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DIVISION 1 

PROCEDURAL RULES 
 

848-001-0000  
Notice to Interested Persons on Any Proposal to Adopt, 
Amend, or Repeal Any Rule 
 
 Prior to the adoption, amendment, or repeal of any 
permanent rule, the Physical Therapist Licensing Board shall 
give notice of the proposed adoption, amendment, or repeal:  
     (1) In the Secretary of State's Bulletin referred to in ORS 
183.360 at least twenty-one (21) days prior to the effective date.  

(2) By providing a copy of the notice to persons on the 
Physical Therapist Licensing Board's mailing list established 
pursuant to ORS 183.335(8).  

(3) By providing a copy of the notice to the following 
persons, organizations, or publications:  

(a) Executive Secretary, Oregon Physical Therapy 
Association;  

(b) Oregon Association of Hospitals.  
(c) Oregon Physical Therapists in Independent Practice.  

 
848-001-0005  
Attorney General's Model Rules of Procedure 
  

The following Model Rules of Procedure promulgated by 
the Attorney General of the State of Oregon, in effect January 
01, 2014, are adopted by the Board by reference. These rules 
apply to rulemaking; OAR 137-001-0005 through 137-001-
0080.  
[ED. NOTE: The full text of the Attorney General's Model 
Rules of Procedure is available from the office of the Attorney 
General or the Physical Therapist Licensing Board.]  
 
848-001-0010  
Time for Requesting a Contested Case Hearing  
 

A request for a contested case hearing must be in writing and 
must be received by the Board within thirty (30) days from the 
date the proposed notice of disciplinary action was served.  
 
848-001-0020  
Filing Exceptions to the Board 
  

After a proposed order has been served on a party, the Board 
shall notify the party when written exceptions must be filed to 
be considered by the Board. A licensee may request to appear 
before the Board to discuss the proposed sanction before the 
Board issues a Final Order.  

 
DIVISION 5 

BOARD ADMINISTRATION 
 

848-005-0010  
Board Budget  
 
The Physical Therapist Licensing Board hereby adopts by 
reference the Physical Therapist Licensing Board 2013–2015 
Biennium Budget of $1,000,000 covering the period from July 
1, 2013 through June 30, 2015. The Executive Director of the 
Board will amend budgeted accounts as necessary within the 

approved budget of $1,000,000 for the effective operation of the 
Board. The Board will not exceed the approved 2013–2015 
Biennium Budget without amending this rule, notifying holders 
of licenses, and holding a public hearing thereon as required, by 
ORS Chapter 182.462(1) and (2). Copies of the budget are 
available from the Board's office. 
 
848-005-0020  
Board Fees and Refunds 
 

(1) The following fees shall be paid to the Board: 
(a) Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant 

Examination Application Fee of $150.00, plus the actual cost to 
the Board of conducting a nationwide background check. 

(b) Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant 
Endorsement Application Fee of $150.00, plus the actual cost to 
the Board of conducting a nationwide background check. 

(c) Physical Therapist Annual License Renewal Fee of 
$100.00, plus the actual cost to the Board of conducting a 
workforce demographics survey as required by ORS 676.410(7). 

(d) Physical Therapist Assistant Annual License Renewal 
Fee of $65.00, plus the actual cost to the Board of conducting a 
workforce demographics survey as required by ORS 676.410(7). 

(e) Lapsed License Renewal Fee of $50.00 for renewal 
applications postmarked or received by the Board after March 
31st. 

(f) On-line renewal and application convenience fee not to 
exceed the actual processing costs of an on-line electronic 
transaction. 

(g) Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant 
Temporary Permits Fee of $50.00. 

(h) Duplicate License Fee of $25.00. 
(i) Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant Wall 

Certificate Fee of $25.00. 
(j) Physical Therapist or Physical Therapist Assistant 

Verification of Oregon Licensure or Verification of Application 
Status Letters/Forms Fee of $25.00. 

(k) Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) Check Fee of $25.00. 
(l) Miscellaneous Fees: 
(A) Physical Therapist and/or Physical Therapist Assistant 

electronic mailing list fee of $100.00. 
(B) Photocopying  administrative fee of $25.00, plus ten 

cents ($0.10) per copy. 
(2) Board refunds of overpayments in any amount  of $25.00 

or less will be held by the Board unless the payor requests a 
refund in writing. 
 
 
 
 
848-005-0030  
Name, Address and Telephone Number of Record 
 

(1) Every applicant, licensee and temporary permit holder 
shall keep their legal name on file with the Board. For purposes 
of this rule, legal name includes a First, Middle and Last name. 

(2) Every applicant, licensee and temporary permit holder 
shall keep their home address on file with the Board. The home 
address must be a residential address and may not be a post 
office box number. 
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(3) Every applicant, licensee and temporary permit holder 

shall keep a current contact telephone number and both a private 
and public electronic mail address, if available, on file with the 
Board. 

(4) Every applicant, licensee and temporary permit holder 
shall keep the name, address and telephone number of their 
current employer or place of business on file with the Board. 

(5) Every applicant, licensee and temporary permit holder 
shall keep a current designated mailing address on file with the 
Board. 

(6) Whenever an applicant, licensee or temporary permit 
holder legally changes their name, they shall notify the Board in 
writing within 30 days of the name change and provide the 
Board with legal documentation of the name change. 

(7) Whenever an applicant, licensee or temporary permit 
holder changes their home address, their employer or place of 
business, their contact telephone number, electronic mail 
address or their mailing address, they shall within 30 days, 
notify the Board in writing. Written notification may be by 
regular mail, electronic mail or facsimile. 

(8) Unless requested for a public health or state health 
planning purpose or unless extenuating circumstances exist, the 
Board will withhold the home address, private electronic mail 
address and personal telephone number of a licensee. 
 
 

DIVISION 10 
LICENSED PHYSICAL THERAPISTS AND 

LICENSED PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANTS 
 

848-010-0010  
Approval of Schools of Physical Therapy 
 

All schools for physical therapists and physical therapist 
assistants that are accredited by the Commission on 
Accreditation in Physical Therapy Education (CAPTE), are 
considered approved schools of physical therapy. A school shall 
be considered to be an approved school of physical therapy 
within the meaning of this section if the school was accredited 
as above at the time the licensure applicant graduated.  At its 
sole discretion, and on a case-by-case basis, the Board may 
grant licensure to an applicant who has graduated from a school 
of physical therapy if, at the time of his/her graduation, the 
school is a candidate for accreditation and subsequently is 
granted the accreditation. 
 
848-010-0015  
Examinations  

(1) Examinations for licensing of physical therapists and of 
physical therapist assistants shall be provided by an examination 
service approved by the Board. For purposes of this rule the 
Board’s approved examination shall be the Federation of State 
Boards of Physical Therapy’s (FSBPT) National Physical 
Therapy Examination (NPTE). The overall passing score shall 
be based on a formula using the criterion-referenced scoring 
system. An applicant may sit for the NPTE  a maximum of three 
times in any jurisdiction within a 12-month period, measured 
from the date of the first examination.  

(2) All completed applications for examination, associated fees 
and required documents must be received and approved by the 
Board prior to releasing an applicant’s eligibility to take the 
NPTE.   

(3) Unless qualified for licensure by endorsement under OAR 
848-010-0022, an applicant whose  first professional degree in 
physical therapy was awarded from a foreign physical therapy 
program that is/was not CAPTE accredited  must submit:  

(a) A Credentials Evaluation Statement ("the Report") of 
professional education and training prepared by a Board-
approved credentials evaluation agency. The Report must be 
sent directly from the credentialing agency to the Board. It is the 
applicant's responsibility to pay the expenses associated with the 
credentials evaluation.  

(A) The Report must provide evidence and documentation that 
the applicant's education outside a state or territory of the United 
States is substantially equivalent to the education of a physical 
therapist who graduated from an accredited physical therapy 
education program approved by the Board pursuant to ORS 
688.050(2).  

(B) To determine substantial equivalency, the approved 
credentialing evaluation agency shall use the appropriate Course 
Work Tool ("CWT") adopted by the Federation of State Boards 
of Physical Therapy. The appropriate CWT means the CWT in 
place at the time the foreign educated physical therapist earned 
their first professional degree in physical therapy.   

(b) English Language Proficiency  

(A) Verification that English is the native language of the 
country of origin, and the physical therapy program employs 
English as the language of training; or  

(B) Verification that the applicant has achieved a score of not 
less than 560 on the paper Test of English as a Foreign 
Language (TOEFL) or a score of not less than 220 on the 
computer Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL), a 
score of not less than 50 on the Test of Spoken English (TSE) 
and a score of not less than 4.5 on the Test of Written English 
(TWE); or  

(C) Verification that the applicant has achieved the following 
minimum scores for each category of the  internet based TOEFL 
(ibTOEFL) examination: writing, 24; speaking, 26; reading, 21; 
listening, 18; with an overall score of not less than 89.  

(c) If applicant has taken a Board-approved national licensing 
examination prior to application for licensure in Oregon, a 
report of applicant's examination scores must be submitted to 
the Board directly from the Board-approved examination 
service.  
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(d) If applicant holds or has held a license in the country in 
which the applicant received their physical therapy education, 
the applicant must provide primary source verification of the 
license.  

(e) For purposes of section (3) of this rule, the requirements and 
criteria considered for credentialing will be "as of" the date the 
most recent credentialing report was received by the Board from 
the Board-approved credentialing agency.  

(4) The Examination must be given in the English language.  

(5)  A physical therapist student or physical therapist assistant 
student may take the National Physical Therapy Examination 
(NPTE) up to 90 days prior to graduation from a CAPTE 
accredited program if the program director will certify, in a 
written format, that the student has successfully completed all 
didactic educational requirements prior to the examination date 
and is indeed scheduled to graduate.  

