Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Welcome Page

State Fuel Tax Increase

Effective January 1, 2022

  1. Oregon Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax increases to $0.38 per gallon
  2. Oregon Use Fuel Tax increases to $0.38 per gallon
  3. Propane and Natural Gas Flat Fee increases for qualified vehicles
  • Rate 1 from $180.00 to $190.00
  • Rate 2 from $900.00 to $950.00
  • Rate 3 from $1,200.00 to $1,266.67

Feel free to contact us if you have any questions or need additional information.

Tax-Exempt Sales 

for Certified Indian Tribes

The 2021 Oregon Legislature passed House Bill 3055. Beginning January 1, 2022, Section 165 of the bill authorizes Oregon licensed Motor Vehicle Fuel Dealers to sell tax-exempt motor vehicle fuel to federally recognized Indian tribes, tribal entities, and tribal member owned entities, that operate service stations on the tribe's reservation or trust land.

Read details of the new law.

See the certified Indian tribes and entities list.