Skip to main content

Registration Services

                     – Renewal Season 2021 starts November 2, 2020.

Temporary Registration and Tax Enrollment

Call our registration offices or phone service center BEFORE operating in Oregon to register for a Temporary Pass and Trip Permit.
  • ​Provide your U.S. DOT number if operating privately or for-hire and vehicle(s) weigh over 10,000 pounds. Apply for a U.S. DOT Number.
  • Date(s) of travel.
  • Driver(s) full legal name(s).
  • Route Traveled or number of miles needed to be purchased.
  • Commodities.
  • Vehicle Information:
    o Power unit base plate.
    o Jurisdiction.
    o Type.
    o Year.
    o Make.
    o Vehicle Identification Number — Complete 17 digit VIN.
    o Unit number.
    o Odometer.
    o Truck own or lease information.
  • Registered weight.
  • Operating weight — The heaviest weight at which the vehicle will operate during the 10 day permit.
  • Registration Cab Card — Apportioned Registration.
  • Registration — Temporary or Registration Trip Permit.
  • Method of payment — credit card (Visa or MasterCard only).
  • Fax number or email address to send the registration and/or permit.
  • Temporary Passes are set up for short-term use only.
  • Motor carriers are responsible for all tax enrolled vehicles under the account, including leased or rented vehicles.
  • When a carrier will not be operating in Oregon, it is advisable to cancel tax enrollment.

Motor Carriers with Established Accounts

  1. Must enroll vehicles operating in Oregon into the weight-mile tax program.
  2. Pay weight-mile tax monthly or quarterly.
  3. Provide a highway use tax bond to insure the payment of fees, taxes, charges, penalties and interest. See our Bond and Insurance Information.
  4. Can use Oregon Trucking Online to:
    o Get temporary enrollment documents and registration credentials.
    o Issue, cancel and amend most permits, passes and vehicle enrollments.
    o Register vehicles.
    o File weight-mile tax reports and IFTA returns.
Oregon Registration Only
  1. Register your commercial vehicle(s) weighing over 26,000 pounds at the heaviest loaded weight it will operate in Oregon during the year.
  2. Pay an annual fee according to the appropriate fee table. See Forms and Tables.

Heavy Motor Vehicle Trip Permit
Trip permits must be obtained BEFORE operation. Motor carriers need this permit if:

  • The vehicle's gross weight is over 26,000 pounds and\or has 3 axles.
  • The vehicle(s) does not have registration (expired or no plates).
  • Oregon does not appear on the registration cab card.

    Note: The truck driver must have the Registration or Cab Card for information.

Heavy Trailer Trip Permit
A permit is required for trailers which are not registered already.

Temporary Pass

Motor carriers are issued this permit when:

  • Validate payment of the weight-mile tax is received up front.
  • The combined gross weight of truck, trailer and load exceeds 26,000 pounds.

    Note: The maximum number of Temporary passes for an account is five or more for one unit or 35 in a rolling 12 month period.
Temporary Registration Weight Increase
This credential is issued to temporarily increase Commercial or Apportioned registration weight of a vehicle for a period of ten days.
The following uses for this credential are decided on a case by case basis.
  • Declare tax paid at a higher weight for the vehicle.
  • Obtain an oversize or overweight permit when operating over 80,000 pounds and/or legal load dimensions.
  • Get a special permit such as Road Use Assessment Fees by way of a Single Trip Permit.
Temporary Enrollment Document
  • Issue by CCD or by way of Oregon Trucking Online when the vehicle is subject to weight-mile tax and currently has no base plate on the vehicle.
  • When the base plate is received and mounted, this temporary enrollment document must be cancelled and the vehicle must be enrolled in Oregon’s Weight-Mile Tax Program with the current plate number.

Hazardous Materials
Permit information for transporting hazardous materials is on our Truck Safety web page.

Enrollment in the Oregon Weight-Mile Tax Program.
Motor carriers need this if:

  • They must report weight-mile tax.
  • Have an established account.
  • Are no longer eligible for temporary passes.

Out-of-State Vehicle Registration — Oregon Weight-Mile Tax Enrollment Application

For instructions and tax forms, visit our Report Your Taxes web page.

Renewal season for commercial registration runs from October to February. See our Oregon Motor Carrier Registration and Tax Manual for registration requirements.

Important Note — After January 1:
  • All vehicle renewals must be handled by emailing, faxing or mailing the renewal to CCD.
  • Oregon Trucking Online renewals, including IRP, will no longer be available until our 2022 renewal season.

Renewal FAQs

​Temporary pass and trip permit fees are generally non-refundable but carriers can request a tax credit by completing the following form.

Notice to Carriers Requesting a Credit on Temporary Credentials


Contact Us

Salem Headquarters
Oregon Department of Transportation
Commerce and Compliance Division
3930 Fairview Industrial Drive SE
Salem OR 97302-1166
Jantzen Beach/Portland Bridge
I-5 and Oregon/Washington Border
12348 N. Center Ave.
Portland OR 97217-7871
Hours of Operation (Pacific Time)
Offices: 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Monday through Friday
Salem Contact Service Center
5 a.m. to 12 a.m.
Seven days a week
Salem Contact Service Center
Jantzen Beach/Portland Bridge
Salem Contact Service Center
Jantzen Beach/Portland Bridge
Truck Stops with Fax Service

Your browser is out-of-date! It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how