(6) The examination will be administered at a location approved 
by the Board.  

(7) Any applicant who has graduated from an approved school 
of physical therapy and passed a Board-approved examination 
or a Board-approved equivalent examination more than five 
years prior to application for licensure in the State of Oregon 
and who has not been actively licensed in any other state or 
territory of the United States for a five year period must 
demonstrate competence to practice physical therapy. If the 
applicant fails to demonstrate competence, the Board may 
require the applicant to serve an internship under a restricted 
license or satisfactorily complete a refresher course approved by 
the Board, or both, at the discretion of the Board. The Board 
may also require the applicant to pass an examination approved 
by the Physical Therapist Licensing Board as provided in OAR 
848-010-0015.  

848-010-0020  
Endorsement of Out-of-State Physical Therapists and 
Physical Therapist Assistants 

Physical therapists and physical therapist assistants not licensed 
in the State of Oregon may be licensed by endorsement if they 
comply with all of the following:  

(1) File a completed application form and pay a non-refundable 
endorsement application fee.  

(2) Are at least 18 years of age.  

(3) Are graduates of an approved school for physical therapists 
or physical therapist assistants as provided in OAR 848-010-
0010 and 848-010-0015(3).  

(4)  At the time of application, applicant holds a valid, 
unrestricted license in any other state or territory of the United 
States.  

(5) Have passed the physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant examination provided by a Board-approved 
examination service.  

848-010-0022  
Endorsement of Out-of-State Foreign Educated Physical 
Therapists  
 

A foreign educated physical therapist not licensed in the 
State of Oregon may be licensed by endorsement if the applicant 
meets or fulfills the requirements of subsections (1), (2), (4) and 
(5) of OAR 848-010-0020 and the Board receives all of the 
following additional items:  

(1) A certified copy of the Course Work Tool (“CWT) used 
by a physical therapy licensing authority of a state or territory of 
the United States to make the determination to issue a license in 
that state or territory. The report must indicate that the 
applicant’s foreign physical therapy education was determined 
to be substantially equivalent to the education of a physical 
therapist who graduated from an accredited physical therapy 
program approved by the Oregon Board pursuant to ORS 
688.050(2).  To determine substantial equivalency, the approved 
credentialing evaluation agency shall use the appropriate CWT 
adopted by the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy.  
The appropriate CWT means the CWT in place at the time the 
foreign educated physical therapist graduated from their 
physical therapy program.  The licensing authority of the state 
or territory must certify the report and must send it directly to 
the Oregon Board.  

(2) Proof of completion of a minimum of 1000 hours of 
clinical practice each year in a state or territory of the United 
States for three of the last ten years immediately prior to 
application. To meet this requirement, however, no more than 
five years can have elapsed since the applicant has had clinical 
practice in a state or territory of the United States. The 
applicant’s current or prior employer(s) must send this proof 
directly to the Oregon Board.  

(3) A written statement from the applicant’s most recent 
employer stating that the applicant practiced safely and 
competently. The employer must send this proof directly to the 
Oregon Board.  

(4) A foreign educated physical therapist who does not meet 
the requirements of this section may apply for licensure under 
OAR 848-010-0015(3).  
 
848-010-0026  
Temporary Permits 

(1) The Board may issue a temporary permit to practice as a 
physical therapist or physical therapist assistant the period 
specified below to an applicant who meets the requirements of 
this rule.  

(a) A person who has  graduated from a CAPTE accredited 
physical therapist or physical therapist assistant program in a 
state or territory of the United States and who is applying for the 
first time to take the licensing examination for Oregon may be 
issued a temporary permit for a period of 90 calendar days.  
Such applicant shall:  
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(A) Submit a completed application for license by examination 
and pay the required fee;  

(B) Submit a completed application for a temporary permit and 
pay the required fee; and  

(C) Submit a Board Certificate of Professional Education 
providing primary source verification of completion of a 
CAPTE accredited physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant program or an official transcript of completion. 

(D) Must have registered and been released to sit for the NPTE. 

(b) A person who holds a valid current license to practice in 
another state or territory of the United States may be issued a 
temporary permit for a period of 60 calendar days.  Such 
applicant shall:  

(A) Provide written primary source verification of current 
licensure in another state or territory;  

(B) Submit a completed application for license by endorsement 
and pay the required fee;  

(C) Submit a completed application for a temporary permit and 
pay the required fee;  

(D) Submit a Board Certificate of Professional Education 
providing primary source verification of completion of a 
CAPTE accredited physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant program or an official transcript of completion; and  

(E) Have passed the physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant examination as provided in OAR 848-010-0020(5).  

(2) A person who holds a temporary permit must practice under 
supervision as provided in this rule.  

(3) A person who holds a temporary permit issued under 
subsection (1)(a) of this rule must practice under on-site 
supervision, which means that at all times a supervising 
therapist is in the same building and immediately available for 
consultation. Entries made in the patient record by a temporary 
permit holder must be authenticated by the permit holder and by 
a supervising therapist.  

(4) A person who holds a temporary permit issued under 
subsection (1)(b) of this rule must practice under general 
supervision, which means that at all times a supervising 
therapist must be readily available for consultation, either in 
person or by telecommunication.  

(5) As used in this rule, "supervising therapist" means an 
Oregon licensed physical therapist if the permit holder is a 
physical therapist or a physical therapist assistant. "Supervising 
therapist" also means an Oregon licensed physical therapist 
assistant if the permit holder is a physical therapist assistant. A 

physical therapist assistant may not supervise a physical 
therapist permit holder.  

(6) If a physical therapist assistant is supervising a physical 
therapist assistant permit holder, a physical therapist must be 
readily available for consultation, either in person or by 
telecommunication, as provided in OAR 848-015-0020.  

(7) Within five (5) working days of beginning practice the 
permit holder must submit to the Board a completed 
"Temporary Permit Letter from Employer" form. The permit 
holder must notify the Board of any change in employment 
during the period of the temporary permit by submitting a new 
"Temporary Permit Letter from Employer" within five (5) 
working days.  

(8) A temporary permit issued under this rule shall terminate 
automatically by operation of law if the permit holder fails the 
Board-approved national licensing examination or the person's 
score on the Board-approved national licensing examination 
taken for purposes of licensure in another state or territory does 
not meet Oregon Board requirements. A permit holder must 
return the permit certificate to the Board immediately, by a 
method that provides delivery verification, upon notification 
that the permit has terminated.  

(9) The Board may refuse to issue a temporary permit to an 
applicant or may revoke a permit after issuance on any of the 
grounds set out in OAR 848-010-0044 or 848-045-0020. A 
person whose permit is revoked must return the certificate to the 
Board immediately by a method that provides delivery 
verification.  

(10) A permit holder whose permit has terminated or has been 
revoked is not eligible to apply for another permit.  

(11) A person who has taken and failed the Board-approved 
national licensing examination is not eligible to apply for a 
temporary permit. A person who has failed and has not 
subsequently passed the national licensing examination in 
another state, or whose score on the examination taken for 
purposes of licensure in another state or territory does not meet 
Oregon Board requirements, is not eligible to apply for a 
temporary permit.  

(12) In its discretion the Board may grant one 60 calendar day 
extension to a person who holds a temporary permit.  

(13) A person who holds a temporary permit issued under this 
rule is subject to all statutes and rules governing a licensee. 
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848-010-0033  
Yearly Renewal of License Required   
 

(1) All physical therapist and physical therapist assistant 
licenses expire on March 31 of each calendar year, regardless of 
the initial issue date. Physical therapists and physical therapist 
assistants must annually renew their licenses to practice 
effective April 1 of each year. A license is considered lapsed if a 
completed renewal application is postmarked or received after 
March 31. A person whose license has lapsed must immediately 
stop practicing as a physical therapist or a physical therapist 
assistant and shall not practice until the license is renewed. 

(2) The annual renewal period shall be January 1st through 
March 31st of each calendar year.  The Board will provide 
renewal notification to all current licensees during the month of 
January.  

(3) If the completed license renewal application is 
postmarked or actually received by the Board after March 31, 
the licensee is subject to a lapsed license renewal fee as 
provided in OAR 848-005-0020(1)(e) in addition to the license 
renewal fee.  

(4) A licensed physical therapist must complete the renewal 
application process and pay the renewal fee provided in OAR 
848-005-0020(1)(c).  

(5) A licensed physical therapist assistant must complete the 
renewal application process and pay the renewal fee provided in 
OAR 848-005-0020(1)(d). 

(6) Each currently licensed physical therapist and physical 
therapist assistant must complete the continuing competence 
requirements as provided in Division 35 of these rules by March 
31st of each even-numbered year.  
 
848-010-0035  
Renewal of Lapsed Licenses  

(1) Any license that is not renewed before April 1 of each year 
shall automatically lapse. No person whose license has lapsed 
shall practice until the license is renewed. Failure to receive a 
renewal notice shall not excuse any licensee from the 
requirements of renewal. The Board may renew any lapsed 
license upon payment of all past unpaid renewal fees, payment 
of a single lapsed license renewal fee as provided in OAR 848-
005-0020(1)(e) and, if applicable, documentation of completion 
of the continuing competence requirements as provided in OAR 
848-035-0020(5).  An applicant whose license has lapsed for 
non-completion of the continuing competence requirements may 
reinstate the lapsed license upon completion of the requirements 
for the immediately prior certification period.  Continuing 
competence hours earned after March 31 of the even-numbered 
year to fulfill the requirements necessary to reinstate the lapsed 
license shall apply only to the prior certification period. 

