Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Groundwater Administrative Areas / Critical Groundwater Areas

There are 22 designated groundwater administrative areas around the state with differing levels of restriction. These include critical groundwater areas (CGWAs), groundwater limited/classified areas, and areas withdrawn from further appropriation. Some areas have time-limited permit restrictions for uses requiring water rights. Other areas are closed to new appropriations or have well construction requirements to protect senior water rights. Staff monitor these areas to ensure that the restrictions adequately protect the groundwater resource and existing users.

Department hydrogeologists also provide technical input for mitigation opportunities in the Deschutes, Grande Ronde, and Klamath Basins to protect scenic waterways and instream flows. The mitigation program in the Deschutes Basin is designed to allow development of groundwater using mitigation credits to maintain or improve streamflow.

Critical Groundwater Area Reports

The following reports provide informational summaries of water level change and water use in the Butter Creek, Ordnance, and Stage Gulch Critical Groundwater Areas.

Butter Creek:

Critical Groundwater Allocation Table

The following tables are an informational summary of allocations in the Butter Creek and Stage Gulch Critical Areas; the orders received by each water right holder in August of the previous year are the legal allocations for each water right holder.

Butter Creek:

Stage Gulch:

Forms for the Butter Creek and Stage Gulch Critical Areas

Below are water use allocation request forms and pumpage reporting forms for the Butter Creek and Stage Gulch Critical Areas. Hard copies are mailed to water right holders on June 1st each year.

Allocation Request Forms

Pumpage Reporting Forms

Table of Oregon's Groundwater Administrative Areas, with links to OARs

Restrictively Classified Areas Within the Willamette Valley (Groundwater Limited Areas)
Other Restrictively Classified Areas
Critical Groundwater Areas
Groundwater Withdrawal Areas
Groundwater Mitigation Program Area