Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Trusted Carrier Partner Program

Program Information

​The Trusted Carrier Partner Program is a way to display your commitment to excellence based on your operational history. Motor carriers that request participation, and meet the requirements of the program, will receive a Trusted Carrier Partner plate to display on the front of each qualifying vehicle. This plate is displayed in addition to a carrier’s standard license plate and there is no cost for participation.

Participants are eligible for the following benefits:

  • Weigh station preclearance privileges.
  • Waiver of bond requirement.
  • Only subject to probable cause safety inspections.
  • Only subject to probable cause safety compliance reviews.
  • Inclusion on ODOT’s Trusted Carrier Partner Roster.

To qualify for participation, a motor carrier must:
  • Have at least 12 months history of Oregon operations.
  • Have a valid USDOT number.
  • Be a participant in Oregon’s commercial vehicle electronic Preclearance Weigh Station Bypass Program if you are a Property-Carrying Motor Carrier.
  • Not have an Unsatisfactory safety rating with State or Federal regulatory agencies.
  • Not be identified by the FMCSA Safety Measurement System as a carrier needing corrective interventions.
  • Not have a record of safety violations including, but not limited to, violating an out-of-service order or having a driver found driving under the influence.
  • Not have a driver and/or vehicle out-of-service percentage greater than the national average.
In addition to these requirements, Commerce and Compliance Division may deny participation in the Trusted Carrier Partner program for violations or conditions (in the last 12 months) related to registration or tax requirements including, but not limited to:
  • Suspensions with the Department.
  • Civil monetary penalty actions.
  • Revocations of IFTA tax license.
  • More than one motor carrier related tax report filed late.
  • More than one repayment plan entered into or satisfactorily concluded.
To qualify for an Oregon Trusted Carrier Partner plate, your vehicle must:
  • Have a GVW over 34,000 pounds.
  • Have 3 or more axles.
  • Be equipped with an active preclearance device (except for qualifying buses).

Program qualifications are defined by Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 740-045-0060 and 740-045-0065.

​To submit your request for participation, login to Oregon Trucking Online and click on the Trusted Carrier Partner (TCP) Program tab.
If you do not have a PIN to login, you will need to complete a PIN Request Form to access the benefits of Oregon Trucking Online. It is quick, secure and FREE.

The Department will review your request and issue a letter of determination. Carriers approved for participation will receive a single TCP plate for each qualified vehicle. A one-month turnaround time is projected for analysis and plate customization.

​To maintain the integrity of the program, the Commerce and Compliance Division (CCD) will periodically verify that your company still qualifies for participation.  A motor carrier that no longer meets the program requirements may be asked to return their Trusted Carrier Partner (TCP) plate(s).
Unauthorized display of a TCP plate may result in enforcement action.

A Trusted Carrier Partner must remove their TCP plate and return it to CCD, when a vehicle is:
  • Removed from service without replacement.
  • Transferred.
  • Leased to another motor carrier.
Additional TCP plates can be requested by logging in to Oregon Trucking Online and clicking on the Trusted Carrier Partner (TCP) Program tab.

Authorized use and display of TCP plates is defined by Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 740-045-0070 and 740-045-0075.

​2002 — Top award in the American Association of State Highway Transportation Officials Team Excellence Program.

2001 — Semifinalist for Innovations in American Government Award.
Presented by the JFK School of Government at Harvard University.

1999 — “Best of ITS” Award. Presented by the Intelligent Transportation Society of America for “ITS Deployment and Market Development Shown to Save Money."

Trusted Carrier Partner Roster


Contact Us

Oregon Department of Transportation
Commerce and Compliance Division
455 Airport Road SE, Building A
Salem, OR 97301
Hours of Operation (Pacific Time)
8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Monday through Friday