We are extremely pleased to announce that the Funeral Service Practitioner Law Exam has been transferred to The International Conference of Funeral Service Examining Boards (The Conference) and can now be taken nationwide anywhere a Pearson VUE Testing Center is located.
There are four Pearson Vue Testing Center locations in Oregon:
Beaverton: Park Plaza Executive Building 1 (10700 SW Beaverton Hillsdale Hwy. #595, Beaverton, OR 97005)
Medford: Pearson Professional Center (3560 Excel Drive #105, Medford, OR 97504)
Portland: Pearson Vue Professional Center (805 SW Broadway #420, Portland, OR 97205)
Salem: Pearson Professional Center (2525 12th Street SE, Salem, OR 97301)
you are eligible and interested in taking the exam, please contact our Office and
Licensing Manager, Ryan Christopher, via email (email@example.com) to determine your next steps.
In order to become eligible to take the FSP exam, you must:
a qualified applicant for the FSP license, either through an apprenticeship or
Provide proof of the completion of an associate degree or higher at an accredited school (OAR 830-011-0020(5)) OR proof of four years as a licensed FSP in either Oregon or another state. (ORS 692.045(4))
Once you have been verified as eligible to apply, you will need to submit an exam application and pay the $140 fee for the FSP exam through The International Conference's website: https://theconferenceonline.org/apply-now/.
In accordance with OAR 830-011-0020(13), Funeral Service Practitioner (FSP) applicants must successfully complete a written examination and receive a score of not less than 75 percent.
Per ORS 692.070, the exam questions include state and federal laws, rules and regulations relating to the care, preparation, disposition and transportation of dead human bodies and relating to survivor death benefits.
In accordance with OAR 830-011-0040(1), a Funeral Service Practitioner (FSP) apprentice may choose to take the exam before completion and certification of their apprenticeship, but may not apply for license as a Funeral Service Practitioner until both the exam is successfully passed and their apprenticeship is completed and verified by the Board.
Funeral Service Practitioner Exam
Applicants for a Funeral Service Practitioner (FSP) license shall be required to successfully complete a written examination and receive a score of at least 75 percent.
Per ORS 692.070, the exam tests applicants on state and federal laws, rules and regulations relating to the care, preparation, disposition and transportation of dead human bodies and relating to survivor death benefits.
To take the FSP exam, you must:
- Be a qualified applicant for the FSP license, either through an apprenticeship or through reciprocity.
- Submit an application for the FSP exam
- Pay the exam applicaiton fee
- Provide proof of the completion of an associates degree or higher at an accredited school OR proof of four years as a licensed FSP in either Oregon or another state.
An apprentice funeral service practitioner may choose to take the exam before completion and certification of their apprenticeship, but may not apply for the license until both the exam is successfully passed and their apprenticeship is completed and verified by the Board.
Note: The International Conference on Funeral Service Examination Boards (The Conference) will be taking over the FSP exam, and it will be offered nationwide at Pearson VUE Professional Testing Centers via a computer-based exam. We do not yet have an anticipated date for this transition. Contact the board's staff for more information.
By law,* you are not eligible to take the FSP exam until you have provided written evidence of graduation from an associate degree program or higher. The degree must be from a school accredited by a regional association of schools and colleges.
However, the law** also allows for the Board to waive the requirement for evidence of completion of a degree at the time of the exam. This can be especially helpful for recent graduates who are waiting for their school to finalize their transcripts. Providing written evidence is still required- the applicant is just given an extension. The evidence must be received by the Board no later than four calendar months from the first day of the month following the month in which the FSP examination is taken. For example, if the exam is taken on July 3, the Board must receive a transcript from an accredited school by December 1. The Board will not release the applicant's exam results until the transcript is received. If an applicant takes an exam and does not provide written evidence of the educational requirement within the required timeframe, then the exam is considered null and void.