Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

OSBGE Board Members

Board appointment information 

The Board consists of four (4) geologists holding registration to practice in Oregon, the State Geologist as an ex officio member, and one public member. The Governor appoints the registrant members and the public member to the Board. The Governor may remove any member of the Board for misconduct, incompetence, neglect of duty, or any other sufficient cause. The State Geologist is the person serving as the Director of the Oregon Department of Geology and Mineral Industries (DOGAMI).

Each member of the Board shall be a citizen of the United States. Each member must have been a resident of Oregon for a minimum of one (1) year preceding appointment and must continue to reside in Oregon. Insofar as possible, the Board shall be composed of members having diverse geological specialties, including at least one registrant member holding the Certified Engineering Geologist specialty registration.

Board membership term is three (3) years. A member of the Board shall hold office until the expiration of the term for which appointed or until a successor has been appointed by the Governor. The successor of the member shall be appointed in like manner for a term of three years. No person shall serve as a member of the Board for more than two (2) consecutive three (3) year terms. 

You can read more about Executive Appointments and download an Interest Form at the Governor's website. Or you may contact the Board office for more information on Board membership. 

Board members