Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon » Homepage

Address Requirements

Practice and Mailing Addresses

  • Practice and mailing addresses are public information. As a licensee of the State of Oregon, certain information about you and your license is on the public record (see ORS 192.314).
    • Our agency is required by law to provide public address information to anyone who requests it at the actual cost of producing the information. This may include requests from marketing agencies.
    • Your practice address must be a physical address. However, your mailing address may be a private mailbox service or US Postal Service box.
    • If you have specific safety concerns regarding disclosure of your information, you may request special consideration.
  • An Oregon practice address is required for a full Active license. Failure to provide an Oregon practice address will result in a change to Inactive status (see ORS 677.172(3)).
  • You must notify the Board of a change of location within 30 days. Please keep us informed of your phone number and practice, mailing, home, and e-mail addresses (see ORS 677.172(1) and OAR 847-008-0060).
    • Log in to Applicant/Licensee Services to change or add address information.
    • Please note that updating one address does not update another. For example, changing your practice address will not change your mailing address. You must individually update each address.
    • The Board does not automatically reissue a Certificate of Registration upon a change of address. For a duplicate certificate, you must submit a request form.

Out-of-State Licensees

  • If your practice address is within 100 miles of the border of the State of Oregon and you intend to practice within Oregon, you may qualify for Active status. You must submit a statement to the Board about your intended Oregon practice (see OAR 847-008-0015(2)).
  • An Oregon license grants authority to practice medicine in the State of Oregon only. You must obtain a license in each state where you provide patient care.
  • If you cease practice in Oregon, the Board will change your status to Inactive unless you submit a request in writing to be placed at a Locum Tenens status (see ORS 677.172(3)(a)).

Locum Tenens License

  • As a licensee with Locum Tenens status, you are eligible to practice medicine in Oregon when you have notified the Board of the location and duration of your planned Oregon practice. You must provide the Board with timely notification of the location and duration of each Oregon practice prior to beginning such practice (see OAR 847-008-0020).