Recent Administrative Rulemaking
Efective July 1, 2021 - OAR 848-005-0010: Amend rule to adopt the 2021-2023 Biennium Budget for the Oregon Board of Physical Therapy.
This amendment adopts the proposed budget for the 2021-2023 Biennium. Please review the filed rule here: Filed-07012021-848-005-0010.pdf
Effective May 7, 2021 - OAR 848-035-0030 : Waving exam requirement for online continuing competence courses. This temporary rule amendment waves the exam requirement for any qualifying online continuing competence courses for the entire current certification period, April 1st, 2020 through March 31st 2022. The Board intends to initiate permanent rulemaking to make this waiver for the above certification period a permanent rule change.
Effective May 1, 2021 - OAR 848-040-0175 : Clarifying screening applies to current patient.
This amendment clarifies that screening services can be performed on a current patient by a physical therapist. Please review the filed rule here: Filed-05012021-848-040-0175.pdf
Effective May 1, 2021 - OAR 848-045-0020 : Clarifying conduct reporting requirements and standard used by Board for professional ethics.
The amendments provide a) clarification of reporting requirements relating to misconduct to make consistent with other similar statutory reporting requirements, b) identify the specific professional standard
of ethics adopted by the Board pursuant to ORS 688.135(5), and c) other changes for clarity.
Effective May 1, 2021- OAR 848-005-0015 : Board Member Compensation--relating to board member stipend and qualification for payment.
This filing codifies into rule the policy relating to the performance of board member official duties which qualify for compensation, and at what rate of compensation. This rule makes permanent the temporary rule filed 2/12/21.
Effective February 12, 2021 - Temporary Rulemaking - Board Member Compensation
This filing codifies into rule the policy relating to the performance of board member official duties which qualify for compensation, and at what rate of compensation. This rule is effective immediately, and will automatically expire in 180 days, or when superseded by filing of permanent rule.
Effective February 12, 2021 - OAR 848-055-0001 - PT Compact Commission Rules
The PT Compact Commission made minor updates to their rules, effective October 2020. Pursuant to ORS 688.240, the Oregon Board of Physical Therapy adopted these rules into Oregon law as part of our participation in the PT Compact.
Effective December 14, 2020 - Temporary Rulemaking - Enforcement of Governor's Executive Orders Relating to a Declared Public Health Emergency
This rule clarifies application of grounds for discipline under existing statute and rule for violations of executive orders during a declared public health emergency. This rule is effective immediately, and will automatically expire in 180 days.
Effective September 18, 2020 - Temporary Rulemaking - Waiver of Exam Requirements for In-Person Events Moved to Online Delivery
In light of the COVID-19 outbreak and the impacts it is having on in-person educational offerings, the Oregon Board of Physical Therapy has taken action to implement a temporary rule allowing for the exam requirement for online/webinar content to be waived for events that were scheduled to be in-person, but moved to an online/webinar format as a result of the pandemic, in cases where there was not already an exam component for the offering. This rule is effective immediately, and will automatically expire in 180 days. Please contact the Board office with any questions or to request an extension or waiver.
Effective September 10, 2020 - Temporary Rulemaking - Extension of Application Expiration Date and NPTE 90 Day Requirement
In light of the COVID-19 outbreak and the impacts it is having on the health care system and practitioners, the Oregon Board of Physical Therapy has taken action to implement a temporary rule allowing applicants to extend their application beyond the six month expiration date, and allow applicants who were approved to sit for the NPTE exam up to 90 days before graduation who then have their graduation delayed as a result of the pandemic to request a waiver for that requirement. This rule is effective immediately, and will automatically expire in 180 days. Please contact the Board office with any questions or to request an extension or waiver.
Effective June 19, 2020 OAR 848 Division 35: Continuing Competence
The Board has updated Oregon Administrative Rule 848 Division 35 relating to continuing competence based on recommendations from a rules advisory committee and to implement recent legislation mandating completion of continuing competence relating to cultural competency. There is no net increase in total hours of continuing competence required each two-year period. The total required hours remains 24. Changes include:
- Addition of mandatory cultural competence requirement for all licensees as required by recent law changes, as well as extending the pain management requirement to PTAs upon initial licensure;
- Addition of allowance for non-clinical courses up to 8 hours total from four subcategory areas, including personal development/self-care, business/leadership, professional conduct/ethics, and committee work or serving as an officer for OBPT, FSBPT, or state or national professional PT association;
- Clarification of course qualification criteria and maximum and minimum hours allowed for different coursework;
- Addition of ability to carry forward limited number of hours taken but not applied in prior certification period to next certification period.
Please review the filed rules here: OBPT-Div35-062020.pdf
Effective March 20, 2020 - Temporary Rulemaking - Extension of 2020 Renewal Period
This temporary rule has now expired.
In light of the COVID-19 outbreak and the impacts it is having on the health care system and practitioners, the Oregon Board of Physical Therapy has taken action to implement a temporary rule allowing licensees the ability to defer the renewal of a current license that would otherwise expire 3/31/2020. Effective immediately, the renewal period is being extended to 5/31/2020. Licensees will be able to complete any remaining CC coursework and renew their license during this period. All licenses previously set to expire 3/31/2020 have been automatically extended to expire 5/31/2020.
For those that have already renewed or once a renewal is completed, the license will reflect the standard effective term of 4/1/2020 through 3/31/2022. The term of the renewed license is not changed, nor does the extension otherwise change any requirements of licensure.
The Board does encourage licensees to renew as soon as practical. Please visit the licensee Self-Service Portal at https://obpt.onlineservice.oregon.gov/webs/obpt/
to renew or to print out a copy of your license at any time. Please see the instructions below for more information about the renewal process.