You are here:
A: You may locate an inmate sentenced to Oregon Department of Corrections by calling VINE (Victim Information Notification Everyday) at (877) 674-8463 or searching through the VINE website.
You may also use the online Oregon Offender Search Tool.
A: Yes. There are two ways crime victims can register for notification of an inmate’s release from prison.
A: Generally speaking, a detainer is a type of hold where one jurisdiction, such as a local county, has untried criminal cases against an offender who is currently incarcerated in Department of Corrections (DOC). The jurisdiction in question will obtain and issue a "detainer" instructing DOC to release the offender to their custody upon release, instead of releasing the offender to Community Corrections.
However, there are some untried detainers that are considered minor, such as misdemeanor detainers, which in some cases will allow the offender to parole to Community Corrections, upon their projected release date, where the minor detainer will be resolved.
In many cases, an untried detainer may be resolved while the offender is still incarcerated within the DOC, and in some of those cases, a prison sentence from the trial may be ran concurrent with the offender's current incarceration. If so, the offender may be released from DOC upon their projected release date to Community Corrections—because the detainer was resolved prior to their projected release date.
A: Oregon Department of Corrections may provide crime victims/survivors the opportunity for a structured face-to-face facilitated meeting with the inmate who harmed them, but both parties must meet program eligibility criteria. These meetings take place in a secure and safe environment, and the facilitators assist victims/survivors in working through the impact of the crime. For more information, please see the “Facilitated Dialogue” section or contact Oregon Department of Corrections Victim Services at (888) 749-8080.
A: If you are being harassed, threatened and/or receiving unwanted communication of any kind from an inmate in an Oregon DOC facility, please contact the superintendent’s office at the facility where the inmate is located, and request that all contact from the inmate cease. DOC staff will assist you in halting contact.
A: When an offender is released from a correctional institution to community supervision, the offender must report to a Community Corrections Parole & Probation Officer. The parole officer's responsibilities are to enforce the rules of supervision, and to assist the offender in a successful reintegration back into the community.
If the offender violates the rules of supervision, they may be placed in jail while the parole officer investigates the violation. A serious violation may result in revocation, which means the offender may be returned to prison. If the violation does not result in revocation, the parole officer may take other actions such as imposing new supervision rules or require the offender to participate in additional treatment or counseling.
A: Six months to release:
Four to six months to release:
Sex offender and arsonists:
75 days or less to release:
30 days to release:
1 to 2 weeks to release:
Day of release:
A: Please contact the Oregon Department of Corrections Victim Services.
A: An inmate in the Oregon Department of Corrections may be placed into “Institution Based Records Office” for many reasons, but the most common reason is when an inmate has a hearing, trial or resentencing hearing at a county jail. When this occurs, the Oregon Department of Corrections will place the inmate’s record in “IBRO” while the inmate is being housed in a different jurisdiction. When the inmate returns to the Oregon Department of Corrections, his location will change from “IBRO” to the current facility in which he returned to.
Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how