(2) Any individual reinstating a license that has been lapsed 
between two to five years must show evidence of completion of 
a minimum of 24 hours of continuing competency during the 24 
months immediately prior to the reinstatement date.  However, a 
candidate for reinstatement who holds a current license in 
another state or jurisdiction which has a requirement for 
continuing competence or continuing education and who has 

completed that requirement, shall be exempt from the 
requirements of this subsection. 

 (3) In the event that an applicant's Oregon physical therapy 
license has lapsed for five or more consecutive years, the 
applicant must demonstrate competence to practice physical 
therapy. If the applicant fails to demonstrate competence, the 
Board may require the applicant to serve an internship under a 
restricted license or satisfactorily complete a refresher course 
approved by the Board, or both, at the discretion of the Board. 
The Board may also require the applicant to pass an 
examination approved by the Physical Therapist Licensing 
Board as provided in OAR 848-010-0015.  

 (4) If the applicant holds a current physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant license in another state or jurisdiction and the 
applicant's Oregon license has lapsed for five or more 
consecutive years, the applicant may apply for a license by 
endorsement as provided in OAR 848-010-0020. 

848-010-0044  
Grounds for Refusal to License an Applicant 
 
After notice and opportunity for hearing as provided in ORS 
688.145, the Board may refuse to license, or may limit or 
restrict the license of an applicant who:  

(1) Is not a person of good moral character as provided in 
OAR 848-045-0020(2)(i);  

(2) Willfully made a false statement on the application;  
(3) Failed to disclose requested information or provided 

false or materially misleading information on the application or 
during the process of applying for a license or temporary permit;  

(4) Has practiced physical therapy without a license or has 
purported to be a therapist in violation of ORS 688.020;  

(5) Has a mental, emotional or physical condition which 
impairs the applicant's ability or competency to practice 
physical therapy in a manner consistent with the public health 
and safety;  

(6) Has an addiction to or a dependency on alcohol, legend 
drugs or controlled substances which impairs the applicant's 
ability or competency to practice physical therapy in a manner 
consistent with the public health and safety;  

(7) Has been disciplined or had an application for licensure 
refused by another Oregon state licensing board or out-of-state 
licensing board for an act which if committed in Oregon would 
be grounds for discipline under ORS 688.140 or OAR 848-045-
0020;  

(8) Has been convicted of violating any federal law or state 
law relating to controlled substances, subject to the provisions 
of ORS 670.280(2); or  

(9) Has been convicted of any crime that is a felony or 
misdemeanor under the laws of any state or of the United States, 
subject to the provisions of ORS 670.280(2).  
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DIVISION 15 

PHYSICAL THERAPIST ASSISTANTS 
 
848-015-0010  
Definitions  
 

(1) Under ORS 688.010(4), a physical therapist assistant is 
defined as a person who assists a physical therapist in the 
administration of physical therapy. The physical therapist 
assistant's function is to assist the physical therapist in patient-
related activities and to perform delegated procedures that are 
commensurate with the physical therapist assistant's education, 
training, experience, and skill.  

(2) "Supervising physical therapist" means either the last 
physical therapist to see the patient, or the physical therapist 
designated as in charge of the patient on the day the patient is 
being treated.  
 
848-015-0020  
Scope of Practice  
 

(1) For purposes of the provision of physical therapy 
services, a physical therapist assistant shall practice solely under 
the clinical supervision and direction of a physical therapist.  

(2) A physical therapist assistant may provide physical 
therapy treatment only when a supervising physical therapist is 
available. As used in this rule "available" means that at all times 
a supervising physical therapist is readily accessible for 
consultation with the assistant, either in person or by means of 
telecommunications.  

(3) A physical therapist assistant may provide physical 
therapy treatment only after a physical therapist has performed 
an initial evaluation and prepared a plan of care. 

(4) A physical therapist assistant may prepare a final 
summary of a patient's physical therapy status upon discharge as 
provided in OAR 848-040-0165.  

(5) A physical therapist assistant shall practice in 
compliance with the standards set out in Division 40 of these 
rules.  

(6) If authorized by a supervising physical therapist, a 
physical therapist assistant may provide limited services to a 
student in a school setting for up to 10 school days after the date 
when a reassessment is required to be performed under OAR 
848-0040-0155(2)(b) or (c). The services that may be provided 
under this paragraph are limited to coordinating with other 
persons and instructing a teacher or educational or instructional 
assistant or nursing aide in physical management strategies to 
insure that the student can access the classroom and related 
educational services in compliance with and continued 
implementation of the student's individualized education plan as 
defined in OAR 848-040-0100(3). 
 
848-015-0030  
Prohibited Acts 
 

(1) A physical therapist assistant shall not:  
(a) Perform an initial evaluation.  
(b) Perform the required reassessment provided in OAR 

848-040-0155. However, a physical therapist assistant may 
participate with the physical therapist in gathering data to be 

included in the required reassessment of a patient for whom the 
assistant has been providing treatment.  

(c) Independently make modifications to the plan of care or 
objective goals. However, an assistant may collaborate with the 
physical therapist in making modifications or changes to the 
plan of care or goals based on the assistant's treatment of that 
patient and the patient's condition, progress or response to the 
treatment.  

(d) Independently make the decision to discharge a patient 
from therapy. However, a physical therapist assistant may make 
recommendations regarding discharge to the supervising 
physical therapist based on the assistant's treatment of the 
patient.  

(e) Perform high velocity manipulation of the spine or 
peripheral joints.  

(2) As provided in ORS 688.020(2), no person shall practice 
as a physical therapist assistant unless that person is licensed 
under ORS 688.090.  
 

DIVISION 20 
PHYSICAL THERAPIST AIDES 

 
848-020-0000  
Definitions  
 

As used in this division:  
(1) "Physical therapist aide" or "aide" means a person who is 

not licensed as a physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant, who aids a physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant by performing treatment-related tasks or by performing 
non-treatment, patient-related tasks. Although they may be 
providing services to a patient pursuant to direction or 
instruction from a physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant, the following persons are not considered physical 
therapist aides: 

(a) Educational or instructional aides or assistants working 
in a school setting; or  

(b) Nurses aides, restorative aides or personal care assistants. 
Persons performing facility maintenance, equipment assembly 
and maintenance, housekeeping, clerical, or other similar tasks 
are not considered aides.  

(2) "Physical therapist" or "physical therapist assistant" 
includes a person who holds a temporary permit issued under 
OAR 848-010-0026.  

(3) "Treatment-related task" means a physical therapy 
service rendered directly to a patient.  

(4) "Non-treatment, patient-related task" means a task 
related to preparation of treatment areas, transport of patients, 
preparation of patients for treatment and other patient-related 
tasks.  

(5) "Supervise" means to provide the amount of personal 
direction, assistance, advice and instruction necessary to 
reasonably assure that the supervisee provides the patient 
competent physical therapy services, given the supervisor's 
actual knowledge of the supervisee's ability, training and 
experiences. Additionally, supervision of:  

(a) A treatment-related task requires that the supervising 
physical therapist or physical therapist assistant be in the same 
building and within sight or earshot of the aide who is 
performing the treatment-related task, such that the supervising 
physical therapist or physical therapist assistant is immediately 
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available at all times to provide in person direction, assistance, 
advice, or instruction to the aide or the patient. A physical 
therapist may delegate supervision of an aide to a physical 
therapist assistant;  

(b) A non-treatment, patient-related task requires that the 
supervising physical therapist or physical therapist assistant be 
in the building where the aide is performing the task.  

(6) "Authentication" means the process by which the 
licensee reviews and validates the accuracy of the record entry. 
By authenticating a record entry, the licensee certifies that the 
services described were performed by the authenticating 
licensee or performed by a person under that licensee's 
supervision.  
 
848-020-0010  
Eligibility Standards  
 

A physical therapist aide shall: 
(1) Be at least 18 years of age. 
(2) Have received a high school diploma or equivalent. 

 
848-020-0030  
Supervision; Delegation of Supervision; Professional 
Responsibility of Supervisors and Supervisees 
 

(1) The physical therapist shall supervise the physical 
therapist aide in each treatment task and each non-treatment, 
patient-related task assigned to the aide. The supervising 
physical therapist may delegate to a physical therapist assistant 
supervision of the aide.  

(2) A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant shall 
not permit an aide to perform a treatment-related task or a non-
treatment, patient-related task except under the supervision of a 
physical therapist or physical therapist assistant. A licensee shall 
not permit an aide to administer a task that is prohibited under 
OAR 848-020-0060, and shall not permit an aide to administer a 
non-prohibited procedure or modality to a patient unless a 
licensee has previously administered the entire specific 
procedure or modality to the patient.  

(3) A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant may 
supervise a maximum total of two physical therapist aides, when 
the aides are performing treatment-related tasks. In addition, a 
physical therapist or physical therapist assistant may supervise 
additional aides who are not performing treatment related tasks.  

(4) Use of an aide to perform tasks as allowed by this rule 
shall not constitute a violation of OAR 848-045-0020(2)(s).  

(5) A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant is 
responsible for the competent performance of tasks assigned to 
an aide whom the physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant is supervising as provided in OAR 848-020-0000(5).  

(6) A physical therapist assistant is always also 
professionally responsible for all acts and omissions of each 
aide under the physical therapist assistant's supervision.  
 
