Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Current Notices

Fuels Tax Notices 

The Fuels Tax Group sends out the following notices by email or regular mail. Sign up for GovDelivery to ensure you receive important notices timely. Past notices are kept for two years.

Click the subject to view the current notice and other links related to this notice.

License Type
Motor Vehicle Fuel Dealer

Tax-Exempt Sales for Certified Indian Tribes

The 2021 Oregon Legislature passed House Bill 3055. Beginning January 1, 2022, Section 165 of the bill authorizes Oregon licensed Motor Vehicle Fuel Dealers to sell tax-exempt motor vehicle fuel to federally recognized Indian tribes, tribal entities, and tribal member owned entities, that operate service stations on the tribe's reservation or trust land.

Read details of the new law.

See the list of exempt Indian tribes and entities.

License Type
All Fuel Types

State Fuel Tax Increase

Effective January 1, 2022


  • Oregon Motor Vehicle Fuel Tax increases to $0.38 per gallon
  • Oregon Use Fuel Tax increases to $0.38 per gallon
  • Propane and Natural Gas Flat Fee increases for qualified vehicles

Rate 1 from $180.00 to $190.00

Rate 2 from $900.00 to $950.00

​Rate 3 from $1,200.00 to $1,266.67​

License Type
Motor Vehicle Fuel Dealer, Use Fuel Seller

This notification applies to:

  • All licensees except Use Fuel Users
  • All fuels including dyed diesel not sold as home heating oil except propane not dispensed into a vehicle
  • All reporting - electronic or paper
  • All location codes (facility id, origin, and destination) except the home heating oil codes (HHO), and Terminal Location Codes
  • Origin locations for imports and destination locations for exports
For more information, go to Facility ID​ page.