Metropolitan Planning Organizations (MPOs)

Federal highway and transit statutes require, as a condition for spending federal highway or transit funds in urbanized areas, the designation of MPOs, which have responsibility for planning, programming and coordination of federal highway and transit investments. Most of Oregon's population live and work in these regions, which drive the state economy. Therefore, the quality of metropolitan transportation infrastructure — highways, bridges, airports, transit systems, rail, and ports — is a primary factor in Oregon's economic competitiveness. ODOT works with the MPOs to prioritize transportation investment needs in each MPO area.

ODOT provides financial assistance through the Section 5303 program to assist MPOs with the planning activities required, including the transit element of the Unified Planning Work Program (UPWP). Public Transportation Division staff participate in planning reviews, and receive planning progress reports. MPO staff work with urban transit agencies to provide planning and technical assistance. The MPOs may use locally-controlled Surface Transportation Funds (STP) to finance the transit capital needs of the urban areas. MPOs assure that projects financed with FTA funds within the urbanized areas are included in the Metropolitan Transportation Improvement Program.

The federally designated MPOs are made up of large urban MPOs (population areas greater than 200,000): the Portland regional area, the Salem/Keizer area, and the Eugene/Springfield area; and small urban MPOs (population areas between 50,000 - 200,000): the Medford/Rogue Valley area, the Cities of Corvallis/Philomath, the City of Bend, Albany area, Middle Rogue, and Walla Walla Valley.

MPOs in Oregon ​Jurisdictions / Agencies
Bend​   ​City of Bend
​Central Lane   ​Lane County, Lane Transit, Cities of Coburg, Eugene, and Springfield, and Lane Council of Governments (LCOG)
​Corvallis Area   (CAMPO) ​Benton County, City of Corvallis, Corvallis Transit District, and Oregon Cascades West Council of Governments (OCWCOG)
​Kelso-Longview-Rainer   ​Parts of Oregon: Columbia County, City of Rainier, and Port of St. Helens
​Metro   ​Portland Metropolitan Area: Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington Counties and all incorporated cities in Portland Metro, Tri-Met, and SMART
​Rogue Valley   (RVMPO) ​Jackson County, Cities of Ashland, Central Point, Eagle Point, Medford, Phoenix, and Talent, Medford Transit District, and Rogue Valley Council of Governments (RVCOG)
​Salem-Keizer Area   ​Marion and Polk Counties, Cities of Salem, Keizer, and Turner, Salem Transit District, and Mid-Willamette Valley Council of Governments (MWVCOG)
​Albany Area   (AAMPO) ​Cities of Albany, Jefferson, Millersburg, and Tangent, and adjacent parts of Linn, Benton, and Marion Counties
Middle Rogue   (MRMPO)​ ​Cities of Gold Hill and Rogue River and portions of Jackson and Josephine Counties
Walla Walla Valley​   ​Parts of Oregon: City of Milton-Freewater and a portion of Umatilla County