848-020-0040  
Training 
 

(1) Prior to allowing a physical therapist aide to perform any 
treatment-related task, the supervising physical therapist shall 
assure that the aide has undertaken 40 hours of on-the-job 
training as follows: 

(a) A minimum of 10 hours of instruction on 
professional/medical ethics, patient confidentiality, universal 
precautions, body mechanics, physical medicine terminology 
and safety procedures; 

(b) A minimum of 30 hours of instruction in the facility in 
areas appropriate to that particular physical therapy facility, 
including but not limited to precautions and contraindications 
for physical therapy treatments routinely provided at the facility, 
and supervised practical applications of appropriate treatment 
protocols and techniques. Changes in employment shall require 
another 30 hours of instruction appropriate to that facility; 

(c) However, physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant students, upon successful completion of the first year 
of study, may be employed as an aide with a minimum of 8 
hours of instruction appropriate to that facility; 

(d) A person who has successfully completed a CAPTE 
accredited physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 
program, may be employed as an aide with a minimum of 8 
hours of instruction appropriate to that facility. 

(2) The supervising physical therapist shall be responsible 
for documentation of the training for each aide, and shall 
maintain this documentation at the facility for a minimum of 5 
years after termination of employment and make it available to 
the Board upon request. The supervising physical therapist also 
shall respond to any inquiry by the Board concerning the 
training provided to an aide. The aide training record shall 
include but not be limited to: 

(a) Aide position description; 
(b) Policies and procedures clearly stating the aide's duties, 

as set forth in OAR 848-020-0060; 
(c) Training schedule, which includes but is not limited to: 
(A) Start date for the training; 
(B) Activity/description of training; 
(C) Amount of time spent on training for each activity; 
(D) Date training is complete; 
(E) Names of instructors and aide, including signature of 

each instructor and aide; 
(F) If applicable, documentation of training received outside 

of the facility in the form of a letter or copies of the previous 
training record. Documentation must include the level of 
responsibility of the aide. 
 
848-020-0050  
Assignment of Tasks to Aides 
 

(1) A supervising physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant may assign treatment-related tasks and non-treatment, 
patient-related tasks to an aide. 

(2) Prior to allowing an aide to perform any treatment-
related task: 

(a) The physical therapist must provide an initial evaluation 
of the patient and develop a plan of care; 

(b) The physical therapist or physical therapist assistant shall 
assess the competence of the aide to perform an assigned 
treatment-related task for that patient in a safe and effective 
manner; 

(c) The physical therapist or physical therapist assistant must 
assign only those tasks which are appropriate for the aide to 
perform for that patient based on the aide's training, experience 
and ability. 
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(3) When a treatment-related task is performed by an aide, 

the supervising physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 
shall, at some point during each treatment, provide direct service 
to the patient to assess and monitor the patient's progress, and so 
document in the patient's record. 
 
848-020-0060  
Prohibited Treatment-Related Tasks 
 

A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant shall not 
permit an aide to perform any of the following treatment-related 
tasks:  

(1) Administer iontophoresis. However, an aide who has 
been trained to do so may assist with iontophoresis by applying 
the medication to the electrode so long as a physical therapist or 
physical therapist assistant administers it to the patient.  

(2) Administer phonophoresis. However, an aide may 
operate the sound head if the physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant has applied the medication to the patient, 
determined the treatment protocols and parameters, as provided 
in the plan of care, and authorizes the aide to provide the 
treatment.  

(3) Administer electrotherapy. However an aide may 
perform this task if the physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant has examined the patient in person on the day of 
treatment and determined the electrode placements, treatment 
protocols and parameters, as provided in the plan of care, and 
authorizes the aide to provide the treatment.  

(4) Administer ultrasound. However an aide may perform 
this task if the physical therapist or physical therapist assistant 
has examined the patient in person on the day of treatment and 
determined the treatment protocols and parameters, as provided 
in the plan of care, and authorizes the aide to provide the 
treatment.  

(5) Administer mechanized or manual traction.  
(6) Perform manual stretching with the goal of increasing 

range of motion, neuro-facilitation or cardiac therapeutic 
exercise.  

(7) Perform soft tissue mobilization or massage (other than 
effleurage and petrissage). However, an aide who is separately 
licensed or registered under another Oregon statute to do so may 
perform these tasks if done under the direction and on-site 
supervision specified in OAR 848-020-0000(5)(a).  

(8) Wound debridement.  
(9) Administer tilt table or standing frame. However an aide 

may perform these tasks if the physical therapist or physical 
therapist assistant has examined the patient in person on the day 
of treatment and determined the treatment protocols and 
parameters, as provided in the plan of care, and authorizes the 
aide to provide the treatment.  

(10) Joint mobilization or manipulation.  
(11) Determine or modify a plan of care.  
(12) Initiate or administer a physical therapy intervention the 

first time that intervention is administered or provided to a 
patient. This prohibition means that a physical therapist or 
physical therapist assistant must provide or administer the entire 
specific intervention before delegating that task to an aide.  

(13) Independently make entries in a patient record, except 
for objective information about the treatment provided by the 
aide. The aide shall sign the record entry as provided in OAR 
848-040-0150(2). A physical therapist or physical therapist 

assistant may also dictate information to an aide for entry into a 
patient medical record, so long as the physical therapist or 
physical therapist assistant authenticates such entries.  

(14) Instruct a patient or a patient's caregiver in the 
application of any treatment.  

(15) Except as required to respond to an inquiry by the 
Board or other person authorized to receive the information, 
answer or discuss any questions regarding a patient's status or 
treatment with anyone other than the physical therapist or 
physical therapist assistant.  

 
 

DIVISION 35 
CONTINUING EDUCATION 

 
848-035-0010  
Purpose 
  

The 2005 Oregon Legislation gave new authority to the Physical 
Therapist Licensing Board, effective January 1, 2006, to adopt rules 
establishing minimum continuing education requirements for all 
licensees. The following rules set out the new requirements. 

 
848-035-0015  
Definitions 
 As used in this Division:  

(1) "Certification period" means a 24 month continuing education 
certification period which runs from April 1st of each even numbered 
year, through March 31st of the next even numbered year, i.e. April 1, 
2008 through March 31, 2010.  

(2) "Initial Certification Period" means January 1, 2006 through 
March 31, 2008.  

(3) "Hours" means contact hours.  
 
848-035-0020  
Required Hours and Period for Completion  
 

(1) A licensed physical therapist is required within each 
certification period to complete 24 hours of continuing education 
relating to the delivery or provision of physical therapy services.  

(2) A licensed physical therapist assistant is required within each 
certification period to complete 12 hours of continuing education 
relating to the delivery or provision of physical therapy services.  

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (1) of this rule, 
any person who is first issued an Oregon physical therapist license 
through examination pursuant to OAR 848-010-0015, or through 
endorsement pursuant to OAR 848-010-0020, anytime during the first 
year of a certification period (April 1st of an even numbered year 
through March 31st of an odd numbered year), must complete the full 
24 hours of continuing education required for that certification period. 
A person who is first issued an Oregon physical therapist license 
anytime during the second year of a certification period (April 1st of an 
odd numbered year through March 31st of an even numbered year), 
must complete one-half (12 hours) of the continuing education required 
for that certification period. Thereafter, such licensees must complete 
the same continuing education requirements as other licensees who 
hold the same license.  

(4) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (2) of this rule, 
any person who is first issued an Oregon physical therapist assistant 
license through examination pursuant to OAR 848-010-0015, or 
through endorsement pursuant to OAR 848-010-0020, anytime during 
the first year of a certification period (April 1st of an even numbered 
year through March 31st of an odd numbered year), must complete the 
full 12 hours of continuing education required for that certification 
period. A person who is first issued an Oregon physical therapist 
assistant license anytime during the second year of a certification 
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period (April 1st of an odd numbered year through March 31st of an 
even numbered year), must complete one-half (6 hours) of the 
continuing education required for that certification period. Thereafter, 
such licensees must complete the same continuing education 
requirements as other licensees who hold the same license.  

(5) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (1) of this rule, a 
physical therapist whose Oregon license has lapsed pursuant to OAR 
848-010-0033(1), and who subsequently renews the lapsed license 
pursuant to OAR 848-010-0035, anytime during the first year of a new 
certification period (April 1st of an even numbered year through March 
31st of an odd numbered year), must complete the full 24 hours of 
continuing education required for that certification period. A person 
whose lapsed physical therapist license is renewed anytime during the 
second year of a certification period (April 1st of an odd numbered year 
through March 31st of an even numbered year), must complete one-half 
(12 hours) of the continuing education required for that certification 
period. However, if a person who is renewing a lapsed license practiced 
in Oregon at any time while the person's license was lapsed, the person 
must complete the full 24 hours of continuing education required for 
the certification period. Thereafter, such licensees must complete the 
same continuing education requirements as other licensees who hold 
the same license.  

(6) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsection (2) of this rule, a 
physical therapist assistant whose Oregon license has lapsed pursuant 
to OAR 848-010-0033(1), and who subsequently renews the lapsed 
license pursuant to 848-010-0035, anytime during the first year of a 
new certification period (April 1st of an even numbered year through 
March 31st of an odd numbered year), must complete the full 12 hours 
of continuing education required for that certification period. A person 
whose lapsed physical therapist assistant license is renewed anytime 
during the second year of a certification period (April 1st of an odd 
numbered year through March 31st of an even numbered year), must 
complete one-half (6 hours) of the continuing education required for 
that certification period. However, if a person who is renewing a lapsed 
license practiced in Oregon at any time while the person's license was 
lapsed, the person must complete the full 12 hours of continuing 
education required for the certification period. Thereafter, such 
licensees must complete the same continuing education requirements as 
other licensees who hold the same license.  

