Submitting a Public Records Request
Oregon Department of Corrections (DOC) is dedicated to responding to public records requests in accordance with the Public Records Law (ORS 192.324
). All requests for Department of Corrections records must be in writing and sent to the appropriate unit. To help locate responsive records to your request, please identify as specifically as possible the following:
- Specify type of records you are looking for
- Name of inmate and SID# (if records involve an inmate)
- Subject matter
- Approximate date range of records
- Any public records requests for inmate court documents should be made with the county of conviction.
The request must also include your:
- Name and signature
- Telephone number (in case we need to call for clarification)
- Email address
Requests to Offender Information and Sentencing Computation (OISC) may also require one or both of the following:
- Information Request Form
- Pen Packs Requests
Contacts for Public Records Requests
All requests should be directed to the institution or unit that maintains the information. To send a request, select the appropriate institution or unit below. For department-wide requests, select the general public record request email.
In general, the Department will adhere to the following process:
- The request is received by the appropriate unit
- The Department may contact the requestor for clarifying information
- The institution or unit with the information will prepare and send an estimate of the fees to fill the request
- Upon receipt of payment for the request, the institution or unit will provide responsive record(s)
In accordance with ORS 192.324 DOC may charge a fee reasonably calculated to reimburse the agency for actual costs of providing public records. The costs associated may include locating, copying, reviewing, redacting, and mailing the documents. Fees will vary depending on the information being requested and the actual time required to search for and provide responsive records.
The State of Oregon has a standardized fee schedule as set out in Department of Administrative Services (DAS) Statewide Policy 107-001-030 (pdf)
$25 per hour for clerical staff
$40 per hour for managerial level staff
$75 per hour for professional level staff
Oregon Department of Justice or other applicable legal fees are charged at the actual hourly rate as set by ORS 192.324(4)(b).
Based on current state printing and distribution price list.
CD/DVD or other Media Storage
Based on statewide price agreement with provider of office supplies.
Actual cost for delivery of records.