Oregon law requires anyone who is under a diversion agreement for or convicted of driving under the influence of intoxicants (DUII) to complete a screening interview and a DUII services program.
Enrolling in a program that is not certified to provide DUII services may not satisfy court or DMV requirements. Please check the Substance Use Disorders Services Directory
to ensure the program is provided by an approved DUII Services Provider.
Each court in Oregon designates one or more Alcohol & Other Drug Screening Specialists (ADSS) to conduct screening interviews for individuals who have received a DUII.
View the current ADSS Directory.
After the screening is completed, the ADSS will:
- Provide a list of local certified DUII Services Providers for the individual to choose from. Read about
Your Right to Choose a DUII Services Provider; and
- Send referral paperwork to the DUII Services Provider chosen by the individual.
DUII Services Programs
The Oregon Health Authority lists Oregon’s Division-approved DUII services providers in the
Substance Use Disorders Services Directory.
The DUII services provider will conduct a
diagnostic assessment and assign the individual to either DUII Education or DUII Rehabilitation.
DUII Education is for individuals who have no previous DUIIs and do not meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder. Individuals referred to DUII Education must:
- Complete a minimum of 12 hours of education over a minimum of 4 sessions over 4 weeks, and
- Abstain from use of intoxicants as evidenced by negative urinalysis reports, except as allowed in
Oregon Revised Statute (ORS) 813.200.
DUII Rehabilitation is for individuals who have had a previous DUII or meet diagnostic criteria for a substance use disorder. Individuals referred to DUII Rehabilitation must:
- Complete DUII Education
- Complete the substance use disorder treatment services deemed necessary by the diagnostic assessment, and
- Abstain from use of intoxicants as evidenced by negative urinalysis tests, except as allowed in
ORS 813.200, while outside of a controlled environment for no less than 90 days prior to DUII services completion.
Residents of other states:
Individuals who are residents of states other than Oregon may be referred to a program that is licensed or certified by their state of residence to provide DUII services. Residents of states that do not license or certify DUII service providers must enter and complete a program that is substantially equivalent to what is required in Oregon.
Please call the DUII Information Line at 503-945-6213 or email