Skip to main content

State Land Board Awards

Website banner-01.png

Established in 2004, the State Land Board Awards recognize projects that promote responsible, sustainable stewardship of Oregon’s natural resources or benefit Department of State Lands-related programs.

Awards are given in the categories of Wetland Project, Stream Project, Partnership Award, and Catalyst Award.

The 17th Annual Land Board Awards

This year, the State Land Board is recognizing four outstanding projects and leaders for their contributions to protect and enhance Oregon's natural resources.

Those winners are:

Wetland Award: Jackson-Frazier Wetland Long Term Habitat Restoration

Partnership Award, Team: The Oregon Tide Gate Partnership

Partnership Award, Catalyst: Tracie-Lynn Nadeau and Yvonne Vallette, U.S. EPA

Learn more about this year's recipients.

The Land Board Awards took place on October 12, 2021. Watch the awards on the Department of State Lands YouTube page.

About the Awards

Stream & Wetland Project Awards: Any stream or wetland project completed in the year prior to the awards, or that completed monitoring in the prior year, is eligible. Past awards have gone to wetland mitigation banks, dam removals, wetland restorations, fish habitat improvement projects, and more. 

In 2020, the Stream Award went to the Opal Springs Volitional Fish Passage project. The project opened 125 miles of Crooked River habitat to fish by raising the Opal Springs dam pool height and installing a fish ladder, eliminating a major fish migration barrier. The 2020 Wetland Award went to ODOT Vernal Pool Mitigation and Conservation Bank Restoration, an 8-year collaboration that restored wetlands and returned native species to nearly 200 acres of rare vernal pool habitat.

The Partnership Award: The Partnership Award recognizes organizations who have partnered with the Department of State Lands to advance our work through volunteer efforts.

In 2020, the Partnership Award recognized Metro and SOLVE for their collaborative and compassionate work to clean up garbage and camps along Oregon waterways. 

The Catalyst Award: Awarded for the first time in 2020, the Catalyst Award recognizes an individual partner whose work supports stewardship of state lands and waters. The inagural award went to the Oregon Natural Desert Association's Jefferson Jacobs, whose commitment to engaging volunteers in restoration projects has enhanced thousands of lives, along with thousands of acres.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is my stream or wetland project eligible?
Eligible projects:
  • Completed construction, or completed monitoring required by DSL, in the previous calendar year
  • Met or exceeded all DSL permit conditions
  • Do not have an unresolved enforcement action

Who can nominate a project? Can I nominate my own project or organization?
Anyone and YES! Past nominations have come from landowners, consultants, funding partners, DSL staff, government agencies, watershed councils, local planners, businesses, organizations and more. If you have been a part of an exemplary project or partnership, please submit a nomination!

How are recipients selected?
DSL convenes a selection committee that typically includes staff, partner organizations, and representatives of other state agencies to review nominations. Generally, one award per category is presented each year. However, the committee may recommend that more than one award be given, or that no award will be given, in a specific category.

What are the selection criteria?
For stream and wetland projects, the selection committee considers the benefit to the resource, innovation and creativity, community involvement and partnerships, and avoidance and minimization in design. The nomination forms request information for each of these criteria.

For partnership and catalyst awards, the selection committee considers innovation and effort, consistent outstanding service, and the example set by the nominee.