Do we have
your money?

Oregon is holding millions of dollars
in unclaimed assets
Insurance Proceeds « Bank Accounts
Utility Deposits « Stock Dividends

Safe Deposit Box Contents « Tax Refunds
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What is Unclaimed Property?

Mostly, it’s money, but it can be any financial asset that
has not been claimed by the owner or has not had any
owner-generated activity for a specific time period (one to
three years for most items). Examples include:

e payroll checks e bank accounts

e refunds e mutual funds and
e overpayments securities

e money orders

Unclaimed property is not land or other real estate.

Oregon’s unclaimed property laws date to 1957, and were
established to protect the consumer and provide a central
registry of unclaimed property. The Oregon Department

of State Lands (DSL) administers the unclaimed property
program and works to reunite as many people as possible
with their money or possessions.

Why does Unclaimed Property
go to DSL?

Organizations and businesses throughout the United
States are required to report unclaimed property to Oregon
based on the owner’s last known address. If the amount

is $100 or more, they must make a good faith effort

to contact the owner before reporting. Any company or
organization that writes checks, drafts or warrants has the
potential to have unclaimed property to report.

Typically, unclaimed property occurs when:

e People lose or forget to cash a check, or overpay a
final bill.

e A person’s address changes and mail forwarding ends.

e An account holder dies and heirs are unaware of
the account.

Do we have your money?

What does DSL do with the funds?

Unclaimed property is held in trust forever in the Common
School Fund for claim by rightful owners or their heirs.
The money is not spent by the department. Investment
earnings from the fund are sent twice a year to Oregon’s
197 K-12 public school districts. Recent annual
distributions have ranged from $35.2 million in 2000 to
$70 million in 2017.

Check for your name

It's easy and free to search for your name and file a claim
online. To ensure privacy of the owner and to discourage
fraudulent claims, listings only show dollar ranges. Most
accounts have a value of $250 or less. Simple claims

are normally processed within 45 days. Complex claims
involving large sums, stock transfers or deceased original
owners may take up to 120 days for a response. If you find
names of family or friends, refer them to the website, as
they must respond for themselves.

Go to either of these links to start your unclaimed
property search:

o www.oregonup.us

« www.oregon.gov/dsl

Track your claim

You may register before you file a claim to easily track your
claim’s status. The owner listing and claim status

are updated daily. Your claim is automatically recorded in
the database when you file online, but no action will

be taken until DSL receives your completed claim form

in the mail.

DSL holds more than half a billion dollars for nearly 3 million owners. The state receives about $50 million annually in

unclaimed funds, and returns about half that amount to people who file claims.
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Tips to keep track of your accounts

Keep your accounts active through customer-initiated
contact with the holder (your bank for example) at least
once every two years.

Keep accurate and current records of all accounts,
insurance policies, certificates of deposit, safe deposit
boxes, stocks and bonds.

Notify family members of the location of accounts
and records.

Update your current or recent employers, financial
institutions, investment managers and regular
merchants whenever you change your address.

Complying with Oregon’s Unclaimed
Property law

If you own a business or think your organization (including
public agencies and nonprofits) might have unclaimed
property to report:

Go to www.oregon.gov/dsl

Email holder@dsl.state.or.us

Oregon Department of State Lands
Unclaimed Property Section
775 Summer St. NE, Suite 100
Salem, OR 97301-1279
Phone: (503) 986-5200 ¢ Fax: (503) 378-4844
Email: claims@dsl.state.or.us
www.oregonup.us ® www.oregon.gov/dsl
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