House Bill 3300 (2023), a concept brought forth by the Board, will allow the Board to grant limited permits to qualifying individuals who are actively licensed in other states. The Board is currently engaged in rulemaking to establish the permitting process.
Please see our Notice of Proposed Rulemaking.
Public comments on this proposal will be accepted until 5pm on September 21, 2023.
Below is the proposed rule text, which if approved, will become effective January 1, 2024.
Proposed OAR 833-020-0102
(1) The Board may grant a non-renewable limited permit to practice professional counseling or marriage and family therapy in the State of Oregon as follows:
(a) A professional counselor limited permit may be issued to applicants that possess a current, active license to practice professional counseling in good standing in another state based on a graduate degree.
(b) A marriage and family therapist limited permit may be issued to applicants that possess a current, active license to practice marriage and family therapy in good standing in another state based on a graduate degree.
(2) A limited permit is for individuals to provide professional counseling or marriage and family therapy services only for a limited specific purpose and time-specific period. It is not intended to be a substitute for or to allow unlimited, general provision of services in Oregon.
(3) To qualify for a limited permit, an applicant must submit to the Board:
(a) An application for limited permit in a form and manner prescribed by the Board;
(b) Verification of licensure in good standing in another state;
(c) A statement certifying that the applicant has read and understand Oregon law and administrative rule pertaining to the practice of professional counseling or marriage and family therapy and the Board's adopted code of professional conduct;
(d) A statement of work that includes the limited purpose, location, and specific dates of service to be rendered;
(e) Other clarifying information requested by the Board; and
(f) The limited permit fee. The fee is not refundable, regardless of an applicant's inability to qualify for a permit.
(4) A limited permit issued by the Board:
(a) Is effective for no more than 30 days in a 12-month period. The 30 days may be nonconsecutive.
(b) Expires if the person is no longer actively licensed to practice professional counseling or marriage and family therapy in another state.
Statutory/Other Authority: ORS 675.785 - 675.835
Statutes/Other Implemented: House Bill 3300 (2023)
How to Apply
Once available, applicants will apply for a permit via the Applicant Portal. More detail forthcoming!