This course is mandatory and must be taken within six months of hire for any individual who has been designated as a new building official for a municipality.
The Building Official Certification course is designed for individuals seeking certification from the State of Oregon as a building official, and who meet these two requirements:
- Individual is employed by a municipality and has been appointed to conduct building official or assistant building official duties as needed by the municipality.
- Individual is currently in negotiations with a municipality for employment as a building official or assistant building official. Verification may be required.
Individuals who do not meet one of these two requirements will not be approved to take the course. Course completion is required within six months of the hire or appointment date by a municipality or jurisdiction.
The four-day will review the history of Oregon’s unique regulatory system and address governing laws, program administration, roles and responsibilities, customer service in a regulatory environment, licensing and other topics. The course is taught through an interactive format between the instructor and students. The forth day is set aside for the exam.
This course is currently held online only, Webcam and microphone are required
Course seating is limited to 10 students
Course materials are provided by the division.
Individuals who perform building official duties are required by state law to take this course. (OAR 918-098-1025(3)). This includes assistant building officials or inspection staff designated to perform building official duties in the absence of the building official.
Four days, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
- Days 1-3: 8:00 to 3:00 p.m
- Day 4: 8:00 a.m. to noon
$280 Course fee
$80 State exam application and fee (due upon successful course completion)