An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
This law requires boat owners “pull the plug" after leaving the waterbody and while transporting the boat on land.
Drain any water-holding compartments.
Pull any weeds off the trailer and motor. Dispose of it in a nearby dumpster.
Any AIS will remain in the waterbody and will not survive during transport. This action improves the odds of not spreading or introducing any AIS into another waterway.
This law works with mandatory boat inspection stations. Law enforcement officers now have the authority to stop drivers who drive past an open aquatic invasive species inspection station. The vehicle is asked to return to the station for inspection/decontamination. If you pass a mandatory boat inspection station, you will be ordered back or charged with a Class C misdemeanor ($1,250 and or 30 days in jail). Failure to "pull the plug" for a non-motorized boat is $30 and $50 for a motorized boat is a Class D violation.
Keeping our waterways pristine and contamination-free is the goal. Learn more about Aquatic Invasive Species Prevention.
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how