Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Board Members
Sean Kolmer, MPH

Sean Kolmer, M.P.H., chairs the Public Employees' Benefit Board and is health policy advisor to Governor John Kitzhaber. Before he joined the Governor's Office, Sean was deputy administrator of the Office for Oregon Health Policy and Research and worked on several research projects for the National Institutes of Health at Oregon Health & Science University including a partnership with the National Football League. He prefers a backpack to a briefcase. Sean stays active by golfing when the weather is nice. He also enjoys running and playing basketball with his son.
Paul McKenna

Paul McKenna was appointed to the Public Employees' Benefit Board in 2002. Paul is the Public Employees' Benefit Board vice chair and the research director of Service Employees International Union (SEIU), Local 503, and Oregon Public Employees Union (OPEU). He has worked more than 30 years for SEIU and its members. As a board member he tries to represent all state employees in every meeting. Paul, who calls himself the numbers guy, likes to make decisions based on data. When it comes to staying healthy, he also relies on numbers. In recent years, Paul has set and met several numerical annual fitness goals such as walking 4 million steps and doing 10,000 push-ups.   

Peter Callero, PhD

Peter Callero, Ph.D., was appointed to the Public Employees’ Benefit Board in 2004. Peter is a professor of sociology at Western Oregon University and a member of Local 2278, Western Oregon University Federation of Teachers (AFT) and AFL-CIO. A public employee in Oregon since 1986, Peter currently is serving his second term on the board. He is honored to represent his colleagues as he works with the board to control costs and improve the health care system for all state employees. Born and raised in the Northwest, he stays active by hiking, fly-fishing and gardening.


Mitch Morrow, MBA

Mitch Morrow, M.B.A., was appointed to the Public Employees' Benefit Board in 2012. Mitch is deputy director of the Oregon Department of Corrections. He joined the department in 1983 as a corrections officer and moved up the ranks, while earning a bachelor’s degree and a Master of Business Administration from George Fox University. He is honored to be a part of a board that is dedicated to improving the health of its members. Mitch understands the importance of work life balance and always makes time to stay active. He enjoys biking, lifting weights, golfing and running with his wife of 34 years.


Rich Peppers

Rich Peppers was appointed to the Public Employees' Benefit Board in 2005. Rich is assistant executive director of SEIU Local 503, OPEU. He has worked for SEIU and its members for more than 30 years. Rich is proud of his work on the board and takes his membership very seriously because he understands just how important good health care is for state workers. He stays active by running every morning before the sun rises and enjoys hiking in the Columbia Gorge with family and friends.


Jeanene Smith, MD, MPH

Jeanene Smith, M.D., MPH, was appointed to the Public Employees’ Benefit Board in 2005. She is chief medical officer for the Oregon Health Authority, and continues to serve as administrator of the Office for Oregon Health Policy and Research (OHPR). She has practiced family medicine in both private practice and community clinics for more than 15 years, and continues to see patients on a limited basis. She brings great knowledge of the health care system to PEBB. Jeanene sees board membership a great responsibility and she is honored to serve. She stays active by kayaking, hiking and camping in rural Alaska. 


Representative Brian Clem

Representative Brian Clem is the House’s non-voting member of the Board. In 2006, Brian was elected to the Oregon House. He is a 5th generation Oregonian, born and raised in Coos Bay. After graduating Magna Cum Laude from Oregon State University, he worked for State Senator Cliff Trow and later U.S. Senator Ron Wyden.  Two governors appointed Brian to the Oregon Student Assistance Commission. He was serving his 4th term as its chair and his second term as President of the Salem City Club before resigning to serve House District 21.


Senator Betsy Johnson

Senator Betsy Johnson is the Senate's non-voting member on the Board. She is serving her second term in the Senate after three terms in the House. Prior to serving in elected office, she founded an aviation company, managed the Aviation Division of the Oregon Department of Transportation and represented the Oregon Pilots Association. She is vice chair of the legislature's Joint Committee on Ways and Means. 


Joan Kapowich, RN

Joan Kapowich, R.N., has served as administrator of the Public Employees’ Benefit Board and the Oregon Educators Benefit Board since 2007. Before coming to PEBB she managed research, policy, evaluation, communications and contracts for the Program and Policy Section of the Oregon Health Plan. She also spent time as a nurse consultant for SAIF as well as medical services director. Joan sees PEBB as innovators, always working to find creative ways of improving health, improving care and lowering costs for its members. Joan keeps herself active by hiking, walking and lifting weights.