An official website of the State of Oregon
How you know »
(how to identify a Oregon.gov website)
An official website of the State of Oregon »
You are here:
The goal of the Police Traffic Enforcement Program is to reduce deaths and injuries through support of speed enforcement, traffic safety law enforcement, training and public education.
New "Speed Test" Public Service Announcement
This brochure has been distributed to assist in the public education effort as it relates to speeding.
Slow Down: It's the Law - Stock #330541
Verra Mobility's release of their 2021's Worst Red-Light Runners video highlights the importance of road safety and the value of automated enforcement. The videos in this year's compilation come from Arizona, Florida, Louisiana, and North Carolina, highlighting how dangerous driving decisions and in-vehicle distractions can have a devastating impact on human life.
According to the AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety, more than a quarter of fatal crashes at signalized intersections are the result of red-light running. That same report indicated nearly one-half of the victims were passengers in the vehicles involved in the crash.
Red-light running, unlawful speeding, and illegally passing school buses all pose a dangerous threat to the safety of all who share America's roadways. Now, more than ever, we need to come together to spread the message that these dangers are present too often, imperiling our communities. The first step to achieving change is education and awareness.
Join us in sharing this video with others to remind them to always stop on red!
Drivers must move over to a non-adjacent lane (or slow down) when approaching the rear of police, fire, and ambulance vehicles, as well as any motor vehicle that is stopped and is displaying required warning lights or hazard lights, or a person is indicating distress by using emergency flares or posting emergency signs.
Most importantly, drivers should be alert. If you can safely move over when approaching a vehicle stopped for an emergency, do so. If you can't, slow down.
Slow down means reducing your speed by at least five miles per hour below the posted speed of the roadway.
The fine for this violation is currently $265.00 ($525.00 if the location is within a safety corridor, school zone or work zone.)
Instruction Manual - Police Traffic Crash Forms (for law enforcement use)Instruction Manual updatesPolice Traffic Crash Form 46APolice Traffic Crash Supplemental Form 46BPolice Traffic Crash Truck Bus Supplemental Form 47 (This form must downloaded and saved to your computer to fill out without errors.)Request for DMV Forms to Be Mailed Form
Kristin TwengeProgram Manager503-583-5439
DMV - Transportation Safety OfficeODOT-TLC Building, MS 34040 Fairview Industrial Drive SESalem, OR 97302-1142
A .gov website belongs to an official government organization in the United States.
A lock icon ( ) or https:// means you’ve safely connected to the .gov website.
Only share sensitive information on official, secure websites.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how