(7) Any licensee whose license lapses on April 1st of an even 
numbered year, regardless of the reason, and who subsequently renews 
the lapsed license during the first 12 months of a new certification 
period, shall provide documentation of completion of the continuing 
education requirements for the immediately prior certification period 
before the license will be renewed.  

(8) For purposes of determining whether a licensee has satisfied the 
continuing education requirement under section (3), (4), (5) or (6) of 
this rule, the Licensing Board will accept all qualifying continuing 
education hours completed from the beginning date of the 24 month 
certification period in which the license was issued or renewed, 
regardless of the specific date the license was issued or renewed. For 
example, a person whose license is issued or renewed on June 15, 2009 
will receive credit for all qualifying continuing education hours 
completed at any time during the certification period of April 1, 2008 to 
March 31, 2010. This includes continuing education taken by student 
physical therapists or student physical therapist assistants, outside their 
program requirements, while they are enrolled in a physical therapy 
program.  

(9) The initial certification period for a licensee to complete the 
required hours shall be January 1, 2006, through and including March 
31, 2008. Thereafter, each twenty-four month period for completion of 
the required hours shall be April 1st of the even numbered year through 
March 31st of the next even numbered year. For example, the second 
twenty-four month period will be from April 1, 2008, through March 
31, 2010.  

(10) Failure to complete the required continuing education by 
March 31st of an even-numbered year shall constitute a violation of this 
division 35. 

(11)  Notwithstanding the provisions of this rule and OAR 848-
010-0033(6), a physical therapist or physical therapist assistant who is 
renewing a license during an even numbered year and who was first 
licensed in Oregon between January 1st to and including March 31st of 
that even numbered year, is not required to complete continuing 
education for the current certification period.  Thereafter such licensees 
shall be subject to the continuing education requirement for all 
subsequent continuing education certification periods.  

 
848-035-0030 
Course Requirements and Restrictions 
 

(1) Courses which a licensee may take to satisfy the continuing 
education requirement include but are not limited to:  

(a) Courses, seminars, and workshops sponsored or approved by an 
established and recognized medical or dental health-related 
organization or professional association recognized by the Board;  

(b) Courses approved for continuing education by other states 
which require continuing education for physical therapists or physical 
therapist assistants;  

(c) Courses certified for continuing education units (CEU) by a 
recognized physical therapy professional association;  

(d) Courses provided by an accredited institution of higher 
education other than courses taken as part of the curriculum 
requirements of a CAPTE accredited physical therapy program;  

(e) Individual study courses requiring an examination and 
recognized by an accredited institution or recognized health-related 
organization or professional association recognized by the Board;  

(f) Courses in cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) however, 
continuing education credit will be limited to one hour, regardless of 
the length of the course;  

(g) Courses or lectures which a licensee presents if the course or 
lecture presented awards continuing education units or hours to 
participants and the licensee requests continuing education credit from 
the Board;  

(A) The licensee may receive continuing education units or hours 
equivalent to the actual credit hours awarded to participants for that 
portion of the program which the licensee presents;  

(B) The maximum cumulative credit granted for presenting courses 
or lectures shall be no more than one half of the total continuing 
education requirement during any certification period (ie: 12 hours for 
physical therapists and 6 hours for physical therapist assistants) and;  

(C) A licensee may receive credit for presenting a particular course 
or lecture only one time during any certification period, regardless of 
how many times the licensee presents that course or lecture; and  

(h) Courses approved by the Board by special request.  
(2) Activities which will not satisfy the continuing education 

requirement include:  
(a) Orientation and in service programs;  
(b) Professional association meetings for purposes of business or 

policy decisions making;  
(c) Entertainment or recreational meetings;  
(d) Attending meetings, holding office, or representing a 

professional association as a lobbyist or delegate;  
(e) Publishing or preparing presentations.  

 
848-035-0035  
Pain Management Course Requirement for Physical Therapists  
 

(1) Effective January 2, 2008, all Oregon licensed physical 
therapists must fulfill a one- time only pain management education 
requirement as defined in ORS 409.500.  
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(2) Physical therapists initially licensed on or before March 31, 

2008 must complete the coursework requirement between January 1, 
2006 and March 31, 2010.  

(3) Physical therapists licensed on or after April 1, 2008 must 
complete the coursework requirement within a period of 24 months 
either before or after the first renewal of their physical therapist license.  

(4) The requirement is seven hours of pain management education, 
including the completion of a one hour on-line pain management 
course sponsored and provided by the Oregon Pain Management 
Commission, plus an additional six hours of continuing education 
relative to the evaluation, diagnosis or treatment of pain.  

(5) The seven hours of pain management education may be used to 
satisfy part of the physical therapist’s continuing education requirement 
under OAR 848-035-0020 for the current period. However, pain 
management education hours taken in a prior certification period and 
used to satisfy the pain management requirement cannot be used to 
satisfy part of the continuing education requirement for the current 
certification period.  

(6) Physical Therapist Assistants are exempt from the pain 
management education requirement.  
 
848-035-0040  
Documentation of Continuing Education Credits 
 

(1) In order to qualify for credit against the required hours, a 
continuing education course must include a course completion 
certificate. The certificate must include the title of the course, the name 
of course provider or speaker, date of completion, number of hours and 
licensee's name.  

(2) The licensee is responsible for obtaining a course completion 
certificate from the course provider. The licensee is further responsible 
for retaining the certificate in the event the Board requires the licensee 
to produce documentation of completion of the continuing education 
requirement. All completion certificates shall be retained for a 
minimum of four (4) years from the certificate date.  

(3) The Board may require all or any percentage of physical 
therapists and physical therapist assistants who are renewing their 
licenses in the even numbered year to provide documentation of 
completion of the continuing education requirements of this division 
35. 
 
 

DIVISION 40 
MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR PHYSICAL THERAPY 

PRACTICE AND RECORDS 
 
848-040-0100  
Definitions  
 

As used in this Division:  
(1) "Authentication" means the process by which the 

licensee reviews and validates the accuracy of the record entry. 
By authenticating a record entry, the licensee certifies that the 
services described were performed by the authenticating 
licensee or performed by a person under that licensee's 
supervision.  

(2) "IDEA" means Individuals with Disabilities Education 
Improvement Act.  

(3) "IEP" means an Individualized Education Plan developed 
for a child/student qualified under the IDEA program.  

(4) "IFSP" means an Individualized Family Services Plan 
developed for a child qualified under the IDEA Early 
Intervention Program.  

(5) "Licensee" means a physical therapist or a physical 
therapist assistant and includes a temporary permit holder.  

(6) "Patient" means one who seeks and receives physical 
therapy services. For purposes of these rules, patient may 
include a person receiving services in a home or clinical setting, 
a student in a school setting, a child receiving early intervention 
services, a resident of a care facility, or an animal.  

(7) "Permanent Record" means the final version of the 
record of each evaluation, reassessment or treatment provided to 
a patient which becomes part of the patient's medical record.  

(8) “Physical therapy intervention” means a treatment or 
procedure and includes but is not limited to: therapeutic 
exercise; gait and locomotion training; neuromuscular 
reeducation; manual therapy techniques (including manual 
lymphatic drainage, manual traction, connective tissue and 
therapeutic massage, mobilization/manipulation of soft tissue or 
spinal or peripheral joints, and passive range of motion); 
functional training related to physical movement and mobility in 
self-care and home management (including activities of daily 
living (ADL) and instrumental activities of daily living 
(IADL)); functional training related to physical movement and 
mobility in work (job/school/play), community, and leisure 
integration or reintegration (including IADL, work hardening, 
and work conditioning); prescription, application, and, as 
appropriate, fabrication of devices and equipment (assistive, 
adaptive, orthotic, protective, or supportive); airway clearance 
techniques; integumentary repair and protective techniques; 
electrotherapeutic modalities; physical agents and mechanical 
modalities; and patient related instruction and education.  

(9) "Plan of care" means a written course of physical therapy 
treatment established by a physical therapist following an initial 
evaluation which integrates the evaluation data collected to 
determine the degree to which physical therapy interventions are 
likely to achieve anticipated goals and expected outcomes.  

(10) "Record" means a written account of the detailed 
information gathered from each evaluation, reassessment, and 
the treatment provided to a patient. This documentation may be 
used to create the separate, permanent record, or it may serve as 
the permanent record.  

(11) "Student" means a child ages 3 to 21 who is enrolled in 
an educational institution and who qualifies for services under 
IDEA or Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act, or other 
designated plan of care, or a child, ages 0-2 who qualifies under 
the IDEA Early Intervention Program. 

(12)  “Student PT or Student PTA” means a person enrolled 
in a CAPTE accredited physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant program and who is providing patient care as part of 
the required clinical education.  
 
848-040-0105  
General Standards for Practice 
  

(1) Licensees shall practice competently. A licensee 
practices competently when the licensee uses that degree of 
care, skill and diligence that would be used by a reasonable, 
careful and prudent licensee under the same or similar 
circumstances. 

(2) A physical therapist must immediately refer a patient to 
an appropriate medical provider if signs or symptoms are 
present that require treatment or diagnosis by such provider or 
for which physical therapy is contraindicated or if treatment for 
the signs or symptoms is outside the knowledge of the physical 
therapist or scope of practice of physical therapy.  
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(3) A licensee shall not delegate to another person any task 

that the person is not legally authorized to perform or is not 
qualified by training and experience to perform. 

(4) A licensee shall not provide treatment intervention that is 
not warranted by the patient's condition. 

(5) A licensee shall respect the privacy and dignity of the 
patient in all aspects of practice.  

(6) A licensee shall comply with the laws and rules 
governing the use and disclosure of a patient's protected health 
information as provided in ORS 192.553-192.581.  

