Skip to main content

2017-2019 Oregon code change information and registration

During the 2016-2019 inspector certification renewal cycle, several codes have been updated, requiring certification holders to attend code change classes or demonstrate their knowledge through a test for each applicable certification.

In 2017, the Oregon Residential Specialty Code (ORSC), Oregon Electrical Specialty Code (OESC), and the Oregon Plumbing Specialty Code (OPSC) were updated, and BCD offered code change classes across the state. Local building officials were required to ensure that staff completed required ORSC, OPSC and OESC code change courses at that time.

In October 2019, the 2019 Oregon Structural Specialty Code (OSSC) will become effective. This code changed significantly, including a new model energy code. BCD will offer free OSSC code change classes across the state beginning in August.

BCD is also undergoing a major change in technology and will be testing its new licensing software this fall. Given the importance of the Oregon Structural Specialty Code (OSSC) code change, as well as the challenge in timing and technology, BCD has extended the certification renewal deadline out to February 1, 2020 and will offer renewal of OIC and specialty code certification free for all certification holders for this cycle only. In order to stay current, you must still complete an OIC renewal form.. The OIC renewal acknowledgement can be found in the resources at the bottom of this page.

What you need to know

You must submit your OIC renewal form to stay current. There are two options to ensure your certifications remain valid:

  1. Attend all required code change classes for each of your certifications; or
  2. Successfully pass a test in lieu of each required code change class for each certification.

Previously offered classes:

  • Oregon Residential Specialty Code Change (ORSC) – included CAS and CAX
  • Oregon Electrical Specialty Code Change (OESC) – included EI, SEI, and CAE
  • Oregon Plumbing Specialty Code Change (OPSC) – included PI, MGI, SPI and CAP

These classes were offered previously (Oct. 2017-April 2018) and are no longer available. If you did not attend a required code change class during that timeframe you will need to take and pass an examination for each of the certifications you intend to keep prior to February 1, 2020.

Current classes:

  • Oregon Structural Specialty Code Change (OSSC) – includes SIA, SIB, PEA, PEB, and PEF

All commercial structural certification holders who intend to keep their certifications must take a free BCD code change class or you will need to take and pass an examination to demonstrate your knowledge prior to February 1, 2020. See the class schedule below to register now.

Knowledge test:

Tests for all certifications will be available after November 1, 2019. If you did not attend a required code change class, you must pass an examination for each of the certifications you intend to keep. An application and $80 test fee is required for each test. Test scheduling is subject to availability at proctored locations, which is limited over the holidays. Please plan accordingly if you choose not to attend a code change class.

If you have certifications requiring a code change class, you must submit the appropriate renewal form (see below) and demonstrate successful completion of a code change class or passage of the appropriate test for each of your certifications in order to renew those certifications. Individuals who do not meet the renewal requirements will have their certifications expire on February 1, 2020.


2019 OSSC code change class schedule

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how