Text Size:   A+ A- A   •   Text Only
Site Image

Fallen Officer Memorial Highway

​Program Overview

The 2011 Oregon State Legislature passed a law (HB 3039) to honor police officers killed in the line of duty.  The law sets up a program to allow for a roadside memorial sign to be installed on a state highway to commemorate fallen officers.



Memorial signs may be installed for those police officers killed in the line of duty and who have been recognized by the Oregon Legislature through a concurrent resolution. HB 3039 defines a police officer as certain employees of the Department of Corrections, Department of State Police, county sheriffs or city police agencies. 

To begin the process to have a memorial sign installed, please contact your state Senator or Representative to request he or she sponsor a concurrent resolution for the fallen officer.  To find out who your legislators are, visit http://www.oregonlegislature.gov and click on “Find Who Represents Me in Oregon.”

Check to see if a concurrent resolution has been adopted: 
HCR 27, OSP Senior Trooper Maria F. Mignano
HCR 28, Albany Police Officer Jason Hoerauf
HCR 29, OSP Trooper Scott A. Lyons
HCR 30, OSP Senior Trooper William R. Hakim
HCR 31, OSP Sergeant James D. Rector
HCR 32, OSP Trooper Dan A. Nelson
HCR 33, OSP Superintendent Holly V. Holcomb
HCR 34, Woodburn Police Captain Thomas Paul Tennant


HCR 203, Marion County Deputy Kelly James Fredinburg
HCR 206, Corrections Officer Buddy Ray Herron
SCR 201, Eugene Police Officer Chris Kilcullen


Application Procedures

After the legislature adopts a concurrent resolution, complete the application below and send $600.00 (check or money order payable to ODOT) to:

Oregon Department of Transportation
c/o Bob Pappe
State Traffic/Roadway Engineer
4040 Fairview Industrial Dr. SE
Salem, OR  97302-1142
For questions, contact:
Heidi Shoblom (Heidi.e.shoblom@odot.state.or.us)