(7) A licensee shall comply with the provisions of ORS 
688.135(3) by displaying a copy of their current license in their 
place(s) of employment in a location accessible to public view, 
or by making a paper or electronic copy readily available upon 
request, or by displaying an electronic verification of current 
status from the Board’s website. 
 
848-040-0110  
General Standards for Record Keeping 
  

(1) The licensee who performs the physical therapy service 
shall prepare a complete and accurate record for every patient, 
regardless of whether compensation is given or received for the 
therapy services and regardless of whether the patient receives 
treatment pursuant to a referral or is self-referred.  

(2) A record shall be prepared on the date a physical therapy 
service is provided.  

(3) The permanent record shall contain information for every 
physical therapy service provided, the date the service was 
provided and the date the entry was made in the record. The 
permanent record of a physical therapy service shall be prepared 
within seven calendar days of the date the service was provided. 

(4) The licensee who performs the physical therapy service 
shall authenticate the permanent record of the service that was 
performed. Authentication may be made by written signature or 
by computer. If authentication is by computer, the licensee shall 
not permit another person to use the licensee's password to 
authenticate the entry. Authentication may not be accomplished 
by the use of initials, except when a record entry identifying an 
error is authenticated. A rubber stamp may not be used to 
authenticate any entry in a patient record.  

(5) Non-licensees, including physical therapist aides, may 
prepare physical therapy treatment-related entries for the 
permanent patient record for authentication by the treating 
licensee. The requirement for authentication shall not apply to 
records not related to physical therapy treatment.  

(6) Either the permanent record or a record prepared on the 
date of service shall be readily accessible to a licensee prior to 
when that licensee provides subsequent treatment to the patient. 
"Readily accessible" means the authenticating licensee is able to 
produce the record immediately upon request.  

(7) All entries shall be legible and permanent handwritten 
records shall be in ink.  

(8) Abbreviations may be used if they are recognized 
standard physical therapy abbreviations or are approved for use 
in the specific practice setting.  

(9) When an error in the permanent record is discovered, the 
error shall be identified and corrected. The erroneous entry shall 
be crossed out, dated and initialed or otherwise identified as an 
error in an equivalent written manner by the author of the 
erroneous entry.  

(10) Late entries or additions to entries in the permanent 
record shall be documented when the omission is discovered 
with the following written at the beginning of the entry: "late 
entry for (date)" or "addendum for (date)" and authenticated;  

(11) Treatment provided by a student physical therapist 
(SPT) may be documented either by the SPT or by the 
supervising therapist. Documentation by a SPT shall be signed 
by the student and authenticated by a supervising physical 
therapist.  

(12) Treatment provided by a student physical therapist 
assistant (SPTA) may be documented either by the SPTA or by 
the supervising therapist or physical therapist assistant.  
Documentation by a SPTA shall be signed by the student and 
authenticated by a supervising physical therapist or supervising 
physical therapist assistant.  

(13) Documentation by a person who holds a physical 
therapist temporary permit issued under OAR 848-010-0026 
(1)(a) or (1)(c) shall be authenticated by the permit holder and 
by a supervising physical therapist.  

(14) Documentation by a person who holds a physical 
therapist assistant temporary permit issued under OAR 848-010-
0026 (1)(a) shall be authenticated by the permit holder and by a 
supervising physical therapist or supervising physical therapist 
assistant.  

(15) For purposes of the Board's enforcement of these rules, 
patient records shall be kept for a minimum of seven years 
measured from the date of the most recent entry.  
 
848-040-0117  
Standards For Authorization To Provide Physical Therapy 
Services 
  As a result of legislative changes effective January 1, 
2014, a physical therapist is no longer required to limit 
treatment of a self-referred patient to 60 days before having to 
refer the patient to a provider identified in ORS 688.132(1).   
 (1) A physical therapist may initiate and provide 
physical therapy to a patient who is either self-referred or 
referred by a “provider of care”, defined in ORS 688.132 as a 
medical doctor, osteopathic physician, chiropractic physician, 
podiatric physician and surgeon, naturopathic physician, dentist, 
physician assistant or nurse practitioner, as follows:  
 (a) The therapist shall treat a self-referred patient in 
accordance with an initial evaluation and treatment plan 
prepared by a physical therapist and shall treat a patient who is 
referred by a provider of care pursuant to the written or oral 
referral or authorization received from the provider.  As used in 
this rule, the term “authorization” includes certification by a 
provider of care of the physical therapist’s plan of care of a 
Medicare patient.  
 (b) If the referral or authorization specifies or identifies 
specific physical therapy interventions, precautions or 
contraindications for therapy, physical therapy shall not be 
provided beyond those specifications or limitations without 
further authorization.  
 (c) If a patient who is being treated pursuant to a 
referral or authorization from a provider of care requests 
treatment for a diagnosis or condition that is different and 
separate from the diagnosis or condition that is the subject of the 
referral, the physical therapist may initiate and provide 
treatment either  in accordance with an initial evaluation and 
treatment plan prepared by a physical therapist or pursuant to an 
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additional written or oral referral or authorization received from 
a provider listed in this section.   
 (d) If a referral or authorization specifies the number of 
treatments or a duration of treatment, the physical therapist may 
treat the patient for that duration and may extend treatment for a 
reasonable period of time if necessary for the patient to receive 
all authorized treatments. 
 (e) A physical therapist shall immediately refer a 
patient to a provider of care if the patient exhibits symptoms: 
            (A)  That require treatment or diagnosis by a provider of 
medical care; 
 (B)  For which physical therapy is contraindicated; 
 (C)  For which the treatment is outside that therapist’s 
knowledge, skill and abilities; or 
 (D)  For which treatment is outside the scope of 
practice of physical therapy. 
 (2) A physical therapist may provide physical therapy 
treatment to an animal under a referral from a veterinarian 
licensed under ORS Chapter 686. The referral must be in 
writing and specify the treatment or therapy to be provided 
pursuant to 686.040(4). The standard of care and documentation 
for physical therapy care to an animal shall be as provided for 
veterinarians under ORS Chapter 686.  

(3) Notwithstanding the provisions of this rule, and 
pursuant to ORS 656.250, a physical therapist shall not provide 
compensable services to an injured worker governed by ORS 
Chapter 656 except as allowed by a governing managed care 
organization contract or as authorized by the worker's attending 
physician.  
 
848-040-0120  
Standards For Record Of Authorization 
 

(1) A written referral received from a provider identified in 
ORS 688.132(1) shall be included in the patient record. In order 
to qualify as an authorization, a written referral must include, at 
a minimum, the name of the patient, the name of the provider, 
authentication by the provider and the date of the referral.  

(2) An oral referral received from a provider identified in 
ORS 688.132(1) shall be documented in the patient record. 
Documentation shall include the name of the provider; the name 
of the person communicating the referral, if not the provider; the 
date the referral was received; the name of the person to whom 
the oral referral was communicated; the name of the patient; and 
a description of the referral, including diagnosis, frequency and 
duration, if specified.  

(3) An oral referral must be followed-up with a written 
referral from the provider.  
 
848-040-0125  
Standards For Initiation Of Physical Therapy  

(1) Prior to initiating the first physical therapy treatment, a 
physical therapist shall perform an initial evaluation of each 
patient and determine a plan of care as provided in OAR 848-
040-0135.  

(2)  For purposes of subsection (1) of this section, a physical 
therapist shall perform a separate initial evaluation under the 
following circumstances: 

(a)  The patient is returning to care after being discharged from 
therapy; or 

(b)  The patient is new to an inpatient or outpatient facility or 
home health agency.  

(3)  In the course of performing an initial evaluation the physical 
therapist shall examine the patient, obtain a history, perform 
relevant system reviews, assess the patient's functional status, 
select and administer specific tests and measurements and 
formulate clinical judgments regarding the patient. A physical 
therapist may incorporate by reference medical history or 
system review information about the patient prepared by another 
licensed health care provider and available in the physical 
therapy treatment record, IEP, IFSP or other designated plan of 
care. 

(4)  Only a physical therapist may perform an initial evaluation. 
A physical therapist shall not delegate the performance of an 
initial evaluation to a physical therapist assistant or to an aide. 

848-040-0130  
Standards For The Documentation Of An Initial Evaluation  
 

The permanent record of the initial evaluation shall include:  
(1) Patient's full name, age and sex; 
(2) Identification number, if appropriate; 
(3) Referral source, including patient self-referral;  
(4) Pertinent medical or physical therapy diagnoses, 

medications if not otherwise accessible in another part of the 
patient's medical record, history of presenting problem and 
current complaints and symptoms, including onset date;  

(5) Prior or concurrent services related to the provision of 
physical therapy services;  

(6) Any co-existing condition that affects either the goals or 
the plan of care;  

(7) Precautions, special problems and contraindications;  
(8) Subjective information (patient's knowledge of problem);  
(9) Patient's goals (with family input or family goals, if 

appropriate). Goals may be as  
provided in an applicable IEP, IFSP, or other designated plan of 
care; and  

(10) Appropriate objective testing results, including but not 
limited to:  

(a) Critical behavior/cognitive status; 
(b) Physical status (e.g., pain, neurological, musculoskeletal, 

cardiovascular, pulmonary);  
(c) Functional status (for Activities of Daily Living, work, 

school, home or sport performance); and  
(d) Interpretation of evaluation results. 

 
848-040-0135  
Standards For The Plan of Care  
 

(1) Prior to initiation of treatment, a physical therapy plan of 
care for the patient shall be determined by a physical therapist. 
As appropriate, a plan of care may include the IFSP, or, in a 
school setting, a plan of care may include the IEP for a student, 
or other designated plan of care. 
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(2) Only a physical therapist may develop a plan of care. A 

physical therapist shall not delegate the development of the plan 
of care to a physical therapist assistant or to an aide.  

