Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Renew a License or Registration

Important Changes in 2024

License Renewals

This section applies to licenses.  With changes that will become effective on January 1, 2024, licenses will be renewed biennially (every two years) instead of annually.  Some licensees will have prorated fees and continuing education reporting periods to facilitate this transition. Renewals will still be due on the last day of your birth month, but once the transition is complete, licensees with even-numbered licenses will renew in even-numbered years, and licensees with odd-numbered licenses will renew in odd-numbered years.  Because this begins in 2024, odd-numbered licensees will still renew in 2024, but their fee and continuing education (CE) will be prorated so that they will be on-track to normal biennial renewals beginning in 2025 and subsequent odd-numbered years.

Detailed Info & FAQ for Licensees

Registration Renewals

This section applies to associate registrations.  Registered Associates will remain on a one-year renewal period.  However, note that registrants who promote to licensee during the 2024-25 timeframe will experience the license renewal transition explained above.

Effective January 1, 2024, Registrants will no longer submit supervision reports every six months.  Instead, they will submit annual supervision reports along with their registration renewal.  Clinical hours will no longer be denied when the report is submitted past the due date.

Detailed Info & FAQ for Registered Associates

How to Renew

*Your account will not display a balance owing until after you have completed your renewal questionnaire and healthcare survey (licensees only).

Please review the Portal webpage for more information about the Licensee Portal, including troubleshooting steps. Please try to resolve any issue you may have with renewal by following this guidance before contacting the Board office.

You will receive an initial renewal notice 45 days before your due date.  Paper renewal is no longer an option. 

The Board no longer sends paper or digital license copies. Licensees must log into the Licensee Portal to download a digital wallet card or download the full page verification here. Registered associates do not receive wallet cards. Note that the portal does not open up for renewal until it is 45 days prior to your due date.

Renewal Requirements

  • License renewal occurs biennially and is due by the last day of the licensee's birth month.
  • Associate registration renewal occurs annually following initial registration. Renewal is due each year by the first day of the month of initial registration.
  • When your renewal time approaches, the Board may send you a courtesy renewal reminder that explains the process. However, it is the responsibility of the licensee/registrant to renew on time. Do not wait until the last minute to renew!
  • Keep your email address updated with the Board.  Not only is it required by rule, it will help ensure you receive your courtesy renewal reminder and other messages from the Board.
  • All renewal requirements must be timely received by the Board in order to renew a license or registration:
    • Fully completed renewal form (completion of online renewal), including continuing education information (licensees only) and your explanation to any "yes" response to the character & fitness questions;
    • Full renewal payment, including the OHA survey fee; 
    • Clinical Supervision Report (registered associates only); and
    • Completion of the Health Care Workforce Data Questionnaire (licensees only).
  • Late renewals must pay a delinquent fee within the allotted grace period in addition to the other renewal requirements.
    • Registered Associates: Grace period is after the first day of the month but within the renewal month.
    • Licensees: Grace period is the month following the renewal month.
  • Licensees/Registered Associates that do not complete all of the renewal requirements within their grace period will lapse, and must reapply for licensure and be reauthorized by the Board in order to practice again.  There are no exceptions.  It is unlawful to practice with a lapsed license or associate registration.
  • Please note that renewals which contain a "yes" answer to a declaration question must be manually reviewed by our compliance staff. Renewals which require a manual review are subject to longer processing times. Our compliance staff's contact information can be found here.

When Do I Report CEs?

  • As part of license renewal, licensees submit a summary of their continuing education (CE) hours completed during the prior reporting period. CE documentation is not required at this time.
  • Licensees selected for a random Continuing Education Audit will receive a separate email notice from the Board. CE documentation (certificate of completion, transcript, etc.) is only submitted in the event of an audit.
  • Visit our Continuing Education webpage for more information on the CE requirements.

Has My Renewal Processed Yet?

Renewals are usually processed promptly, but processing times may be extended for atypical renewals. Once the renewal is completed, the updated license/registration expiration date will be visible to anyone via the Online License Search (and licensees/registrants will also be able to see this in the Licensee Portal). It's important to keep in mind that even if a license appears to have expired due to a displayed expiration date in the past, it might still be in the process of being renewed. Additionally, there is a grace period for late payments and renewals under review due to compliance holds, such as a pending investigation or affirmative responses to declaration questions. During this grace period, the license remains valid for the month following the renewal month. Beyond that timeframe, the status will be updated to "Expired."

Method of Payment

You may pay by card with your online renewal.  Cash and checks are not accepted.