Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Find     
Site Image

  • Need to take your drive test NOW?
    Schedule it with a private party tester
    DMV is currently allowing several private businesses to conduct our behind-the-wheel drive test. These businesses may offer quicker, more convenient appointment times, including weekends. Call the private party tester nearest you to get information about your testing options.
  • New Driver Education Course Completion Card Waives Drive Test
    Some ODOT-approved driver educators can provide the new hard plastic card
    The new hard plastic card (original) issued by Oregon's Transportation Safety Division can be presented to DMV when you apply for your driver license, which will allow you to waive both the drive test and 50 of the 100 hours of required supervised driving practice, so long as you meet all of the other requirements to apply. You must be under 18 years of age when you complete the course and you cannot obtain your driver license prior to completion. Check with your driver education provider to find out if you will receive the new plastic card, or the standard paper card which only waives 50 hours of supervised driving.
  • DMV office wait time information now available online
    Check and compare wait times before visiting a DMV office
    DMV has implemented a new online office wait time display feature. It tracks the average waiting period for many DMV offices, i.e., those equipped with an automated wait time management system. 
  • Oregon Law Prohibits Teen Use of Cell Phones and Text Messaging
    Persons under 18 years of age are not allowed to "operate a motor vehicle while using a mobile communication device"
    A mobile communication device is defined as a text messaging device or a wireless, two-way communication device designed to receive and transmit voice or text communication, including hands-free accessories. It is a primary offense and convictions are applied toward the Provisional Driver Improvement Program, which can result in the restriction or suspension of driving privileges.
Licenses, Permits & Education Manuals, Guides, Forms & Links