Skip to main content

About Us



The Oregon State Marine Board is Oregon's recreational boating agency where it's our mission to: 
Serve Oregon's recreational boating public through education, enforcement, access, and environmental stewardship for a safe and enjoyable experience  

The agency has a funding arm and regulatory arm and is governed by a five-member volunteer Board that helps plot the course on budget and policy decisions. The agency is directly funded by recreational boaters in the form of registration, title, and permit fees, as well as through marine fuel taxes. No lottery, general fund tax dollars or local facility parking fees support the agency or its programs. Boater-paid fees support boating safety services (on-the-water law enforcement, training, and equipment, waterway obstruction mitigation, and boat inspections), boating safety education programs, grants for the construction and maintenance of boating access facilities, and environmental protection programs (Clean Boater, Clean Marina, Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention and Abandoned/Derelict Vessels). The agency also registers reputable outfitter/guides and charters. 



 Marine Board History Banner
 
  • 2015, boat registration fees increased from $3 per foot to $4.50 per foot to maintain current service levels for at least six years.  Fees are set by the Oregon Legislature.
  • 2019, the legislature passed SB 47, creating a Waterway Access Account through fees paid by non-motorized boaters who operate boats 10' long and longer with a transferrable permit. The Waterway Access Permit replaces the Aquatic Invasive Species Permit beginning January 1, 2020. The fees support both the aquatic invasive species and waterway access boating facility grant programs. The Oregon Legislature also approved increased fees from $4.50 per foot to $5.95 per foot for motorized boat registrations, title fees from $50 to $75, and boater education cards from $10 to $20. All fees went into effect on January 1, 2020. The Oregon Legislature also approved a bill requiring boat rental businesses to register with the Marine Board as a mechanism for sharing boating safety information and education to pass along to their customers and a "Pull the Plug" law requiring all boats to remove the drain plug from their boats after exiting a waterway and while in transit. Click here for a list of the law changes.  
  • 2021, the e-commerce portal provider for the Boat Oregon Store instituted a $1.50 processing fee for online transactions.  


 

 

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×