Summary of Exam Requirements
All applicants for LPC and LMFT are required to pass:
- A competency exam; and
- The Oregon law and rules exam.
Please see the grid below for a summary of important examination deadlines and passing requirements.
Applicants must pass— or have passed within 10 years prior to applying for licensure— a Board-approved competency exam. To qualify for a competency exam, an applicant must submit a licensure application and meet the graduate program and coursework requirements. Applicants pay exam fees directly to the examination provider. Passing scores are established by the examining entity or agency verifying passage of its exam. The Board will notify examinees of the results of their examination once received.
Applicants who have taken and passed the exam before applying for licensure must have an official score verification sent directly to the Board. Applicants who passed a competency exam more than 10 years ago must retake and pass a Board-approved exam to qualify for licensure. Exception: Reciprocity applicants only may, instead of retaking the exam, complete continuing education which at minimum meets the requirements described in OAR Chapter 833, Division 80 (40 total clock hours) within the 24 month period prior to application or initial license.
LPC Competency Exam
A licensed professional counselor (LPC) applicant must pass one of the following exams to qualify for licensure:
- National Counselor Examination (NCE);
- National Clinical Mental Health Counselor Examination (NCMHCE); or
- Certified Rehabilitation Counselor Examination (CRC).
LMFT Competency Exam
An LMFT applicant must pass one of the following exams to qualify for licensure:
- The marital and family therapy examination of the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB); or
- The State of California Board of Behavioral Sciences’ Marriage and Family Therapist Written Clinical Examination.
Requesting an Exam
- You are eligible to request to take the competency exam once you have been notified by the Board that your application has been approved (once your application and materials have been reviewed submitted and reviewed for eligibility).
- Submit your request to the Board, and you will receive the necessary forms and instructions.
- Exam fees are not paid to the Board; they are paid directly to the exam service provider.
- In order to qualify for an upcoming exam, applicants must provide all necessary information and forms to the Board for review.
||01/19 – 01/26/2019|
||02/16 – 02/23/2019|
||03/16 – 03/23/2019|
||04/13 – 04/20/2019|
||05/18 – 05/25/2019|
||06/15 – 06/22/2019|
||07/13 – 07/20/2019|
||08/17 – 08/24/2019|
||09/14 – 09/21/2019|
||10/19 – 10/26/2019|
||11/16 – 11/23/2019|
REGISTRATION DEADLINES (NCE & NCMHCE)
Allow 4-6 weeks processing time after the NBCC Assessment Department receives your payment and materials. Candidates may submit registration materials at any time after being approved by the Board, but space is limited. The fees are good for 6 months.
Testing is offered monthly, Monday thru Friday at 9 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Certain sites offer Saturday testing. Exam candidates will be provided a phone number to contact for particular locations and dates. Candidates are scheduled on a first-come, first-served basis. There are four testing locations in Oregon, however, you may test at any of the over 446 assessment centers across the U.S. The four sites in Oregon are located in Beaverton, Medford, Portland, and Salem.
Schedule for 2019 National Counselor Exam and National Clinical Mental Health Counseling Exam:
Candidates who fail the exam must wait at least 3 months from their test date before they can retest. The retest date will depend on the testing schedule and site availability. Candidates will need to contact the Board office for a new registration form.
Transferring an Exam
Competency exams passed within 10 years prior to your Oregon licensure application may be transferred. You will need to request that the applicable exam service send an official exam verification directly to the Board's office.
Law & Rules Examination
You may take the Oregon Law and Rules Examination after you have passed the national competency exam (see above). This is a pass/fail exam consisting of 33 true/false, multiple choice, and fill-in-the-blank questions. You must answer at least 29 questions correctly in order to pass the exam.
You may mail or email your completed exams:
Exam Requirements and Consequences
Requests for special accommodations for disability must be made at the time your written request to take the exam is submitted to the Board. You will need to include a written verification of your disability from a qualified care provider (i.e. a person certified or licensed by the state to provide such services) detailing the nature, extent and duration of your disability and his or her specific recommendation for an accommodation.