
STATE OF OREGON 
PHYSICAL THERAPIST LICENSING BOARD 

800 NE OREGON STREET, SUITE 407 
PORTLAND, OR 97232-2187 

PH. 971.673.0201 – www.ptboard.state.or.us  
 

INSTRUCTIONS for APPLICATION – PT and PTA 
  
 

1. APPLICATION FORM: 
 Complete all sections of the Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board application (type or print legibly).  
 Attach the required photograph to the form. 
 Answer all questions on page 4. Follow instructions for additional documentation for any “yes” answers 3-6.  
 Sign and date the application on the last page. 
 Incomplete applications will be returned. 

 
2. APPLICATION FEE:  Along with the Board application form, applicants must submit a check for the non-refundable application 

fee of $162.00. The check must be made payable to the “Oregon Physical Therapist Licensing Board” or “OPTLB”.  Applications 
will be returned if the appropriate fee is not included. (NOTE: The Board accepts personal checks, bank or cashiers checks, and 
money orders.  Funds must be in US Dollars. There is a charge of $25.00 for a Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) checks returned to the 
Board.) 

 
3. JURISPRUDENCE EXAMINATION:  Complete the Online Jurisprudence Exam and submit.. The Jurisprudence Exam is based on 

the content of the Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR). Copies of the ORS and OAR are 
available on the Board website. Applicants may refer to the ORS and OAR while taking the exam.  The section that pertains to the 
question is noted at the end of each question.  The applicant will be notified of any incorrect answer by email and will be asked to 
resubmit with the correct answer. 
 

4. LICENSURE VERIFICATION:  You must contact each state jurisdiction, where you have ever held a professional healthcare 
license, regardless of status (active, expired, inactive, lapsed, etc.).  You must request a written verification of the license held, with 
that state jurisdiction, be mailed directly to the Oregon Board office at the address noted above.  The Oregon Board does not have a 
specific form to be used.  This verification can be in letter format but must contain an original authorized signature and jurisdiction 
seal. 

 
5. CERTIFICATE OF PROFESSIONAL EDUCATION:  You must provide a copy of the Certificate of Professional Education form 

to the director of your physical therapy program or other appropriate authority, at the institution, where you completed your physical 
therapy program. Your school must complete and submit the Certificate of Professional Education form DIRECTLY to the Oregon 
Physical Therapist Licensing Board, with an original signature and school seal affixed.  The Board will not accept educational 
certificates that have been sent to the Board by the applicant.  Foreign trained PT’s must have a Credential Report submitted directly 
to the Board in lieu of a Certificate of Professional Education. 
 

6.  PT applicants only – You must complete as part of your application the mandatory (OAR 848-035-0035) 1 hour on-line presentation 
by the Oregon Pain Commission.  A copy of the certificate must be submitted with the application.  The link to the module may be 
found on the Board website 
 

7. ENDORSEMENT APPLICANTS -  : NPTE score transfer:  Go on-line at www.fsbpt.org to request the transfer of your national 
examination scores, from the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT),  Oregon Board. If you took the exam prior to 
1996, you will have to contact the Board where you sat the exam and obtain your examination date and your candidate I.D. number.  
Contact FSBPT Examination Services if you need help. 

 
8. EXAMINATION APPLICANTS - FSBPT NATIONAL PHYSICAL THERAPY EXAMINATION (NPTE) REGISTRATION: 

 Applicants must register on-line directly, with the Federation of State Boards of Physical Therapy (FSBPT), to sit for the NPTE.  
For questions regarding exam costs and the NPTE, or for on-line registration, go to www.fsbpt.org. 

 Registration for the NPTE is independent of application for Licensure with the Oregon Board and may be done at any time. 
 The NPTE Candidate’s Handbook may also be downloaded from the FSBPT on-line registration website. 
 Once you register on-line for the NPTE, the Oregon Board will receive an on-line notification from the FSBPT of your 

registration.  If the Oregon Board holds your completed application file, the Board will release your eligibility on-line with the 
FSBPT. At that time, the FSBPT will email your Authorization to Test (ATT) Letter and you can then make arrangements with 
Prometric to sit for the NPTE..  
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