UPDATE Minor labels
Minor Labels can be purchased online or in person. Pick-up orders are by appointment only, and can be scheduled by calling 503-378-2804. We do not print or process in-person or pick-up orders on Fridays.
What you need to know
Minor labels can be used anywhere in the state of Oregon.
Oregon law prohibits using more than 10 minor labels without reporting installations to the division first.
Labels must be reported within 30 days of being used.
Only licensed contractors can buy minor labels. The contractor responsible for all labels issued to the company, until they are reported online or the unused expired labels are returned to Building Codes Division.
Requirements to purchase minor labels
To set up an online account you will need:
- Building Codes Division (BCD) contractors license
- Construction Contractors Board (CCB) license
- Visa, MasterCard, or Discover
- Telephone number
- Email address
Note: You create your own user ID.
Once you have created your account, you can order minor labels.
Labels are sold in sets of 10. Including surcharges; a set of 10 costs $140. This also includes the inspection fee for one inspection. Minor labels are generally processed and printed within two working days and mailed to you from the office in Salem.
Using minor labels
The labels are preprinted with important information. There is a space for you to fill in the installation date and job description.
When you arrive at a jobsite where you are using a minor label:
- Fill in the specified information and attach the larger portion to the electrical panel before work is started.
- Attach the smaller portion with the label number to the work order.
- Record the installation information for each label
online within 30 days.
- When an inspection has been completed an email notification will be sent with results.
- Some contractors use the
minor label log to keep track of their labels. Do not send in logs.
- Need help? Use the
online user guide.