Cinamon Moffett (Oregon State University)

Cinamon Moffett serves as the Research Program Manager at Hatfield Marine Science Center in Newport, Oregon.  She represents Oregon State University on the Management Commission. 

Charis McGaughy (Education)

Charis McGaughy serves as the Superintendent of Coos Bay Public Schools. She represents local schools on the Management Commission.

John Burns (Port of Coos Bay)

John Burns is a CEO of the Oregon International Port of Coos Bay. He represents the Port of Coos Bay on the South Slough Reserve Management Commission.

John Sweet (Coos County Commission)

John Sweet of the Coos County Board of Commissioners represents Coos County on the South Slough Reserve Management Commission. 

Jessica Quinlan (General Public)

Jessica Quinlan represents the general public on the Management Commission. 

Maya Watts (University of Oregon)

Maya Watts represents the University of Oregon on the Management Commission.

Kris Wall (Ocean & Coastal Resources Management)

Kris Wall represents the Office of Ocean and Coastal Resources Management on the Management Commission. She serves as its only non-voting member. 

Meeting materials

Meeting calendar

The Management Commission reviews Reserve activities and proposed initiatives at meetings that are held three times a year and are open to the public.

The next management commission meeting will be held on November 29, 2023 from 10:00 am - 2:00 pm 

To receive the Zoom link, please email  Administrative Assistant
by noon on November 28, 2023. If you would like to testify, please provide your name, address, and organization/affiliation, if any. Testimony will be heard in the order that requests for the meeting link are received.

Written comments may be submitted until 12 p.m. on November 28, 2023 by emailing them to:

DSL is committed to providing all customers with access to documents and meetings. Learn more.


Bree Yednock
Reserve Manager
Phone: 541-888-8270 Ext. 302