(3) A physical therapist shall identify appropriate treatment 
tasks to be delegated to a physical therapist assistant or aide.  

(4) Only a physical therapist may modify a plan of care. 
However, a physical therapist assistant may make 
recommendations to the physical therapist in regards to revision 
of the plan of care for a patient for whom the physical therapist 
assistant has been providing treatment.  

(5) A physical therapist shall make modifications to the plan 
of care any time there are significant changes in the patient's 
condition or status that would affect the physical therapy goals.  
 
848-040-0140  
Standards For The Documentation Of The Plan Of Care 
  

(1) The permanent record of the plan of care shall include:  
(a) Objectively measurable treatment goals that incorporate 

the patient's goals;  
(b) Proposed treatment to accomplish the goals; and  
(c) Proposed frequency and duration of treatment or number 

of visits.  
(2) The permanent record of the plan of care shall be 

authenticated and dated by the physical therapist who developed 
the plan.  
 
848-040-0145  
Standards For Providing Treatment 
 

(1) A licensee shall not permit an aide to administer a task 
that is prohibited under OAR 848-020-0060, and shall not 
permit an aide to administer a non-prohibited procedure or 
modality to a patient unless a licensee has previously 
administered that procedure or modality to the patient.  

(2) A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant shall 
perform, or attempt to perform physical therapy interventions 
only with qualified education and experience in that 
intervention.  

(3) Except as provided in OAR 848-015-0020(6), a physical 
therapist or physical therapist assistant shall not continue to 
provide treatment to a patient unless a reassessment has been 
performed when required by OAR 848-040-0155. However, a 
physical therapist assistant may provide treatment on the day a 
reassessment is required, so long as during that treatment day a 
physical therapist performs the required reassessment.  

(4) A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant shall 
provide treatment in accordance with the provisions of OAR 
848-040-0105.  

(5) At all times there shall be a physical therapist 
supervising the treatment provided by a physical therapist 
assistant as provided in OAR 848-015-0020(2) or an aide as 
provided in 848-020-0000(5). "Supervising physical therapist" 
means either the last physical therapist to see the patient, or the 
physical therapist designated as in-charge of the patient on the 
day the patient is being treated.  
 
848-040-0147  
Standards for Treatment by a Student PT or Student PTA 
 

(1) A physical therapist may allow a student physical 
therapist (SPT) or student physical therapist assistant (SPTA), as 
defined in OAR 848-040-0100(12), to provide treatment 
consistent with the individual student's education, experience 
and skills.  

(2) A physical therapist assistant may allow an SPTA to 
provide treatment consistent with the individual student's 
education, experience and skills.  

(3) At all times, a supervising physical therapist must 
provide on-site supervision of an SPT or SPTA who provides 
treatment to a patient.  

(4) For purposes of this rule "supervising physical therapist" 
means the physical therapist who is responsible for that patient's 
treatment on the day the SPT or SPTA provides treatment.  

(5) For purposes of this rule "on-site supervision" means that 
at all times the supervising physical therapist is in the same 
building and immediately available to provide in person 
direction, assistance, advice or instruction to the student.  

(6) A physical therapist may delegate supervision of an 
SPTA to a physical therapist assistant and the provision of 
subsections (3), (4) and (5) of this rule shall apply to the 
physical therapist assistant.  

(7) Documentation by a student physical therapist (SPT) 
shall be signed by the student and authenticated by a supervising 
physical therapist on the same day. Documentation by a student 
physical therapist assistant (SPTA) shall be signed by the 
student and authenticated by a supervising physical therapist or 
supervising physical therapist assistant on the same day. A 
SPT's documentation must be completed pursuant to OAR 848-
040-0110.  
 
848-040-0150  
Standards For The Documentation of Treatment Provided  
 

(1) The permanent record of treatment for each patient visit 
shall include at a minimum:  

(a) Subjective status of patient;  
(b) Specific treatments and education provided; 
(c) Objective data from tests and measurements conducted;  
(d) Assessment of the patient's response to treatment, 

including but not limited to:  
(A) Patient status, progression or regression; 
(B) Changes in objective and measurable findings as they 

relate to existing goals;  
(C) Adverse reactions to treatment; and 
(e) Changes in the plan of care.  

(2)  When treatment is provided by a physical therapist assistant, 
the physical therapist  assistant shall record and authenticate 
those services.  If the supervising physical therapist records and 
authenticates treatment provided by the physical therapist 
assistant, the physical therapist shall document which services 
were provided that day by the physical therapist assistant.  
When treatment is provided or assisted by an aide, the aide may 
only document in the patient records objective information 
about the treatment provided by the aide.  When a supervising 
physical therapist assistant or supervising physical therapist 
authenticates treatment provided by an aide, the therapist shall 
document which services were provided that day by the aide.   
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848-040-0155  
Standards For Performing The Required Reassessment  
 

(1) A physical therapist shall perform a reassessment for 
each patient to update patient status, evaluate progress and to 
modify or re-direct physical therapy services. In the course of 
performing the required reassessment, the physical therapist 
shall personally examine the patient, assess the patient's 
functional status, select specific tests and measurements, and 
formulate clinical judgments regarding the patient. The physical 
therapist may delegate to a physical therapist assistant the 
gathering of data for the reassessment as provided in OAR 848-
015-0030(1)(b).  

(2) A physical therapist shall perform a reassessment for 
each patient:  

(a) At least every 30 days, or at every visit if the patient is 
seen less frequently;  

(b) At least every 60 school days if the student is being 
treated in an educational setting or at every visit if the student is 
seen less frequently; or  

(c) Anytime there are significant changes in the patient's 
condition or status that would result in a change in the goals or 
the plan of care.  

(3) Only a physical therapist may perform the required 
reassessment. A physical therapist shall not delegate the 
performance of a required reassessment to a physical therapist 
assistant or to an aide.  
 
848-040-0160  
Standards For The Documentation Of The Required 
Reassessment 
  

(1) A physical therapist is required to perform and document 
the reassessment as required under OAR 848-040-0155. 

(2) The permanent record of each reassessment shall include 
at a minimum:  

(a) Subjective status of patient; 
(b) Objective data from tests and measurements conducted;  
(c) Functional status of patient;  
(d) Interpretation of above data;  
(e) Any change in the plan of care; and  
(f) Any change in physical therapy goals (including patient 

goals).  
(3) After a physical therapist performs a reassessment, a 

physical therapist assistant may prepare a summary of the 
patient’s physical therapy status based upon the physical 
therapist’s performance of the required reassessment.  
 
848-040-0165  
Standards For Discharging A Patient From Therapy  
 

(1) A physical therapist shall discharge a patient from 
physical therapy treatment when:  

(a) The patient has reached all physical therapy goals and 
additional goals are not identified;  

(b) The patient will not further benefit from physical therapy 
due to a lack of progress or a plateau in progress; 

(c) The patient declines to continue treatment or self-
discharges;  

(d) Physical therapy is no longer appropriate for the patient 
or is contraindicated secondary to medical or psychosocial 
reasons;  

(e) The referring provider directs or instructs that the patient 
be discharged.  

(2) Only a physical therapist may make the decision to 
discharge a patient from therapy. A physical therapist shall not 
delegate the decision to discharge a patient to a physical 
therapist assistant or to an aide.  

(3) A physical therapist assistant shall not independently 
make the decision to discharge a patient from therapy. However, 
a physical therapist assistant may make recommendations 
regarding discharge to the supervising physical therapist based 
on the physical therapist assistant's treatment of the patient. 
 
848-040-0170  
Standards For Discharge Records 
  

(1) Within 30 days following the patient's last scheduled 
visit or last contact, the physical therapist or physical therapist 
assistant shall document a final summary of the patient's 
physical therapy status upon discharge.  

(2) The discharge summary shall include, but is not limited 
to:  

(a) Date and reason for discharge, or self discharge, if 
known;  

(b) Degree of goal achievement or reasons for goals not 
being achieved;  

(c) Summary of the patient's status at the time of discharge; 
and  

(d) Recommendations for follow-up care, if any. 
 
848-040-0175  
Standards for Screening Services  
 

(1) “Physical therapy screening” means the process of 
determining whether a person or animal would benefit from a 
physical therapy evaluation or referral to another health care 
professional.  

(2) A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant may 
conduct or perform a physical therapy screening of a person 
who is not currently a physical therapy patient.  

(3) A physical therapist or physical therapist assistant shall 
not delegate the performance of a physical therapy screening to 
an aide.  

(4) A screening is not a physical therapy treatment or 
intervention and does not require or involve performance of an 
initial evaluation, preparation of a plan of care, or creation of a 
patient treatment record. 
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DIVISION 45 

GROUNDS FOR DISCIPLINE AND SANCTIONS 
 
848-045-0010  
Authority and Sanctions 

(1) If a licensee practices in a manner detrimental to the public 
health and safety or engages in illegal, unethical or 
unprofessional conduct as defined by the statutes and OAR 848-
045-0020(2), the Board, after notice and opportunity for hearing 
as provided in ORS 688.145, may: 

(a) Suspend or revoke a license or temporary permit. 

(b) Impose a civil penalty not to exceed $5,000, with the penalty 
for non-compliance with continuing competence requirements 
to be as provided in the penalty schedule set out in Appendix A 
of these rules, and the penalty for practicing with a lapsed 
license to be as provided in the penalty schedule set out in 
Appendix B of these rules. 

(c) Impose probation with conditions. 

(d) Impose conditions, restrictions or limitations on practice. 

