Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

About the Board of Forestry


Photo of Board of Forestry presentation in the field

The Oregon Board of Forestry is a seven-member citizen board appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the state Senate. The mission of the board is to lead Oregon in implementing policies and programs that promote sustainable management of Oregon's public and private forests. Their primary responsibilities are to:

  • Supervises all matters of forest policy within Oregon
  • Appoints the State Forester
  • Adopts rules regulating forest practices
  • Provides general supervision of the State Forester's duties in managing ODF

No more than three members may receive any significant portion of their income from the forest products industry. At least one member must reside in each of the state's three major forest regions northern, southern, and eastern. The term of office is four years and no member may serve more than two consecutive full terms. The State Forester serves as secretary to the board.

Board Work Plans

Related laws & rules

Includes: Board administration, rules of order, chairperson, agendas, order of business, quorum, meetings and notice, committees, attendance, compensation of board members, public records - charges for copying and purchasing public records, parking at department-owned facilities

Includes: Records; public reports and meetings law

Board members