Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image
Public Employees' Benefit Board Meeting Minutes
Sept. 8, 2009
Public Employees’ Benefit Board
Tues., Sept. 8, 2009
3:00 - 3:45 p.m.
DAS General Services Building
1225 Ferry St SE, Salem
Approved 09/15/2009
NOTE:  Time codes for the video stream (x:xx:xx) are provided at the beginning of each section.
              Please refer to the recorded video stream of this meeting for additional details.
Board Members Present
Suzanne Hoffman, Chair
Rich Peppers, Vice-Chair
Peter Callero
Rocky King
Diane Lovell (by phone)
Paul McKenna
Jeanene Smith
Bret West
PEBB Staff Present
Bobbie Barott
Wendy Edwards
Chelsea Hollingsworth
Joan Kapowich
Lydia Lissman
Ingrid Norberg
Chérie Taylor
Guests Present
Roger DeHoog, DOJ
Ted Falk, DOJ
Jack Friedman, Providence
Sally Hill, Providence
Kelly Knivila, Stoel Rives
Renee McDonald, Regence
Rhonda Morin, Oregon Health News
David O’Guinn, State of Oregon
Jean Poling, Kaiser
Ralph Prows, Regence
Dan Stevens, Providence
Consultants Present
Administrator Updates and Agenda Review
Reconsideration of Final Orders Relating to the 2010 - 2011 Administrative Services Only Agreement
Public Comment
Welcome (info/discussion)
Chair Hoffman opened the meeting and informed the group that Diane Lovell was participating by telephone.
Joan Kapowich reviewed the agenda, stating Wendy Edwards would walk the Board through the presentation.  Public comment to follow.
Reconsideration of Final Orders
The Board considered affirming, modifying or reversing the final orders relating to the 2010 - 2011 Administrative Services Only (ASO) agreement that were withdrawn for reconsideration at its Sept. 2, 2009 meeting, pursuant to ORS 183.484(4). Wendy Edwards gave the presentation, stating that staff was recommending Option 1 to the Board when it takes action on the reconsideration.
Public Comment
Chair Hoffman acknowledged that the Board had invited public comment orally and in written form and requested remarks be limited to five minutes due to the number of commenters and time constraints. Commenters, in order of appearance, are listed below:
  • Kelly Knivila, Stoel Rives
  • Ralph Prows, Regence
  • Jack Friedman, Providence
  • David O’Guinn, State of Oregon
NOTE: While Chair Hoffman indicated that five persons had signed up to present public comment, one name was removed from the list because it was signed accidently.
Chair Hoffman called for a motion to begin discussion and asked Wendy Edwards to review the history of the final orders that the Board is reconsidering, ending with a Board resolution to affirm the final orders, except references to temporary rules will be replaced with references to permanent rules.
Vice Chair Peppers moved the motion as read. Bret West seconded the motion and Chair Hoffman called for any discussion on the motion. Hearing none, Chair Hoffman called for a roll call vote. The roll call vote was unanimous and the motion was passed as read by Wendy Edwards.