Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »



House Bill 2611, which was passed during the 2013 legislative session, provided that certain agencies (including the Board) may adopt rules requiring licensees to receive cultural competency continuing education (CCCE).  The Bill requires that the Board document licensees' participation in cultural competency CE and report biennially to the Oregon Health Authority (OHA).  In June of 2016 the Board issued a Notice of Proposed Rulemaking Hearing which proposed to require active licensed professional counselors and marriage and family therapists to complete four hours of CCCE in each biennial reporting period.  After reviewing public comments on the matter, the Board adopted the rule on October 7, 2016.


Four hours of CCCE is required during each reporting period.  This is a continuing (NOT one-time) requirement.
  • As with the other CE requirements, CCCE does not apply to inactive status licensees.  However, four hours of CCCE within the last 24 months is required in order to reactivate a license (change from inactive to active status).
  • CCCE is included in the total 40 CE credits required for each 24 month renewal period- it does not add to the total number required.
  • To qualify, a program must meet all of the rule requirements.  It must meet the content criteria (substantive and relevant learning activity, qualified instructor, and record of attendance) [OAR 833-080-0031] and must be an activity that qualifies as an approved method of obtaining hours [OAR 833-080-0041].  CCCE is subject to random audit and failure to comply provisions as with any other CE.
  • "Cultural competence” means a life-long process of examining values and beliefs and developing and applying an inclusive approach to health care practice in a manner that recognizes the context and complexities of provider-patient communication and interaction and preserves the dignity of individuals, families and communities.

    (a) Cultural competence applies to all patients.
    (b) Culturally competent providers do not make assumptions on the basis of an individual’s actual or perceived abilities, disabilities or traits whether inherent, genetic or developmental including: race, color, spiritual beliefs, creed, age, tribal affiliation, national origin, immigration or refugee status, marital status, socio-economic status, veteran’s status, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, gender transition status, level of formal education, physical or mental disability, medical condition or any consideration recognized under federal, state and local law. [OAR 943-090-0010(3)]
  • Q: How can I tell if my course can be claimed as CCCE?
    A: Use your best professional judgment along with the guidance available on this webpage to determine whether a course meets the criteria, and consult with colleagues if you unsure.  Ensure that you are comfortable defending your choice and have maintained adequate supporting documentation.  If your course is not clearly CCCE, you will likely be asked for additional documentation during an audit.  Many substantive CE courses will contain some aspects of the cultural competency; however cultural competency needs to be the primary subject matter of the course to qualify as a CCCE course.  
  • Q:  Can I take a four-hour course covering the ethics of cultural competency, and have it count towards both the professional ethics requirement and the cultural competency training requirement?
    A:  No. It is not acceptable to “double-dip.” Cultural competency training is a separate and distinct requirement.  Licensees need 10 credits total- 6 dedicated specifically to ethics, and 4 dedicated specifically to cultural competency.  There will often be overlap in the theme of any chosen course.  If the primary subject matter of the program is cultural competency, as will typically reflected in the program title, then it should be claimed as a cultural competency course.  Be sure that the acceptability of the program is adequately documented (i.e. clearly labeled in a syllabus, program agenda or certificate of attendance).

When Do I Report?

You will first report your completion of the required CCCE during your 2018 renewal.  This means that you must complete your four clock hours of CCCE no later than your 2018 renewal deadline (the last day of your birth month in 2018).  Four clock hours of CCCE is required for every two-year CE period thereafter.


  • OBOP Cultural Competence CE Guide - Released by the CCCE Workgroup, May 2017.
  • Cultural Competency: A Practical Guide for Medical Professionals - Released by the Oregon Medical Board, June 2017.
  • Oregon Health Authority (OHA), Office of Equity and Inclusion's CCCE Webpage.
    • This includes the Registry of OHA-Approved CCCE Trainings.  Note that this list is still under development by OHA.  CCCE education does not need to be OHA-approved in order to qualify for credit; it must meet the criteria as described above.
    • OHA-approved CCCE opportunities shall teach attitudes, knowledge and skills enabling health care professionals to effectively communicate with and care for patients from diverse cultures, groups, and communities. These skills may include:
      (A) Applying linguistic skills to communicate effectively with patients.
      (B) Using cultural information to establish therapeutic relationships.
      (C) Eliciting, understanding and applying cultural and ethnic data in the process of clinical care. [OAR 943-090-0020(6)]
    • Developers CCCE training opportunities for health professionals: submit an application to OHA to determine if the opportunity meets specific criteria for OHA’s approval of high quality, standards of excellence in cultural competency education. Please visit the OEI Website for more information and to apply.
  • Board CE Rules: OAR Chapter 833, Division 80.