Skip to main content

Oregon State Flag An official website of the State of Oregon »

Renew a License

2024-2026 Acupuncture License Renewals

Online license renewal is now available. Current licenses expire on June 30, 2024. An $80 late fee will be assessed for any renewals not submitted and paid for prior to this date.

A renewal notification is not required for you to renew your license. Use our online system to renew your license and, if necessary, update your home, mailing, and practice addresses in our records.

A license not renewed by 11:59 p.m. on June 30 will lapse, and the licensee may not practice. Practicing acupuncture with a lapsed license is considered practicing acupuncture without a license, a felony offense and grounds for disciplinary action.

Please complete your renewal by June 1 to ensure Board staff have time to review and process the renewal application. Please note: Paper renewals are not offered. Staff are available to assist by phone. Staff will be available to assist walk-ins to renew their license during business hours only.

Click here to start your renewal

Renewal Fees

License fees for the 2024-2025 registration period are available here.

*A renewal fee increase will become effective July 1, 2024, which will impact submission of late renewal applications.


Self-service printing of Certificate of Registration

Once your license renewal has been approved, you will receive an email notification with instruction on how to print your new Certificate of Registration. It is suggested that you review all current personal information in your file, including addresses, to ensure that the information is correct. You may review your licensure information and print your new Certificate of Registration by logging into Applicant/Licensee Services.

Continuing Education Audits 

At the time of renewal, the Oregon Medical Board will conduct a random audit of Continuing Medical Education (CME) compliance for renewing licensees. Hours must be relevant to the licensee's practice and be completed within 2022-2024. Licensees may use ongoing participation in maintenance of certification to satisfy the audit. Staff will attempt to verify certification status directly with the accepted certifying board.

Audited licensees will receive initial notification during the renewal application process. Board staff will provide follow-up notification about the audit by e-mail and letter. Licensees must respond to the request within 60 days with documentation of completed CME.

For additional information regarding CME requirements, including the number of hours required, acceptable CME providers, possible exemptions, and penalties for failure to comply, please visit our Topics of Interest  webpage or review the Oregon Administrative Rule on Continuing Medical Competency Requirements - OAR 847-008-0070


Please review our License Statuses to determine which status is most appropriate for you. 

Licensees who would like to change their license from non-practicing status to a practicing status must:

  1. Renew their license at the current status, and
  2. Complete a Reactivation Application.

Licensees Outside of Oregon or Ending Oregon Practice

Planning to Renew

Choose Inactive status if you do not plan to work in Oregon at this time. This status reflects the fact that you are not currently practicing acupuncture in Oregon.

Choose Locum Tenens status if you plan to work in Oregon intermittently but reside out of state. Locum Tenens licensees must notify the Board in writing and in advance of the date and location of any Oregon practice. 

Not Planning to Renew

You may choose to allow your license to lapse or you may surrender or retire your license if you do not plan to return to practice in Oregon. 

  • To let your license lapse, you need take no further action. A license will lapse automatically if you fail to complete the registration form and pay the registration fee. The Board will notify you that your license has lapsed.
  • To surrender or retire your license, you will notify the Board at the beginning of the renewal application.   

The definitions for each of these options are available on our license statuses webpage.

For inquiries, our Call Center is open from 8 a.m. - Noon & 1 p.m. - 4 p.m. PST.

Phone: 971-673-2700


Related Information

To renew or check the status of a submitted renewal, visit the Applicant/Licensee Services webpage.