Skip to main content

Police Traffic Enforcement

The goal of the Police Traffic Enforcement Program is to reduce deaths and injuries through support of speed enforcement, traffic safety law enforcement, training and equipment funding. 
 
 

​The goal of the Police Traffic Enforcement Program is to reduce deaths and injuries through support of speed enforcement, traffic safety law enforcement, training and public education.

Speed Enforcement: Overtime enforcement grants to address the issue of speeding drivers.
 
Speed Management: Monitors, analyzes and provides topical expertise regarding Oregon speed laws, legislation and speed issues at the state and local levels. Provides expertise to Oregon law-enforcement and judicial agencies.  
 
Speed Measuring Device Training: Provides training and certification for radar and lidar through the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training.
  
Public Information and Education: Provides media information and public outreach regarding the dangers of speeding.
 
Speed Goal: Reduce deaths and injuries that are speed-related on state/interstate highways, county roads and city streets in Oregon.
 
Photo Red Light and Photo Radar: Are funded and supported directly by each city that operates a photo red light and/or photo radar program. Each city is required to provide a process and outcome evaluation to the Legislative Assembly on the use of this technology in Oregon once each biennium.  

New "Speed Test" Public Service Announcement​

 

This brochure has been distributed to assist in the public education effort as it relates to speeding.

Slow Down: It's the Law - Stock #330541

​Drivers must move over to a non-adjacent lane (or slow down) when approaching the rear of police, fire, and ambulance vehicles, as well as any motor vehicle that is stopped and is displaying required warning lights or hazard lights, or a person is indicating distress by using emergency flares or posting emergency signs.

Most importantly, drivers should be alert. If you can safely move over when approaching a vehicle stopped for an emergency, do so. If you can't, slow down.

Slow down means reducing your speed by at least five miles per hour below the posted speed of the roadway.

The fine for this violation is currently $265.00 ($525.00 if the location is within a safety corridor, school zone or work zone.)

State Law Move Over Sign

 

There's something all of us can do to help keep people safe and free-up congestion on Oregon's roads. If you get in a non-injury crash, just MOVE IT. It's that simple - move your vehicle out of the way so other drivers can safely pass. It's also the law (ORS 811.717).
 
 

Kristin Twenge
Program Manager
503-986-4446

Transportation Safety Division
ODOT-TLC Building, MS 3
4040 Fairview Industrial Drive SE
Salem, OR 97302-1142

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how

×