Skip to main content

Ignition Interlock Device Program

Need an Ignition Interlock Device (IID)?  Below is a list of qualified companies that can satisfy your IID requirement. 

           

Companies Authorized to Satisfy Oregon IID Requirements









Alcohol Detection Systems
Phone: 866-479-1298
Device: DM-909











LifeSafer Ignition Interlock
Phone: 800-634-3077
Device: L250 Camera


Low Cost Interlock
Phone: 844-489-8497
Device: LCI-777


Intoxalock
Phone: 844-478-7445
Device: 1001A

Smart Start Inc.
Phone: 800-831-3299
Device: SSI 2020 / SSI 2030


                               





​The Oregon State Police oversee the Ignition Interlock Companies, service centers, and technicians throughout the State of Oregon. The Ignition Interlock Device Oversight Program is part of the Patrol Division, consisting of law enforcement officers and support staff dedicated to ignition interlock device standardization, service center compliance, and public safety.

How to Satisfy You​r IID Requirement:

  1. Confirm your IID requirement date with Driver and Motor Vehicles (DMV).
  2. Select one of the Oregon qualified companies.
  3. Tell the IID company your requirement date and if you have been convicted of DUII or are in a Diversion Agreement.
  4. Follow the rules.
  5. Receive a No Negative Certificate at the end of your requirement.
  6. Contact DMV to ensure your IID requirement is lifted.
  7. Once all steps are complete, schedule a removal with your IID company.

​Know the Rules:

  • To start your vehicle, provide a passing breath sample.
  • Additional samples must be provided within 10 minutes.
  • You have 10 minutes  to provide a passing sample if the device records and alcohol violation.
  • The vehicle is required to have regular device servicing.

For more information about the rules, view our Oregon Ignition Interlock Device Program Brochure.

​Frequently Asked Questions:

Q: How long do I have to have an IID?
A: Diversion drivers have a minimum 1 year requirement. Conviction drivers have a minimum 1, 2, or 5 year requirement. These requirements remain on your driving record until a No Negative Report is properly processed.

Q: What is a No Negative Report?
A: A No Negative Report is a review of the device logs to ensure there are no violations. This review is normally the last 90 days of your requirement.
 
Q: Can I get my device out early?
A: Diversion drivers are allotted the opportunity to petition to the court for an early removal of their year requirement by receiving a 6 month No Negative Report. Conviction does not have an early removal opportunity.
 
Q: I don’t have a vehicle. Do I still need an IID?
A: An IID is required for any vehicle you operate on a public roadway. This includes rentals, friends or family cars. The requirement will remain on your driving record until a No Negative Report is processed.
 
Q: How much does an IID cost?
A: The overall cost of an IID is a combination of services provided, such as, installation, calibration and removal. Pricing varies from company to company. To find out how much an IID costs, you must contact the companies.


You may be able to have your costs waived or deferred if:
​You are currently enrolled in Supplemental Nutrition Assistance Program (SNAP Benefits) issued by the Oregon Department of Human Services.

For more information, please contact the Oregon Health Au​thority​​.

***LifeSafer Ignition Interlock is an authorized vendor for OHA (Oregon Health Authority).

​To confirm your Oregon ignition interlock device requirement dates or to receive more information regarding your Oregon driving privileges, please contact the Driver and Motor Vehicle Services at 503-945-5037 or go to dmv2u.oregon.gov​

To locate the applicable court associated with your ignition interlock device requirement, due to the conviction of Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII) or as part of a Diversion Agreement, please select the link below the map for court contact information.


           Map of Oregon Courts​

​You may be enrolled or may be required to enroll in Alcohol and Other Drug Screening Specialists (ADSS) as a result of a Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants (DUII) or as part of a Diversion Agreement.

For more information, please contact the Oregon Health Authority​ or call 503-945-6213.

​Ignition Interlock Device Law Enforcement Training Video

Ignition Interlock Devices can be a useful tool to capture evidentiary information for a variety of criminal investigations.  To request specific information captured by an ignition interlock device, please complete and send the following form to ospiid@osp.oregon.gov

Law Enforcement Data Request Form

Note: Depending on the type of criminal investigation, a subpoena or search warrant my be required.

 





DISCLAIMER: Links to other sites are provided as a convenience and for informational purposes only. They do not constitute an endorsement or an approval by the state of Oregon or Oregon State Police for any products, services, information, or opinions of the organization or individuals. OSP has no responsibility for the accuracy, legality or content found within the external links. 
​Contact
IID Logo 2021.png

Ignition Interlock Device Program
Oregon State Police
3565 Trelstad Ave SE
Salem, OR 97317
Phone: 503-934-0180
ospiid@osp.oregon.gov

Have a complaint about an IID company or service Center? Fill out a Complaint Form

Tip: PDF Document not opening in your browser? Download the document to your computer first, and open it using a free reader Adobe Reader.


Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×