(e) Reprimand the licensee. 

(f) Impose any other appropriate sanction, including assessment 
of the reasonable costs of a proceeding under ORS 688.145 as a 
civil penalty. Costs include, but are not limited to, the costs of 
investigation, attorney fees, hearing officer costs and the costs 
of discovery. 

(2) A disciplinary sanction imposed against a licensee shall be 
generally consistent with sanctions imposed by the Board 
against other licensees in substantially similar cases. 

(3)  If a licensee has a mental, emotional or physical condition 
which impairs the licensee's ability or competency to practice 
physical therapy in a manner consistent with the public health 
and safety, the Board, after notice and opportunity for hearing as 
provided in ORS 688.145, may suspend or revoke the license or 
temporary permit, impose probation with conditions, or impose 
conditions, restrictions or limitations on practice. 

(4)  As used in this rule, "licensee" includes a temporary permit 
holder. 

848-045-0020  
Grounds for Discipline of a Licensee 
 

(1) The Board may impose a sanction as provided in 848-
045-0010(1) on a licensee for illegal, unethical or 
unprofessional conduct. As used in this rule, "licensee" means a 
physical therapist or a physical therapist assistant, a temporary 
permit holder, and a person who was a licensee at the time the 
illegal, unethical or unprofessional conduct occurred regardless 
of whether the person’s license has lapsed.  

(2) A licensee commits or engages in illegal, unethical or 
unprofessional conduct if the licensee:  

(a) Fails to disclose requested information, conceals material 
facts or provides false or materially misleading information on 
an application or during the application process for a temporary 
permit, license or renewal, or willfully makes a false statement 
on an application;  

(b) Is disciplined by another Oregon state licensing board or 
out-of-state licensing board for conduct which if committed in 
Oregon would be grounds for discipline under this rule;  

(c) Is convicted of violating any federal law or state law 
relating to controlled substances, subject to the provisions of 
ORS 670.280(2);  

(d) Is convicted of any crime that is a felony or misdemeanor 
under the laws of any state or of the United States, subject to the 
provisions of ORS 670.280(2), or fails to notify the Board 
within 10 working days of a conviction of a misdemeanor, or an 
arrest for or conviction of a felony; 

(e) Commits gross negligence or multiple acts of negligence 
in practice. The Board may take into account relevant factors 
and practices, including but not limited to the standard of 
practice generally and currently followed and accepted by 
persons licensed to practice physical therapy in this state, the 
current teachings at accredited physical therapy schools and 
relevant technical reports published in recognized physical 
therapy journals in determining the definition of gross 
negligence;  

(f) Practices physical therapy while under the influence of 
intoxicating liquors or under the influence of a controlled 
substance; 

(g) Has an addiction to or dependency on alcohol, legend 
drugs or controlled substances which impairs the licensee's 
ability or competency to practice physical therapy in a manner 
consistent with the public health and safety;  

(h) Violates the provisions of ORS 688.010 to 688.220 or 
any administrative rule, or violates or fails to comply with any 
order of the Board;  

(i) Engages in any act involving moral turpitude, including, 
but not limited to fraud, deceit, dishonesty, violence, or illegal 
activity undertaken for personal gain, subject to the provisions 
of ORS 670.280(3);  

(j) Unnecessarily exposes a patient's body to the view of the 
therapist or other persons;  

(k) Engages in a conversation with a patient that is not 
necessary for the provision of treatment and that is personally 
intrusive or otherwise inappropriate;  

(L) Commits or engages in any act of sexual misconduct 
involving a patient, including but not limited to any acts or 
statements of a sexual nature that do not contribute to 
appropriate physical therapy treatment;  

(m) Engages in any sexual conduct, including dating, with a 
patient, whether initiated by the patient or the licensee. For 
purposes of this subsection, "patient" includes any person who 
has not been discharged from that therapist's care;  

(n) Obtains or attempts to obtain any fee by fraud or 
misrepresentation, or makes a false or fraudulent claim for 
health care payment as provided in ORS 165.690 to 165.694;  

(o) Engages in exploitation of a patient, which includes but 
is not limited to the following:  

(A) Failure to maintain an appropriate patient/therapist 
relationship;  
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(B) Obtaining or attempting to obtain compensation for 

physical therapy services that were not provided to the patient;  
(C) Provides physical therapy services or participates in 

physical therapy services solely for reasons of personal or 
institutional financial gain;  

(D) Provides physical therapy services under circumstances 
where there is no benefit to be obtained by the patient from such 
services;  

(E) Accepting, soliciting or borrowing anything of more than 
nominal value from a patient or a member of the patient's family 
except for reasonable compensation for physical therapy 
services provided to the patient. Nominal value shall be 
determined in the context of the particular relationship and 
circumstances; or  

(F) Influencing a patient or the patient's family to utilize, 
purchase or rent any equipment based on the direct or indirect 
financial interests of the licensee rather than on the therapeutic 
value to the patient. A licensee who owns or has a direct 
financial interest in an equipment or supply company must 
disclose the interest if the licensee sells or rents the equipment 
or recommends the purchase or rental of the equipment to the 
patient.  

(p) Knowingly makes a false entry or false alteration in a 
patient record;  

(q) Engages in deceptive consumer practices, including but 
not limited to:  

(A) Using, disseminating or publishing any advertising 
matter, promotional literature, testimonial, claim or guarantee 
that is false, misleading or deceptive;  

(B) Practicing under a false, misleading or deceptive name, 
impersonating another licensee or fraudulently using or 
permitting the use of a license number in any way;  

(C) Making a representation as to the licensee's skill or the 
efficacy or value of a treatment that the licensee knows or 
should know is false or misleading; or  

 (r) Practices physical therapy with a lapsed license;  
(s) Knowingly or with reason to know, employs, aids, abets 

or permits any unlicensed person or person with a lapsed license 
to practice physical therapy;  

(t) Fails to report in writing to employer that licensee 
provided physical therapy services while unlicensed or with a 
lapsed license or fails to provide a copy to the Board of such 
report;  

(u) Fails to cooperate with the Board, which includes but is 
not limited to the following:  

(A) Failure to respond fully and truthfully to a question or 
request for information from the Board;  

(B) Failure to provide information or documents to the 
Board within the time specified by the Board;  

(C) Failure to appear and provide information at an 
interview requested by the Board;  

(D) Failure to timely produce and temporarily surrender 
custody of an original patient record requested by the Board and 
which is in the possession or under the control of the licensee, or 
failure to produce all portions of the patient record requested;  

(E) Deceiving or attempting to deceive the Board regarding 
any matter, including by altering or destroying any record or 
document; or  

(F) Failure to comply with the terms, conditions and 
recommendations of a Confidential Advisory Letter as issued by 
the Board;  

(v) Interferes with or uses threats or harassment to delay or 
obstruct any person in providing information or evidence to the 
Board in any matter, investigation, contested case proceeding or 
other legal action instituted by the Board;  

(w) Discharges an employee based primarily on the 
employee's attempt to comply or aid in the compliance with 
Board rules;  

(x) Fails to notify the Board of any conduct by another 
licensee of this Board which reasonably appears to be illegal, 
unethical, unprofessional under the licensing statutes or these 
administrative rules, aids or causes another person, directly or 
indirectly, to violate ORS 688.010 to 688.220 or rules of the 
Board; or 

(y) Fails to notify the appropriate licensing board of any 
conduct by another licensed medical provider when the licensee 
has reasonable cause to believe that the medical provider has 
engaged in prohibited or unprofessional conduct.  Notice must 
occur without undue delay, but in no event later than 10 days 
after the reporting licensee learns of the conduct.  As used in 
this subparagraph, “prohibited conduct” means a criminal act 
against a patient or a criminal act that creates a risk of ham to a 
patient and “ unprofessional conduct” means conduct 
unbecoming a medical provided or detrimental to the best 
interests of the public, including conduct contrary to recognized 
standards of ethics of the medical provider’s profession or 
conduct that endangers the health, safety or welfare of a patient; 
or 

(z) Fails to notify the Board of a change in the licensee's 
name, address, contact telephone number or place of 
employment or business as required by OAR 848-005-0030.  
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VIOLATION  STATUTE/RULE  CIVIL PENALTY 

Fail to return, or late in 
returning, audit summary 

to the Board office by 
date due. 

 
ORS 688.140(2)(a) 

OAR 848-045-
0020(2)(u)(B) 

 $100.00 

Attest to completion of 
CC upon renewal but 
upon audit failed to 
provide satisfactory 

evidence that CC was 
completed. 

 ORS 688.140(2)(c)  $250.00 

Citation for missing CC 
based on number of 

credits needed to 
comply: 

Need 50% or less credits 
to comply 

Need more than 50% of 
credits to comply 

 ORS 688.140(2)(a) 
OAR 848-035-0020(10)  $100.00 

$200.00 

Misrepresenting or 
attempting to 

misrepresent information 
on the CC Audit 
Summary Form. 

 OAR 848-045-
0020(2)(u)(E)  $250.00 minimum, case by 

case 

 
 

 
APPENDEX B – Civil Penalty Schedule for Practicing with a Lapsed License 
 
Physical Therapists 
 

 

1 day to 1 month 
 

$100.00 
 

1 month to 3 months 
 

$250.00 

3 months to 6 months 
 

$500.00 

6 months to 12 months 
 

$1000.00 

Greater than 12 months 
 

Case by case basis 

 
Physical Therapist Assistants 
 

 

1 day to 1 month 
 

$75.00 
 

1 month to 3 months 
 

$187.50 

3 months to 6 months 
 

$375.00 

6 months to 12 months $562.50 
 

Greater than 12 months Case by case basis 
 
 


